We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic short stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a magic stay. At short notice we flew up to spend a night at Impodimo. We landed at the airport only to find out a little later our guide had gone to another airstrip to pick us up. Impodimo arranged for another lodge that was close to the airfield to pick up, make us at home in their bar while we waited for Patrick to pick us.

We saw good sightings, the lodge was small, intimate and private which is what we really like. The service from everyone was very helpful and good.

Overall a great experience and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was just above the water hole, where we saw a number of animals coming to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR22TSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear SR22TSC

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy to hear that you had a magical time at Impodimo and that you found all our staff helpful and friendly, as this is what we strive for at the end. We hope that next time you decide to visit Impodimo it will be for longer.

Warmest Regards
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    18
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
121
149
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our 4th visit to Impodimo - it is one of our favourite holiday destinations and we are never disappointed! From the moment we arrived, greeted by all the smiles and warmth of the staff, we were made to feel like we'd returned home. Cornel and his team went out of their way to deliver only the best service - incredible game sightings including lions devouring a zebra, and the thrill of being in chase of wild dogs and the elation when our efforts were successful; gourmet dinners in the boma under the African skies and the indulgent brunches after a game drive; and the luxurious accommodation that is always inviting and immaculate. A huge thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable. We have already booked a return trip for next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are separate suites in their individual dwellings so all are very secluded and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Persie2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review.
It is always so wonderful to hear that our return guests will be coming back. We very much look forward to having you back again and showing you even better sightings.

Warmest regards
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalvehave, Denmark
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We flew to Impodimo and were met by our ranger Patrick at the flight on arrival, and then our adventure started.
Already on the way back to the lodge we saw our first animals - amazing.
When we came to the lodge we were met by the lodge management, who outlined the program during our stay as well as activities available.
We were told the rules about how to act at the lodge - two very important rules:
one was never to go down to the Water Pond, it was not for the guests, but for the animals. We were so fortunate to see a lot of elephants around the Water Pond, but then it happened, one day, my man saw one of the guests "old grandpa" at the Water Pond unbelievable, it had just been surrounded by huge elephants, we called the reception, they called out very, very loud to get his attention, they didn't go down, and eventually the staff got him away from the Water Pond.
Rule number two to be walked home by our ranger, as the lodge is not fenced in, so the animals are allowed to walk everywhere around the lodge.
We had a lovely suite with view to the Water Pond - we sat out on our veranda from time to time, and enjoyed the view extremely much. The suite was lovely and clean, we had both in and outdoor shower, we both preferred the outdoor shower.
We had lovely homemade food and plenty of choices for dinner. We were told in our travel package, we were to have lunch, which never happened. We had lovely brunch after the morning safari, then we had High Tea before our afternoon safari. I am very honest to say, I was not impressed with their High Tea, I would have loved something more solid, we were up and about most of the time, which was great, so I had preferred something better like the promised lunch - we never saw the shade of it.
The safari's were a life time experience, we were blessed to see all the big five game animals the lion, African elephant, Cape Buffalo, African Leopard and rhinoceros thanks to Patrick (our ranger) and Holiday (our tracker), plus we had the luck that the big five were around the same time as us. Patrick and Holiday were both great Company, we had morning coffees/teas on our morning safaris and before dinner drinks on our evening safaris, which were very cosy.
The safaris were different every day and so was the weather, we enjoyed every minute of our safaris and to see the wild animals out where they belong.
Thank you so much to Patrick and Holiday and the staff at Impodimo lodge - who made our days there unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with view to the Water Pond, then you can enjoy the animals when they need a drink o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear VickiE
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Impodimo, especially Patrick and Holiday. I will most certainly pass on the message.

I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy our High Tea selection, we always appreciate receiving positive and constructive criticism from our guests past and present, as it will provide us with a platform to provide a better product to all our future guests. I conveyed your ideas to our kitchen manager which he took under advisement and we have since worked on providing more of a variety. During summer we do not provide lunch as a large percentage of our guests find that the Brunch that is served between 10:30 and 11:00 is substantial. we do at all times try our very best to ensure that our booking agents are aware of this fact and that this information is passed onto our guests prior to their arrival with us. We do at all times attempt to convey to our guests that at their request we are more than willing to provide them with a light lunch of either an arrangement of sandwiches toasted or otherwise and if this is not to their liking we will be more than happy to provide them with a light salad that will perfectly hit the spot and hold them over till high tea, since your feedback our Kitchen Manager along with the rest of management has stressed this point during check in. We have also taken steps and are currently in the process of devising a lovely pool and room service menu that will meet any and all guests needs should they at any time feel peckish.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the Incident with one of our guests at check in we do stress to our guests that there are no fences and that they must not wander off the path out into the bush as this could prove highly dangerous. We have since implemented policies that seek to prevent this from happening. I appreciate you calling reception to advise us the impending danger with regards to the guest, our managers and staff at all times do their best to to assess the situation and make decisions that will ensure both the guest and staff member are kept out of harms way

Thank you once again for your wonderful and positive feedback we love hearing back from our guests as it provides a unique insight into what our guests want and how we can better cater to your and future guests needs. We hope to have you return to us in the future so that you may experience our elevated level of service that is made possible through your positive feedback.

Warmest Regards
Impodimo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent 1 week last summer: this hotel is magic, in the middle of the private reserve. All the people working at the hotel are very nice and welcomed. they do their best to feel like at home. The rangers are very professional and they share well their knowledge. we saw all the big five and much more !!thanks to the rangers, you can see the animals very vey closed. we liked very much Sam and Stefen!! thank you !!!. their drink in the middle of the bush are magic! the rooms are beautiful and as the hotel is opened , you an see animal in the hotel: drink a coffee at the swimming pool with the elephants is unique !! the Boma diner outside with all the candles is very romantic.
For us it is our best stay in South Africa and we decided to go week every 2 years !! don't hesitate to go, you will not be disappointed !! Florence from France

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear FlorenceA
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always wonderful to have you at Impodimo. We truly hope that we will see you for another week very soon.

Warmest Regards
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Impodimo Game Lodge for 3 nights at the beginning of May. Thank you to Tyrone our guide and Sam our tracker for making our trip so special. We saw so many things and so much wildlife it is hard to single out one or two things but the wild dogs were amazing and we got to see them through the skills of Tyrone and Sam. We saw Cheetahs lions elephants rhino buffalo to mention a few, Tyrone taught us so many things on our drives it was a privelage to meet him.

The accommodation was great and we were well looked after and would recommend it. We may very well go back especially if we could secure Tyrone and Sam as our guides

Room Tip: We would recommend Tyrone and Sam for your guide and tracker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieBrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear julieBrough
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all thrilled to hear that you had a magical time at Impodimo. I will most certainly pass on the message to Tyrone and Sam.

We look forward to having you back at Impodimo hopefully in the near future.

Best Wishes
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family (2 adults and 2 kids, aged 7 & 9) and I have recently returned from an unforgettable few days on safari at Impodimo. Firstly a BIG thank you to our amazing ranger Tyrone and his spotter side-kick Sam, who made it seem easy to find lions (which I know from previous safaris, you are lucky to spot one). We saw lions on virtually every game drive, including male lions & a pride of lionesses with adorable cubs. We managed to tick off all the major game (except the elusive cheetah and leopard, but in 3 days, we would have been extremely luck to spot those). We even saw a pack of wild dogs.

The food: well are we are not easy customers. My children and I are dairy AND gluten intolerant. This usually means lots of missing out of yummy treats. Not this time! Every meal occasion; morning tea, breakfast, high tea, evening meal - all had especially created and delicious treats and alternatives for the kids and I. Even whilst out on the game drives, we had our own home baked muffins. I should point out that for those on "normal diets", the rest of the food is excellent too.

The accommodation: The rooms were comfortable and spacious (even with the extra beds in the room for the kids), and if you've seen the photos of the elephants for other reviewers, we were not disappointed with the wildlife. A herd of 30 or so elephants (including cute, tiny youngsters) came extremely close to the lodge, easily viewed from the main lodge, the pool and (I think), rooms 1 and 2, came to visit the water hole. They then plodded past most of the rooms during the course of the afternoon!

All in all, a simply outstanding experience! Thanks to the whole team!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueen2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear TravelQueen2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. At Impodimo we strive to ensure that all meals, no matter what dietary requirements there might be, are prepared to each ones needs and am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it. I will also pass on your review to Tyrone, Sam and the rest of the team.
I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in South Africa and that we will have you back at Impodimo in the near future

Kind regards
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Impodimo is located in the Madikwe game reserve. It is a relatively small lodge being able to accommodate 15 to 20 people. This makes it a great option as service is very personal and intimate and the lodge is not overwhelmingly busy.

The suite is tastefully and comfortably appointed. It is certainly not super luxurious as can be found in lodges costing twice as much. However I believe that Impodimo has found a nice balance between affordability and luxury.

The staff are all friendly and helpful and made an extra effort to ensue that our needs were met. Special mention has to be made of our ranger and tracker (Tyrone and Sam). They put a lot of effort to ensure that we had superb game sightings. Their tireless approach ensured that we are the only game vehicle that followed a group of cheetah, watched is them stalk and kill a baby zebra only to have the kill usurped by a pride of lions. A priceless experience.

The meals were good. While no lunch is served one does not go hungry as you have an early morning snack before the game drive, a massive breakfast, high tea in the afternoon and dinner later on.

The camp is open to the park and often animals wander through. This makes the lodge experience truly unique and unforgettable. A superb visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sangeev
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to read that you have you enjoyed every aspect of the lodge and truly hope that we will be hosting you at our beautiful lodge in the near future.

Kind regards
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
13.8 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
11.4 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
18.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
11.3 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Property: Impodimo Game Lodge
Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, South African Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing