We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our stay at Madikwe Safari Lodge, arranged through Lion World Travel, was fantastic. It was a blend of the elegance of the lodge and accommodations with superb game viewing. Our ranger, JP, was knowledgeable, responsive to our desires, and so passionate about the animals. That wonderful outdoor adventure -- and seeing the Big Five, coupled with the excellent food, service and accommodations that the lodge and individual cabins provided, made for a perfect part of an overall great vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Madikwe Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband & I were on safari at Madikwe from the afternoon of February 16 through the morning of February 19. We stayed at Kopango Lodge where we found accommodations fantastic and service exceptional. Godfrey, our host, was surely "the host with the most." I have some special needs, and he went out of his way to make me feel safe and at home! We came to know him well in the short time we were there -- and, to love him!

Godfrey's entire staff made us feel like family. I will remember Avery setting out our early morning coffee, tea, and pastries, taking our orders for breakfast and dinner, and faithfully meeting us after each game drive with damp wash clothes to clean our hands and faces.

Meals were excellent, due, in large part, to the skill of Chef Lucas. Accommodations were authentic, spacious and fantastic. I especially loved the wrap-around deck and plunge pool!

Perhaps the most interesting and passionate man we met was Jacques "JP" Neizel, our Field Ranger/Game Driver. JP's knowledge of and intense respect for wildlife was vast! He went to great lengths to locate, and be sure that we saw all of the "Magnificent 7 -- the Big Five -- lions, leopard, elephant, rhino (white & black), and buffalo -- plus cheetah and wild dog! We loved sitting and listening to him share his expansive knowledge of African animals. I will never forget his deep integrity and respect for all of nature!

We had an absolutely wonderful time on this safari adventure arranged by Lion World Tours! I would not hesitate to recommend it highly to anyone who wants an authentic safari experinece.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our trip was arranged by Lion World Travels. It was the most amazing trip. We have traveled a lot and this trip far exceeds other trips. The staff at Madikwe go up and beyond the expected service. Godfrey was always there to greet us and get us anything we wanted. He made us feel like family. We got to know him well in the four days we were there. He is an amazing man. Our ranger was JP. Another amazing man. He is very passionate about his work and the safari. He truly loves the animals. His knowledge of the animals is unbelievable. He made sure we got to see the animals we wanted and more. We were able to see the magnificent seven. We will definitely go back again. We will recommend the Madikwe Lodge to anyone wanting to do a Safari. The lodge, staff and food are far above a 5 star resort. The massage we got in our room was one of the best we have had.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori6225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were on a Lion World tour that is possibly the best trip we have taken. The Madikwe Safari Lodge was a truly memorable experience. Our guide, Lucky was amazingly knowledgable about all aspects of the reserve and made the game drives informative as well as entertaining. I can't begin to express how impressed we were with his warmth, charm and his knowledge. Violet was amazing in anticipating and meeting our every need. We truly felt pampered by all of the staff. This was a five star adventure in a magnificent county. A very special place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous World Lion Tour vacation, The 3 days we spent at Madikwe Safari Lodge were the most magical of our trip. The people were amazing and we truly felt like we were part of the family. Taryn, Violet, Godfrey-who I taught my secret to a great Bloody Mary!-, Michael and Michael Jackson our wonderful spirited tour guide made this an experience I will never forget. The lodge was like our on little private palace. The deck was awesome! The outdoor shower, the plunge pool, lounge chairs. I would have my lunch out there while looking for animals with Binocs. Elephants would trumpet and walk in front of me. The star gazing at night while sipping wine and no sound but the insects and birds was the most peaceful I have ever experienced. Michael Jackson the guide made sure we saw almost every animal and was so knowledgeable. I simply cannot say thanks enough to them.

Room Tip: they are all the same and fabulous
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our expectations were surpassed in every way during our stay at Madikwe Safari Lodge. We stayed 5 nights and felt truly looked after by the warm and dedicated staff.

We were delighted by the comfortable suite, delicious food, and attentive service, but the highlight was the game experience. We participated in game drives (family and adult) and game walks. The rangers (Steph, Billy, Kenneth, and Andre) are passionate and highly knowledgeable about the game reserve in every aspect. They are focused on client safety and on sustainability of the preserve, and they patiently answered our many questions. Under their guidance we saw 5 of the big 7--including multiple viewings of wild dogs, black rhino, lions enjoying a kill, buffalo, kori bustard, and one hot day, 29 elephants sporting at a water hole. We plucked wild mint, held chameleons, learned bird calls, identified animal tracks, and sampled bitter plums off the bush. The game drives provided an incomparable, immersive experience.

We chose Madikwe Safari Lodge in part because of their kid-friendly reputation, as we were traveling with our 4 year old. We were delighted with the welcome our daughter received. Good children's food choices (complete with kids' safari dinnerware), activities, and safety-conscious, informative family game drives were offered with a smile. The Eco Lodge provided us all with context about the ecosystem. The private plunge pool at our suite was carefully secured. Our suite featured kids' bunk beds and an African folk tale was left on our daughter's pillow each evening. Our daughter had the time of her life and made friends with the kindly staff, especially our butler Maria.

The food served at the lodge was top-notch, and featured plenty of game options. Breakfast and lunch are selected from menus, while dinner consisted of several choices, different every night, from lamb to ostrich to eland. Breakfast offerings ranged from eggs Benedict to scrambled eggs with biltong to yogurt with fruit and Muesli. Lunch offerings included springbok carpaccio salad and loin of impala. Wine and drink choices (many South African) were top-notch. Kids meal choices were healthy, appealing, and customizable. Everything from the kitchen was highest quality, freshly prepared, and delicious.

We were pleased to have wireless access in the lodge, and our suite provided plenty of outlets for charging our devices. Air conditioning in our spacious, thatched-roof suite made for a comfortable night's sleep. We loved our scenic, private deck for drinking coffee, eating dessert, outdoor showers, sunbathing with the lizards, and swimming. Candles provided in our suite provided atmosphere for the evenings. It felt so luxurious when the housekeeping staff made up our room during our last early morning game drive so that we could shower and nap prior to our late-morning departure. Considerate touches like that made for a wonderful experience.

Thanks so much to the staff at Madikwe Safari Lodge's Lelapa ("family") Lodge for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I am surprised by the good reviews below on this safari lodge. I have to say the property (rooms) is not bad but certainly not the best, and the service is miserable. You can see the attitude on service staff's face- the feeling that they wish they were not there. Not sure if the management is not treating the staff right or something. All in all, the bad service spoiled the whole experience, I did not feel welcomed, far from making guests feeling special benchmark. Food was miserable.

However, my ranger was excellent who had good knowledge and insides on the park and animals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VvFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P, General Manager at Madikwe Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear VV Fox

I am disappointed to read about your negative view on Madikwe Safari Lodge. At Madikwe Safari Lodge we take all constructive feedback seriously as we pride ourselves on delivering an excellent guest experience.

Since reading your feedback I have checked through other feedback recieved through our on-line guest survey around the same time you were at the lodge and all the feedback comes back as good.

This morning I have met individually with each member of staff that was involved in hosting you and all have indicated that they were happy during the period of your stay and none of them can understand the above comments. All members of the team actually indicated you also alluded to being happy for the duration of the stay which confuses me slightly. If there was an incident or something else you would like to share and discuss with me then please feel free to mail me directly at andy@morehotels.co.za

Once again I apologise for the negative view of our lodge that you have left with as this really disappoints all of us on the ground.

Thank you again for your comment and wishing you all the best for 2014

Kind Regards

Andy Paterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.8 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
482 reviews
13.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
360 reviews
2.6 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
192 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £781 - £1,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich red timbres of the African earth are reflected in the warm tones of Madikwe Safari Lodge. Cradled between rolling hills, overlooking game-filled plains intersected by the Marico River and framed by the Dwarsberg Hills, just 20 suites are clustered in three intimate camps. With circular fireplaces at the heart of every suite, and big glass doors to blur the boundary between inside and out, Madikwe embodies the warm, bold heart of this spectacularly rugged corner of Africa. Spacious wooden decks embrace inviting plunge pools, and book-filled shelves in quiet corners entice and captivate, while large pizza ovens add a fun twist to meal times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Madikwe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing