We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiddy friendly, not adult friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impodimo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I wish I had spent more time on tripadvisor before we booked at Impodimo - what i have to say appears to be a recurring theme. We are a couple in our forties with no children - we were put into a vehicle with a family with a 6 year old and a 10 year old, and expected to not only spend most of the day in the vehicle with them but to eat our meals with them as well. We insisted we be moved to another vehicle - awkward - but i just couldn't bear the thought of having my quiet, serene moments on the game drive shattered by a chatty 6 year old - never mind the safety issues this raises. Also, the format of game drives and then dining with your fellow guests does NOT work when the other guests are a family with children - the format was designed for adult, interesting conversation, not so that you can be subjected to their whole family dynamic. In my experience the kids used to be fed early and were certainly not allowed on the game drives - what happened? Even after our vehicle swop, we still couldn't escape the kids - our last breakfast which we thought would just be the two of us turned into a threesome plus a noisy child being fed in a high chair - we gave up and left as fast as we could. The staff did try to alleviate our stress by moving us into a different vehicle and giving us dinner in our room one night, but it just wasn't enough to rescue the experience. if you have children this place will suit you - if you are child-free for the weekend - avoid Impodimo like the plague. Personally i will be frequenting "no children under 12" lodges in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JaneSA213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Good day JaneSA213

Thank you for taking the time in writing this feedback regarding your weekend with us.
I am sorry to hear that your weekend was less than desirable.
Here at Impodimo we pride ourselves in creating a memorable experience for all our guests, big and small alike. I wish you would have taken us up on the offers that was presented to you during your stay for separate meals, but I do understand that you wanted to engage with other adults in camp.
It saddens me that our child policy was not made clear to you before you made your reservation, and for that I apologize.
I truly hope that one day you would reconsider Impodimo as a break away destination for you and Rian.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Impodimo Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from an amazing weekend at Impodimo. Everything was perfect- the rooms, the service, the guides, the food... It is not a fenced lodge so we saw lots of game walking around (including elephants). They really go above and beyond for service, including a cake for my daughter's birthday, catering to special diets. Also, they are one of a few lodges in Madikwe that uses a ranger and tracker, which is a must in my opinion. We will most definitely go back. Best in Madikwe for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoCoucou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear CocoCoucou
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It is always great to hear that our guests are blown away by the service we offer.
We look forward to having you and the family back at Impodimo for the next birthday

Warmest regards
The Impodimo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent 3 days and nights at this wonderful lodge. It met all our expectations. The chalets are wonderfully appointed and we were lucky to occupy two that overlook the waterhole as not all of them do. Of note was the quality of the food and the extremely well trained staff.
The daily game drives were awesome thanks to ranger Tyrone aka arc eyes and the eagle eyed tracker Sam both very knowledgeable and passionate about the flora and fauna. The highlight was undoubtly the two wild dog encounters. Thanks to everybody for going out of their way to make this a memorable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Chrishj
What a great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to wright it. We are really looking forward to your next visit.
It was great having you and your family with us and that you enjoyed all Impodimo has to offer.

Warmest Regards
The Impodimo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I spent a few days at Impodimo in November 2013. What a thrill driving into the private game reserve up to the hotel- to be greeted by lovely staff as well as a family of elephants enjoying the pool and watering hole out back complete with a baby one just a few days old. Truly something I'll never forget.
The main lodge was lovely and comfortable, food was plentiful and delicious and staff great. Our room was surprisingly large with a very large bathroom as well- the clawfoot bathtub with view into the reserve was really special; as was the outdoor shower. Taking a shower with a giraffe about fifty feet away was something else! Very comfortable room for relaxing and napping during the high heat of the midday before the evening drive.

We were very fortunate to have Patrick as our ranger and Holiday as our guide- they couldn't have been nicer or more informative; they also did an excellent job tracking and finding game. Within the first day (evening drive upon arrival and morning drive next day) we had already seen the big five as well as tons of other smaller animals. Another thing we saw as a plus was that our jeeps were totally open air- not great for rain (which was scarce)- but otherwise afforded sweeping views and breezes (versus other vehicles we saw for other lodges that were covered.)

Highly recommend this experience and this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastern00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear eastern00

What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. It has always been our main aim to provide the ultimate 5 star bush experience and am thrilled to hear that it has been exceeded.

We truly hope that one day we will be able to host you at our beautiful lodge again

Wildest Wishes
The Impodimo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a magic stay. At short notice we flew up to spend a night at Impodimo. We landed at the airport only to find out a little later our guide had gone to another airstrip to pick us up. Impodimo arranged for another lodge that was close to the airfield to pick up, make us at home in their bar while we waited for Patrick to pick us.

We saw good sightings, the lodge was small, intimate and private which is what we really like. The service from everyone was very helpful and good.

Overall a great experience and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was just above the water hole, where we saw a number of animals coming to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR22TSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear SR22TSC

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy to hear that you had a magical time at Impodimo and that you found all our staff helpful and friendly, as this is what we strive for at the end. We hope that next time you decide to visit Impodimo it will be for longer.

Warmest Regards
The Impodimo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our 4th visit to Impodimo - it is one of our favourite holiday destinations and we are never disappointed! From the moment we arrived, greeted by all the smiles and warmth of the staff, we were made to feel like we'd returned home. Cornel and his team went out of their way to deliver only the best service - incredible game sightings including lions devouring a zebra, and the thrill of being in chase of wild dogs and the elation when our efforts were successful; gourmet dinners in the boma under the African skies and the indulgent brunches after a game drive; and the luxurious accommodation that is always inviting and immaculate. A huge thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable. We have already booked a return trip for next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are separate suites in their individual dwellings so all are very secluded and private...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Persie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Persie2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review.
It is always so wonderful to hear that our return guests will be coming back. We very much look forward to having you back again and showing you even better sightings.

Warmest regards
The Impodimo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We flew to Impodimo and were met by our ranger Patrick at the flight on arrival, and then our adventure started.
Already on the way back to the lodge we saw our first animals - amazing.
When we came to the lodge we were met by the lodge management, who outlined the program during our stay as well as activities available.
We were told the rules about how to act at the lodge - two very important rules:
one was never to go down to the Water Pond, it was not for the guests, but for the animals. We were so fortunate to see a lot of elephants around the Water Pond, but then it happened, one day, my man saw one of the guests "old grandpa" at the Water Pond unbelievable, it had just been surrounded by huge elephants, we called the reception, they called out very, very loud to get his attention, they didn't go down, and eventually the staff got him away from the Water Pond.
Rule number two to be walked home by our ranger, as the lodge is not fenced in, so the animals are allowed to walk everywhere around the lodge.
We had a lovely suite with view to the Water Pond - we sat out on our veranda from time to time, and enjoyed the view extremely much. The suite was lovely and clean, we had both in and outdoor shower, we both preferred the outdoor shower.
We had lovely homemade food and plenty of choices for dinner. We were told in our travel package, we were to have lunch, which never happened. We had lovely brunch after the morning safari, then we had High Tea before our afternoon safari. I am very honest to say, I was not impressed with their High Tea, I would have loved something more solid, we were up and about most of the time, which was great, so I had preferred something better like the promised lunch - we never saw the shade of it.
The safari's were a life time experience, we were blessed to see all the big five game animals the lion, African elephant, Cape Buffalo, African Leopard and rhinoceros thanks to Patrick (our ranger) and Holiday (our tracker), plus we had the luck that the big five were around the same time as us. Patrick and Holiday were both great Company, we had morning coffees/teas on our morning safaris and before dinner drinks on our evening safaris, which were very cosy.
The safaris were different every day and so was the weather, we enjoyed every minute of our safaris and to see the wild animals out where they belong.
Thank you so much to Patrick and Holiday and the staff at Impodimo lodge - who made our days there unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with view to the Water Pond, then you can enjoy the animals when they need a drink o...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear VickiE
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Impodimo, especially Patrick and Holiday. I will most certainly pass on the message.

I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy our High Tea selection, we always appreciate receiving positive and constructive criticism from our guests past and present, as it will provide us with a platform to provide a better product to all our future guests. I conveyed your ideas to our kitchen manager which he took under advisement and we have since worked on providing more of a variety. During summer we do not provide lunch as a large percentage of our guests find that the Brunch that is served between 10:30 and 11:00 is substantial. we do at all times try our very best to ensure that our booking agents are aware of this fact and that this information is passed onto our guests prior to their arrival with us. We do at all times attempt to convey to our guests that at their request we are more than willing to provide them with a light lunch of either an arrangement of sandwiches toasted or otherwise and if this is not to their liking we will be more than happy to provide them with a light salad that will perfectly hit the spot and hold them over till high tea, since your feedback our Kitchen Manager along with the rest of management has stressed this point during check in. We have also taken steps and are currently in the process of devising a lovely pool and room service menu that will meet any and all guests needs should they at any time feel peckish.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the Incident with one of our guests at check in we do stress to our guests that there are no fences and that they must not wander off the path out into the bush as this could prove highly dangerous. We have since implemented policies that seek to prevent this from happening. I appreciate you calling reception to advise us the impending danger with regards to the guest, our managers and staff at all times do their best to to assess the situation and make decisions that will ensure both the guest and staff member are kept out of harms way

Thank you once again for your wonderful and positive feedback we love hearing back from our guests as it provides a unique insight into what our guests want and how we can better cater to your and future guests needs. We hope to have you return to us in the future so that you may experience our elevated level of service that is made possible through your positive feedback.

Warmest Regards
Impodimo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
482 reviews
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
150 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £448 - £1,853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing