We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing adventures in style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This lodge was absolutely fantastic and I had one of the most memorable trips here. The lodge is so luxurious and you feel thoroughly spoilt staying here. Whilst it was a bit on the expensive side, we got all our meals and games drives included which was great value for money.

The grounds are spectacular with so much attention to detail in every way and you get wonderful views of elephants drinking water in the watering hole nearby. Our room had a 4 poster bed, a fireplace and a bath overlooking the watering hole so that you could relax in the tub and look out for game after a day of wildlife spotting. The lodge is covered in thatch which is very much in keeping with the surrounding bushland and we loved the fact that the thatch rooves in the main lodge were built around some trees.

The food was exquisite and beautifully presented and we had so much variety. At dinner it was wonderful to be able to dine under the stars alfresco style which added to the romanticism of this place.

The game drives were the best I have ever been on and our guide consistently tracked down lions, wild dogs and a plethora of wildlife and it was so exciting driving off and searching for game. The guides were so informative and respectful of the animals and their environment and we loved the evening game drives where we could have a beer or two at sunset.

We were made to feel incredibly welcome here and I really hope to be abe to return here again in the future. This will always be a very special place for me.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you are looking for a game lodge to stay at look no further than Motswiri in Madikwe. This was my second trip to Motswiri and I was once again amazed by the quality of the lodge, the staff, and the experience. My first trip was with three friends on a boys trip, this second one was with my girlfriend and each was very special in their own way. There is clearly something for every-one at Motswiri and they cater to the individuals staying at the resort, so no matter who you are traveling with, it will be a special experience.

You are treated like royalty from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. The accomodation is five star with well appointed and beautiful rooms that are kept in amazing condition and super clean. The staff are amazing and will make sure that you are comfortable and enjoying your stay from start to finish. They are extremely friendly and are always smiling and making you feel at home. The game rangers Zede and Andre are fun, knowledgable and do their best to show you a wide variety of game. We saw the big five and wild dog during our stay our three night stay, doesn't get much better than that. The food is incredible, with a wide variety of options for even the pickiest eaters. Make sure you come with an appetite because you won't find cooking as good as this in most five star restaurants.

I had booked through the Motswiri website and the reservations team was extremely helpful in assisting me with the reservation and in planning activities for our stay. Despite the seven hour time difference I always received a response within a few hours of my email.

I really can't say enough about how incredible the Motswiri experience is and I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

What a way to kick off our first trip to South Africa! Motswiri was the first safari for our kids and the first lodge of our visit. It proved to be our favourite lodge and it must be said all were excellent. We did a lot of research having initially wanted to travel to Botswana which proved too expensive - Motswiri in the Madikwe Reserve was the compromise but i now wonder how it can possibly be bettered

Although we had a few communication issues with Perfections of Africa, who operated as agents for Motswiri (we booked direct), that was where our issues finished

We travelled late August, as winter ends and spring kicks in. It was a fantastic time to visit, the bush was just beginning to show signs of green coming through (must be stunning in summer) and the general fauna had died back enough to make game viewing excellent. As the sun drops the temparature falls quickly (between 0c and 5c), but temparatures rose quickly to low 20's centrigrade around noon. Wrap up warm in the mornings and take extra layers for when the sun goes down in the evenings. Motswiri provide warm blankets and hot water bottles so you're never too cold! On the drives you'll stop for a morning cuppa or evening sundowner, and arrive back at the lodge to be greeted with hot flannels and a gorgeous drink. We saw 4 of the big 5, only the elusive leopard, keeping suitably well hidden

The game drives were wonderful, and our ranger Andre was so passionate about the animals, their welfare and safe keeping and strict rules apply around how many vehicles can attend a sighting at the same time (far better experience than we had in the Masai Mara). Andre has years of ranger experience having grown up on a game farm in the Kalahari (his nickname) and in Kruger too and was always great fun and humerous. Nothing was ever too much trouble and he kept the family enthralled and entertained in equal measure. Its hard to isolate favourite sightings but a handful must include watching two lionesses with their 5 cubs, tracking a pack of wild dogs through the bush for one and a half hours, a brown hyena on a kill and following a pair of beautiful black maned lions for over an hour

We were blessed with being on our own (family of 4) for two of our 4 days and shared the Motswiri lodge with another couple for the other days. The main lodge was beautiful, nestled and merging delicately into its natural habitat, spacious and luxurious in equal measure. Birdlife is abundant and stunning, and the watering hole frequently visited by herds of elephant and other plains game. Our own lodge was the self catering villa which was wonderful for a family, allowing us absolute privacy and our own plunge pool and i'd recommend to anyone but we looked around the other lodges too and all were wonderful. Note that if you want to overlook the watering hole from your own lodge you need to be careful in your choice, only a couple have such views

The food was exquisite. I'm pretty fussy, as are the kids, but we never had any problems at all and enjoyed the variety and unique combinations, and on the odd occasion that we wanted something simpler the staff were always pleased to accomodate. In fact the staff deserve special mention, they were all great fun, always smiling and sharing a joke and went out of their way to make the kids at home - they loved the milkshakes! As we ate dinner one night, they decorated our lodge in rose leaves, leaving us champagne and candles - it was a complete surprise for our engagement of some 2 weeks before (we still dont know how they found out!)

Motswiri will always hold a special place in our hearts and we'd love to visit again, i'd recommend visiting to anyone (and have to many!!!)

Room Tip: If a view of the watering hole from your room is important then make sure to check during your booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A small group of us recently stayed at Motswiri and enjoyed every minute of it. The small size of it makes it feel like your very own lodge. The service and food was excellent. And the game ranger, Zede, was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. He seemed motivated to make sure we saw everything during our time there. I'm not sure how it could be better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEMS U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

What a fantastic lodge! We stayed here for a few nights whilst doing a safari at Madikwe, and I am really glad we choose such an intimate and friendly place. Zede was our game ranger, and consistently tried to find all the game we wanted to see. Andre who was the other ranger was great entertainment in the bar at night! Keep drinking the rum Andre! The food was excellent, and if there was something that you did not like on the menu the chef would cook an alternative for you - great guest relations. Our lodge overlooked the watering hole, and we saw a few animals drinking there quite close to our veranda. My wife got to see the Wild Dogs she had been longing to see, and I even got to see a Mozambique Spiting Cobra at very close quarters! The sundowners were excellent - and so was the Biltong! Rooms were well equiped for a safari lodge, and very spacious. Would definitely return, and recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordy646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

A group of us recently spent 3 days at Motswiri, and enjoyed all that the lodge has to offer. The rooms are lovely, very comfortable with luxurious furnishings (for a bush lodge) and luxurious bathroom with a big bath and outside shower. The rooms are far from each other (particularly Room 1) - so you don't need to see anyone else while you're there if you don't want to :-)

Meals are also lovely, and the lodge catered well for our varied dietary requirements. Breakfast is after the morning game drive (they could make it more of a brunch to be honest), as "high tea" is served at 15:00 - so there's a long wait in between breakfast and high tea. Dinner is a 3 course meal served whenever suits you from 19:00. You are also given snacks on the game drives.

We enjoyed morning and afternoon game drives, with a capable ranger. You are reliant though on your ranger to find exciting animals for you by liaising with the various other rangers - but keep your eyes peeled while on the game drive - don't expect him to look for everything for you...

In between game drives and meals, there isn't much to do besides sleeping in your room or chill by the pool - but since you're in the bush - this really is perfect. Take things to keep kids entertained if you're taking them with you...

Drinks are very well priced, and the wine list is also good. Remember to take cash for tips - it is customary to tip staff in cash after staying at a bush lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_Tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

2 nights at Motswiri was a great end of our S.A tour.
Great close to nature accomodations , perfect safari close to the animals and with a very proffesional guide. friendly staff and good service.
only reason for not giving the last star was the fodd which was OK but not as excellent as everuthing else.
Anyhow highli recommended.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
3.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
229 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
317 reviews
9.9 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
643 reviews
13 mi away
Madikwe River Lodge
Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswiri Private Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswiri Private Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve 1560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £518 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Motswiri Private Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge, situated in the western side of the 75 000 hectare, Big Five, malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve in the North West Province, forms an integral part of The Madikwe Collection's exclusive portfolio of lodges. As its name suggests, Motswiri Private Safari Lodge is an exclusive lodge offering guests a personal bush experience, which is impossible to replicate in larger concerns. The lodge offer some of the best views in Madikwe as well as the tranquil feel given by the mature trees (mostly Leadwoods) under which the lodge's main building and five luxury bush villas nestle. Motswiri has luxurious accommodation, with each bush villa offering stunning views from private decks and multiple-slider bedrooms and bathrooms. Add double-sided fire places, air-conditioning/ ceiling fans, stunning bathrooms and an outdoor shower and you have a bush experience second to none. Then our Family Villa offer three rooms all with en-suite bathrooms. The Family villa boasts a private lounge area leading out onto a private deck and pool. At the main area of the lodge enjoy the rim-flow pool overlooking the waterhole, have a cocktail under the shade of the Motswiri trees (Leadwood in Tswana) on the main deck or just while away the day in the outside lounge and bar area. Fine cuisine is served in the dining room, under the Leadwood or around a roaring fire in the boma. Staff offer personal service in a relaxed but professional manner and the twice daily game drives are conducted by our rangers whose superb bush knowledge is imparted in the manner best suited to the bush knowledge of the guests on the specially designed landcruiser game viewing vehicle. Motswiri offers the option of individual bookings or exclusive use of the lodge for groups. The lodge is ideal for corporate, family / friend groups of up to ten people who do not wish to share the facilities with other guests. Motswiri is a mere 3- 1/2 hours drive from Johannesburg or for utter indulgence, guests can opt for a fly-in safari to the reserves all weather airstrip. Scheduled daily charters are available via the Federal Air Madikwe Charter Joint Venture Partnership. Lodge tariffs include luxury accommodation, two fabulous game drives per day and all meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Motswiri Private Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing