We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Madikwe Safari Lodge (Lelapo) and game reserve seeped into our souls over a 5 night stay at the end of July (we could easily have stayed a few days longer without getting bored). The accommodation is luxurious without being gaudy, and it is very cleverly situated within the bush for minimum impact on the environment. The food is superb. We travelled with our 11 year old daughter, who loved every minute of it (as did we). The game drives were excellent, with Andre, our ranger, who was very knowledgeable, interested, and interesting. We were also lucky enough to experience a wine tasting out in the bush, an experience that we will never forget, with thanks to Clive for being such an entertaining & knowledgable host. All the staff at Madikwe make such a positive impression, with everything combining to make for a truly magical experience, filled with style & panache!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyAStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Madikwe Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We snuck off just for a quick 2 night break from Joburg and it was fantastic. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and attentive. The rooms where loverly (a fire lit in them each night!) and comfortable with breathtaking views. The game viewing was great too. The little touches made it special. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: They have 3 lodges, so if you are traveling without children make sure to book into one of 2 that do...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leigh-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Madikwe Safari Lodge has all one can expect from a safari lodge. The lovely design and decor, the personal service, the delicious food, the very comfortable rooms and the fantastic game drive make this one of my families favourite holiday destinations. I have been 4 times and each time we have been able to see the big 5. In the middle of the day, while the parents are resting, the rangers take the kids of to make moulds of game tracks or to an interesting talk in the interpretation centre.
I would definately recomend this lodge to both the local and foreign travellers.

Room Tip: They are all stunning
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and young son. Cannot say enough positive things about this lodge! The room was spacious, well set up and the very private. All the lodges are designed so you can't really see any of the others so you get a wonderful feeling of being there alone.

The staff were excellent, everybody from the waiting staff to the very knowledgeable guides on the safari were friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The food was lovely, especially the open air BBQ which was a huge hit.

Would visit again in heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Great_Stuartio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I along with our 12 year old granddaughter cannot stop raving about our amazing experience at the Madikwe Safari Lodge ... the entire staff, the other guests, the 5-star food & beverages, the luxurious accommodations, the twice daily safari drives with our unbelievably knowledgeable and experienced (and funny) tracker/guide Billy. Our valet Isaac was wonderfully and sincerely attentive to our every need ... without being intrusive.

We got to see all of the Big 5 ... several times each. Our photo ops were unending. We were paired with a couple from Bonn, Germany and their delightful 11 year old daughter ... each of whom was fluent in English and tolerated my German (as a second language). Lisa (their daughter) and Gabby (our granddaughter) got to bake cookies together one afternoon ... and 'the girls' were our backup safari guides, taking photos and poring through the 'Safari auf Deutsch' book that showed all the English and German names for the wildlife we encountered. We missed nothing!

My personal favorite, aside from all of the Big 5, were the beautiful and intelligent Geldschnabel (Gold Beaked) Toucans, hovering around the main lodges open dining area ... helping themselves to a grape or two from time to time ... and ever-present on the safari drives. By the end of our stay, the words 'Geldschnabel Toucan' were rolling off our tongues with ease ... and accompanying laughter.

Frankly, there was not a single flaw, mishap or negative incident throughout our entire 4-day stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFoodWineGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We (my daughter & myself) recently spent a magical 3 nights at Lelapa lodge
I can honestly highly recommend this lodge - the team were awesome and made us feel special all the time - especially my little girl who was treated like a princess!
The rooms are lovely with private plunge pools and endless views of the bush
The food was fantastic- staff friendly and accommodating
Game drives were our highlight and viewing surpassed my expectations. Billy our ranger was knowledgable, friendly and really great with my daughter.
Loads on offer to keep kids busy - although we didn't have time as we were out on drives or relaxing
Well worth a visit - I wish we'd stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: Wifi not in the rooms but in the main area
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta_Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family & I spent a great long weekend at Kopano Lodge which is very small and private. The suites are large and bright with a fantastic deck and private plunge pool which we unfortunately did not get to enjoy as the weather was very cold, but we really enjoyed the fireplace in the suite which was lit in the evening when we were at dinner. The staff, especially the housekeepers were brilliant - leaving messages on the chalk board every evening and seeing to everything from a choice of different pillows when my daughter found hers uncomfortable to running a stunning bubble bath for us one evening together with rose petals and candles! The food was outstanding and the dinner in the boma one evening was really special. The game was plentiful and I was particularly excited to see wild dog. A great touch were the blankets and hot water bottles on the early morning game drive which were such a great idea as it was really cold. I would definitely recommend Madikwe game reserve as a malaria free option when looking for game lodges.

Room Tip: The suites are quite far apart and the walk from the main area to the last suite is a bit of a dista...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.8 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
482 reviews
13.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
360 reviews
2.6 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
192 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £781 - £1,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich red timbres of the African earth are reflected in the warm tones of Madikwe Safari Lodge. Cradled between rolling hills, overlooking game-filled plains intersected by the Marico River and framed by the Dwarsberg Hills, just 20 suites are clustered in three intimate camps. With circular fireplaces at the heart of every suite, and big glass doors to blur the boundary between inside and out, Madikwe embodies the warm, bold heart of this spectacularly rugged corner of Africa. Spacious wooden decks embrace inviting plunge pools, and book-filled shelves in quiet corners entice and captivate, while large pizza ovens add a fun twist to meal times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madikwe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing