We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences of my life..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences of my life..”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I can very easily say that our stay at Rhulani was one of the best experiences of our life. Not only is the lodge and amenities great but the staff was terrific. Maryka, Jeanetta and Chris were awesome. They went out of their way in arranging a tribal dance on our first night at my wife's request. That was followed up by a cozy dinner on the deck of our chalet for the two of us and then meals based on our timings. Wow..no one does that.

Chris is a great ranger, very knowledgeable with a great 'instinct' which resulted in us viewing wild dogs hunt down prey, pride of lions kill and eat their prey (we could hear the crackling of the bones as the lion enjoyed its meal!)...and most importantly, focussed on ensuring that we have the best experience of our lives. As Chris puts it, "the bug has bitten" and we are sure of returning to South Africa to enjoy more of the Safari... Thanks Chris!

Thanks to everyone for making our visit one of the most memorable vacations of our lives.

Jolly & Vivek

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V_Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    27
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
94
110
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We loved our stay at Rhulani and were sorry to leave. We stayed in the Family Suite which had two gorgeous bedrooms and a lovely relaxing lounge area. The bathrooms each had outside showers which were quite an experience. We loved the large plunge pool on our sun deck. We could see the waterhole from it and watch all the animals come and go. One time there were over 10 elephants drinking there. The Lodge is very open and has the right balance of luxury and relaxation. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Maryka and Jeanette made sure we had everything we needed. Our game drives were exceptional, mainly due to the enthusiasm, knowledge and cheerfulness of our Ranger, Jacques. He went out of his way to make each drive different, and we saw an incredible variety of game including 4 out of the Big Five. The food was delicious and they were always happy to offer an alternative if our teenagers were not sure about the menu. Eating outside in the Boma on the last night was the icing on the cake. Would love to return.

Room Tip: We loved the Family Suite - rooms 3/4. It offered a great view of the waterhole whilst maintaining p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have been to Rhulani a number of times and each and every time has been an amazing experience! The staff are warm and friendly and happy to assist, catering to your every need, often going out of their way to please. Maryka and jeanette are fabulous, with their kind and happy dispositions, it is always pleasant to see them smiling after game drives! The facilities are wonderful, the deck is my favorite I could stand and gaze out on the waterhole all day. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and fitting to the beautiful surroundings.

The Game viewing is phenomenal, Madikwe in itself is truly something everyone should experience at least once, these are game drives that cannot be compared to any other. the rangers make it their mission to show you the most incredible things. Rhulani have wonderful Rangers, Chris Grant and Jacques all of whom are amazing at what they do, a true pleasure! My ranger Grant is fantastic, he has an outstanding knowledge and passion for the bush, he has made my times at Rhulani all the more memorable.

I would recommend a stay at Rhulani to anyone.
A worthwhile and lovely experience!
Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This our second time at Rhulani safari lodge, but our fourth time at
Madikwe and we don't know why we tried anywhere else rather than Rhulani. The setting around the water hole is amazing and I love the openness of the lodge. We arrived to check in, only to find a herd of elephant drinking on a 100 m from us. Amazing. As we remembered the staff are awesome and nothing is too much problem. Our game drives with our ranger Grant where really informative and exciting.
We are lucky enough to travel on a regular bases in South Africa and overseas and have decided the best shower in the world is the outside shower in room five overlooking the water hole. All sorts of animals cavorting around it.
In short, Rhulani is our little eden.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhbwindchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The location of Rhulani is perfect - an easy drive from the entrance to the Reserve. The facilities are incredible! The accommodations were luxurious, private, and beautiful.

I was very impressed with the staff. They greeted us upon arrival and took great care of us throughout the stay. Our game drives were breathtaking and we managed to see so many more animals than I ever imagined we would.

I plan to return with my husband for a quiet getaway!

Room Tip: All the individual lodges are private and beautiful. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We picked Rhulani after not knowing much about it mainly because it was in the Madikwe reserve, and we certainly were not disappointed with out choice. The drive from Johannesburg was easy and from the gate its a very short ride to Rhulani.

The staff and their welcome were lovely and the room was right by the waterhole and very comfortable. The game viewing was of course wonderful - it is Madikwe after all, but the stay was made by the easy going, friendly and helpful staff. We had our mini bar stocked with our drinks choices in no time and snacks delivered while we lazed the afternoon away watching the buck and elephants drink at the waterhole. My advice - dont be shy to ask for anything you may need at all, they are very happy to supply all your needs but because of the nature of bush lodges during the day you will be left to relax and enjoy your time so dont wait for offers, just let them know and its done in flash.

The food was very good and more than ample and the in room massage was also very enjoyable. The game drives were wonderful and the guides really do go the extra mile to get you to the animals and make you have a good time. We had an almost lion kill, a close encounter with both elephant and a hyena and her cub - and saw almost all animals you could think off on top of the great birding. One night we even had the two big male lions walk through camp.

I have no hesitation at all in saying come here - the lodge is wonderful - the staff are fantastic and you will never go wrong with game viewing in Madikwe.

Room Tip: Room 4 as mentioned right in front of the waterhole was fabulous and the viewing made leaving the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feegee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at Rhulani for 4 wonderful nights! On arrival at madikwe game reserve we were directed to Rhulani from the main gate by the polite guard. On our short drive ro Rhulani camp we were dissapointed to see a "borrow pit" in clear view of the entrance road with tractors and trucks excavating soil for the maintenance of the roads.. We quickly shut this out of our minds and on arrival at the lodge we were warmly greeted by the staff and management. The entrance to the lodge is great with sweeping views of the adjacent valley and fantastic deck area to view the lodge's waterhole! We were escorted to our room and were delighted to find a beautifully decorated and airy bungalow complete with morso stove, great bathroom and wooden deck with plunge pool. We nodded off and were woken by a heard of wildebeest grazing all around us. We then headed to the lodge for our first game drive where we were warmly greeted by our ranger Kenneth. While enjoying some high tea snacks and a beverage before our drive we gazed at the waterhole frequented by a variet of antelope and bird species. The game drive was unforgettable, we saw the resident pack of wild dogs kill two impala rams against the fence and glowingly returned to camp to a five star dining experience under the stars. The rest of our stay was filled with more delicous food, fantastic wildlife sightings and lots of merry banter with the rest of the guests. A special note must go to our ranger Kenneth who was incredibly knowledgeable of the fauna and flora of the Madikwe reserve. He cared expertly for his guests and had a fantastic sense of humour, making our stay memorable in every sense!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the waterhole if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
1.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
349 reviews
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
579 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
423 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhulani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Property: Rhulani Safari Lodge
Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing