We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great team, great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great team, great time”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Spent three days at Rhulani with wife and teenage daughter, both on second safari. Had great time, saw amazing amount of wild life, up close and relaxed. Lion pride, elephants, rhinos, buffalo, and plenty else. Only one missing was a leopard, but Grant (and Chris in the other vehicle) took us to every corner of Madikwe looking for one :) and we saw cheetahs instead. Wife took great photos, great close ups with just a bridge camera.
Team back at lodge was wonderful, food and service was exemplary.
We had the family lodge, two bedrooms with a lounge between.
The lodge is being brought up to date, which it needs to justify 5*, hence rating - should rate 5 soon.
The cooperation between the rangers from the different lodges to locate and share the big game sightings, with only 2-3 vehicles allowed close at a time, seemed to relax the animals, who never seemed to feel threatened, making our experience all the more relaxed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chuff_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Chuff
thank you very much for your visit to Rhulani , and that you have taken the time to give us feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you have made a positive experience with the teamwork of our on-site employees. Since we have taken over Rhulani some months ago, we have invested a lot of time and efforts to improve employee satisfaction at work, through incentives and staff engagement activities, which are clearly translating into an improvement of service quality to our guests.
Reading your comment, we assume that the reason for missing one point to the maximum score was the pending conclusion of some upgrades on the lodge infrastructure. It is true that this year, we have made ​​great investments both in time and financially to keep all aspects of Rhulani at the 5 star-level, which is also our current rating . Many of the works started (and will start) after suggestions we received from our guests, either directly or on tripadvisor. So, also from this perspective, many thanks for sharing your views with us, and for confirming that we are going into the right direction..
We hope that in the future, we will see you again at Rhulani and send you best regards
Rolf&Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    27
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
90
108
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently visited Rhulani Safari Lodge. Both of us have watched many shows on TV about African wildlife. Nothing you see on TV can compare to seeing the animals up close and personal. Our guide, Jacques, was excellent finding us so many of the animals and a source of lots of information. He even managed to find us a leopard! We went on all the game drives and each one was a unique experience. The lodge, accommodations, meals and all the staff were all top quality. We stayed in cabin #5 and rather than rest in the afternoon, watched a variety of animals come to visit the water hole. Quite an experience to watch a huge elephant walk right past your room. We would highly recommend Rhulani as a place to go if you ever visit South Africa.

Room Tip: Cabin #5 has a great view of the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Heather
We are very pleased that you have visited us from Canada, and that you entirely enjoyed your stay at Rhulani. Not surprisingly, we notice that main motivations and fascination for choosing our place was the exciting search for the animals on game drives, being in the midst of nature and wildlife, and which in your case included an elephant bull passing next to the chalet. What a wonderful experience!
While we have a lot of different things that we are optimizing every day at Rhulani, we are always aware that the quality of the game drives with professional rangers like -in your case- Jacques, and on first class, open vehicles, is a key point.
Many thanks for your kind words also regarding other aspects of Rhulani, which were to your satisfaction. We hope, that you will come back again in the future, and send you best regards
Rolf & Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We recently visited Madikwe and stayed at Rhulani. Will recommend anyone to stay there, the service is world class and Jacques was the best guide that I have ever had. We were treated and managed to see all big 5! The weather was great to view animals but the bush was very dry. This is an expensive holiday but worth it if you want to do a safari but have limited time.

Room Tip: The cabins 5,6 have a view of the watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Mr. or Ms. du Toit

Many thanks for visiting Rhulani recently. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the quality of the game drives. The combination of experienced rangers (in your case Jacques) and the well-stocked wildlife on the west side of the Madikwe Game Reserve offer a good chance to see lots of animals in a short time. We are pleased that you have been successful in finding all of the "Big 5", including the leopard, where you always need a bit of luck.

Also for us, the long dry winter period is a challenge. Our guests usually enjoy the weather stability, constant sunny days and cool dry nights, but you are right, the nature and the animals are suffering at this time. But plants will recover in summer time, and animals always find water at the dams and waterholes. A few days ago, we had our first heavy rainfall, and we would be happy if you come and visit us again in summer when nature appears in green - it looks totally different.

We wish you all the best and thank you for your Feedback!
Yours Rolf & Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Myself, my wife and two boys (aged 8 and 10) stayed for 2 nights in mid October 2013. This was the highlight of our 2 week holiday in South Africa. The location of the lodge with the adjacent watering hole was amazing and we could sit in our private plunge pool watching vast numbers of animals walking by. The interior of the lodge was also beautiful and we could not fault it in any way. The service was excellent with all staff very friendly and helpful. The food was superb with the Eland steaks we had one night being the best steaks we have ever tasted. Worthy of special mention were the game drives with Sean. His spotting ability and knowledge of the animals were fantastic and he went the extra mile to ensure that our two boys thoroughly enjoyed their first safari experience. They now both want to be rangers when they grow up! Thanks again to all at Rhulani and we hope to meet you again some time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURNETIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest

For us as owners and the whole Rhulani-Team it is a real pleasure to read your review and to obtain the highest marks in all categories. But still it makes us even happier to know that during your holidays through South Africa, the safari-experience at Rhulani was a true highlight.

In Rhulani, we have set the goal to position ourselves as a luxury, but also as a family-friendly lodge. It is sometimes not so easy to find the right balance between the high standards of quality and privacy, and at the same informality for families with children. We are pleased to read that you were completely satisfied with our way to meet your wishes. Watching the animals out of the private plunge-pool of the room, was certainly an amazing experience!

We hope you had a good return to the UK, and we are already curious to see when your children come back to South Africa for becoming rangers!

Good luck, and best regards
Yours Marisa & Rolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My mum and I decided to take my dad and my son to Madikwe for their birthday as they are so close together, 25th and 28th September 2013. My son brought a friend. I chose Rhulani based on the online description and pictures and the great value for money. When we arrived a large number of the staff were lined up to greet us, making us feel like royalty! that was fab! after refreshing ourselves and a short - unnecessary, as we came from the Botswana border 5 minutes away - rest, we went out on our first game drive with Jacques. He was a fabulous guide and gave us a great deal of info. The animals were out in full force giving us a fantastic display! we saw the big 4 - the shy leopard as usual being the one absent! we were able to take hundreds of brill photos.
The luxury of the lodge was such a welcome feature when we came back to relax with cocktails before settling down to a delicious supper. Day 2 we chose not to go on the early morning drive but swam in our private plunge pools, as well as the main pool, and generally relaxed in the lodge until our second drive. This time we saw two males lions after a feeding, elephant at a waterhole and an abundance of different antelope. Over the two days we managed to sight impala, kudu, zebra, giraffe, red haartebees and even the elusive Eland! We also saw, rhino, elephant, lion, and buffalo, as well as diverse birdlife! At night we viewed the two males at the drinking hole, they passed within 5 metres of our truck! Awesome! The second supper was just as delectable. The chalets are just magnificent and the beds and bedding ever so comfortable. The bath is my dream come true, and you have the choice of indoor or outdoor showers! Just too decadent for words! I felt like a million bucks! on questioning, all my family spouted rave reviews of their rooms and the lodge and total experience in general.
As a bonus, there's a waterhole right in front of the lodge o you could wake up to a herd of kudu or elephant or zebra passing your windows en route to the waterhole!
We would definitely recommend you try out Rhulani for your next trip to Madikwe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamzellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Mamzellet

It is wonderful for us to read, how much you enjoyed your journey, and that after choosing Rhulani through an internet research, the location and our team fulfilled all your expectations. Thank you very much for your feedback!

When reading your impressions, it draws the attention to us of how many different aspects you have noticed, experienced and enjoyed during your stay. Indeed, we also think that a safari should not be seen as just a race to discover all the animals as quickly as possible during game drives and doing nothing in the time between. Of course, game viewing is an absolute highlight and often the main motivation for making the trip. Our ambition at Rhulani, however, is to round this fantastic experience up, and ensure that our guests feel special in a luxurious, relaxed and casual setting. We are very thankful that you give us a positive evaluation in this regard.

We hope that you chose Rhulani again in the future, and we send you best regards

Marisa & Rolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful 2 night stay at Rhulani. The meaning of Rhulani is to relax, and this beautiful lodge is most definitely true to the meaning.
The family room was spacious and had everything you could possibly need, to enjoy the relaxing hours between activities and the beds are very comfy. Just a note to shower lovers, there are only outside showers so on a nippy night you might have to opt for a relaxing bath.
Staff is very friendly without being "in your face". Every request was dealt with with a warm smile and efficiency.
The food is 5 star and more. High tea offers a delicious selection of sweet a savoury treats and dinner is not only delicious but also beautifully presented.
The game drives did not disappoint and Chris really goes out of his way to get the best possible sightings.
The little extra touches (won't spoil the surprise for other guests), is what sets Rhulani apart from other lodges, and makes you feel appreciated.
We have been fortunate enough to have visited several lodges in Madikwe, some lodges counts as "been there done that", other lodges counts as "cannot wait to go back".
Rhulani is on top with 2 of our other favourites. Really can't wait to return.
BIG thank you to Jeanette, Chris & the Rhulan team!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothafamily293767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Botha Family

We have read with great interest your comment, especially because it seems that your family has a great passion for nature and wildlife, and that you often choose Madikwe as a travel destination. More so, we are pleased to know that you made ​​a wonderful experience with Rhulani, and we deserve an excellent evaluation, even compared to other similar experiences you had. Thank you so much for your words!

Although our Rhulani logo shows a running Eland, you are right: Rhulani means "Relax" and this is actually also how our place wants to be perceived and remembered by our guests. Rhulani is a place of tranquility and relaxation, and we pay a lot of attention to keep this magic. We are also delighted that you had a relaxing time together with your ​​family, and you felt yourself comfortable in the private family unit.

So, we look very much forward to seeing you again soon, and send you best regards
Rolf & Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a wonderfull time in Rhulani. It exceeded all our expectations. When arriving we found ourselves in a most beautifull lodge. Immediately a fantastic safari drive wit.h a lion family coming to us. It is too much to mention, great staff, sightings, nature, hospitality, luxury etc.

We recommend Rhulani highly to all, great value and a once in a lifetime experience which you will want to repeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Pieter

We are glad to hear that Rhulani formed a memorable part of your vacation in South Africa, and that all expectations were exceeded. We are especially pleased when we read that Rhulani was the appropriate choice for family holidays. We are very concerned at Rhulani that on the one hand, we meet the expectations of parents with respect to privacy and luxury, but on the other hand, we also generate a relaxed atmosphere, where the family enjoys the stay and the game drives with their children.

Many thanks for your visit and for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!

Marisa & Rolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
1.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
348 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
573 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
419 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhulani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Property: Rhulani Safari Lodge
Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing