We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I've lived in South Africa now just over two years. In that time I’ve tried to get out and about and do as much as a possibly can. I've stayed at numerous lodges and done game drives in many different parks but I keep coming back to Rhulani as my favorite. The entire atmosphere at Rhulani just lends itself to a rustic, yet luxurious and comfortable escape. The staff are hands down, incredible. From the welcome to the lodge, to the meals, to the turn down service, or building a fire in your iron stove during the winter, the staff goes above and beyond to ensure that you have an incredible experience. I even stayed with my friends last year for my birthday and the staff went out of their way to ensure that it was a special and memorable day.

Beyond just the relaxing atmosphere of the lodge, the friendliness of the staff, what is also great is the wealth of knowledge that each game guide has when they take you out into the park. In my many trips to Rhulani, I've had two of the three different guides on staff. They go out of their way to make sure they take you to see the animals you're interested in, and will search tirelessly to find the animals you desire. While not always on a game drive will you get to see every animal you'd like, they do their utmost to make it happen. The guides have a great ability of making their time with you, not just as a guide taking you to see animals but by the end, as a new friend.

During my time in South Africa, I've recommended Rhulani to many friends and co-workers, everyone who has stayed, has come back to thank me and looking forward to the next time that they will be able to return to Rhulani. In my trips there I've been lucky to see all of the Big Five, enjoy amazing food, a relaxing and private atmosphere, and truly an amazing stay each time that always has me wishing I could stay even just one night longer. If you are considering staying at Rhulani, you won't regret and you'll leave with new friends that can't wait to welcome you back and make you feel like you're returning home to family and friends every time you stay.

Room Tip: If available stay in Chalet #5 for a view of the watering hole from your room! If you have multiple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattP19812013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Matt

if we interpret your lines correctly, you're writing these at the end of a long time you have spent in the Southern Africa, and after you've visited many times Rhulani. We do not know whether you have left the place with relief, happiness or with sadness, but considering your passionate experiences with nature and wildlife, we assume that you will miss one important part.

After having spoken to Grant, our Manager, the whole Rhulani-Team remembers your visits very well, and we are all sad to know that in the future, maybe we will not see you so often any more. But we are also glad that every time you came to visit us, we were able to generate this special atmosphere for you, which you describe in your own, very nice words.

From the whole Rhulani Team, we would like to send you our best wishes for your future, we hope that despite distances, you will find the way back (please let us know!), and with many thanks for such a wonderful "final evaluation" about Rhulani.

Yours Marisa & Rolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    27
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
90
108
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had an awesome time at Rhulani. Excellent food and chalets. Thanks Ernest for bringing tea and coffee etc, while our husbands had their meeting. Thanks Jacques for eventfull game drives. Twice the rain caught up with us but we didn't mind at all, its all part of the experience. This was the first time we visited Madikwe game reserve if we have the chance to go there again we will stay at Rhulani Lodge again. We saw the wild dogs, brown hyena, lions with their cubs, black rhino. We also did some conservation work with my husbands company - what an experience. This lodge is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Frances

For us as Rhulani owners, it is really exciting to read your comment, as we feel that your stay with us was very special. Motivated to join the week-end as a "companion" (for all other readers, yes, we have a meeting room), conservation work, rainfalls on game drives, discovering rare animal species - this is all really enviable.

But above all, you also made best experiences with Rhulani, and you liked how you were attended by Ernest in the lodge or by Jacques on the vehicle. We remember very much the visit of your group and saw also the exciting photos via our Facebook - wonderful!

We hope that your first visit to Madikwe will not be your last one, we thank you very much for taking the time to write us, and send you best regards

Marisa & Rolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, AZ USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our family of seven adults recently spent a few weeks in SA and Victoria Falls. Having experienced safari in Kenya many years ago I was eagerly anticipating seeing the wild life in Madikwe and our stay at Rhulani. My only disappointment is that I wish we had a few more days to enjoy it. Regardless, the Rhulani staff ensured we were able to make the most of our 3 day stay. The wild life was fantastic. Chris was able to guide us for view of the big 5 and share his knowledge and experience of the animals and bush that make for a great safari.

We all enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and accommodations provided by Rhulani. I can’t speak high enough of the staff – they really make you feel welcome, providing that additional attention to detail that rates 1st class service in all aspects. The food and service was excellent, the game drives were timely and well organized, and I really liked the privacy and accommodation of the chalets, which provided all amenities in a comfortable yet rustic safari atmosphere perfect for relaxing and viewing animals visiting the lodge water hole.

Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear David

considering that you traveled to Rhulani from far away, that your family with 7 adults was quite numerous, and that after earlier safari experiences you certainly had some expectations, we are very proud to receive from you such a nice feedback. Many thanks to all your family members for your visit, and that you have taken the time to write us a comment.

We are also delighted to read that you keep the tranquility, privacy and the spacious chalets in positive memory, since we deliberately try to convey that atmosphere to our guests. As you know, our name "Rhulani" means "Relax".

Finally, we are happy that you met with friendly and helpful staff. Since we have taken over Rhulani, we work every day so that our employees are satisfied with their work, with the team, and with the way we deal with each other, and thus are at work with a happy face. Good to see that we are doing the right thing in this regard.

All the best, and with kindest regards
Rolf & Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Spent three days at Rhulani with wife and teenage daughter, both on second safari. Had great time, saw amazing amount of wild life, up close and relaxed. Lion pride, elephants, rhinos, buffalo, and plenty else. Only one missing was a leopard, but Grant (and Chris in the other vehicle) took us to every corner of Madikwe looking for one :) and we saw cheetahs instead. Wife took great photos, great close ups with just a bridge camera.
Team back at lodge was wonderful, food and service was exemplary.
We had the family lodge, two bedrooms with a lounge between.
The lodge is being brought up to date, which it needs to justify 5*, hence rating - should rate 5 soon.
The cooperation between the rangers from the different lodges to locate and share the big game sightings, with only 2-3 vehicles allowed close at a time, seemed to relax the animals, who never seemed to feel threatened, making our experience all the more relaxed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chuff_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Chuff
thank you very much for your visit to Rhulani , and that you have taken the time to give us feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you have made a positive experience with the teamwork of our on-site employees. Since we have taken over Rhulani some months ago, we have invested a lot of time and efforts to improve employee satisfaction at work, through incentives and staff engagement activities, which are clearly translating into an improvement of service quality to our guests.
Reading your comment, we assume that the reason for missing one point to the maximum score was the pending conclusion of some upgrades on the lodge infrastructure. It is true that this year, we have made ​​great investments both in time and financially to keep all aspects of Rhulani at the 5 star-level, which is also our current rating . Many of the works started (and will start) after suggestions we received from our guests, either directly or on tripadvisor. So, also from this perspective, many thanks for sharing your views with us, and for confirming that we are going into the right direction..
We hope that in the future, we will see you again at Rhulani and send you best regards
Rolf&Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently visited Rhulani Safari Lodge. Both of us have watched many shows on TV about African wildlife. Nothing you see on TV can compare to seeing the animals up close and personal. Our guide, Jacques, was excellent finding us so many of the animals and a source of lots of information. He even managed to find us a leopard! We went on all the game drives and each one was a unique experience. The lodge, accommodations, meals and all the staff were all top quality. We stayed in cabin #5 and rather than rest in the afternoon, watched a variety of animals come to visit the water hole. Quite an experience to watch a huge elephant walk right past your room. We would highly recommend Rhulani as a place to go if you ever visit South Africa.

Room Tip: Cabin #5 has a great view of the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Heather
We are very pleased that you have visited us from Canada, and that you entirely enjoyed your stay at Rhulani. Not surprisingly, we notice that main motivations and fascination for choosing our place was the exciting search for the animals on game drives, being in the midst of nature and wildlife, and which in your case included an elephant bull passing next to the chalet. What a wonderful experience!
While we have a lot of different things that we are optimizing every day at Rhulani, we are always aware that the quality of the game drives with professional rangers like -in your case- Jacques, and on first class, open vehicles, is a key point.
Many thanks for your kind words also regarding other aspects of Rhulani, which were to your satisfaction. We hope, that you will come back again in the future, and send you best regards
Rolf & Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We recently visited Madikwe and stayed at Rhulani. Will recommend anyone to stay there, the service is world class and Jacques was the best guide that I have ever had. We were treated and managed to see all big 5! The weather was great to view animals but the bush was very dry. This is an expensive holiday but worth it if you want to do a safari but have limited time.

Room Tip: The cabins 5,6 have a view of the watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Mr. or Ms. du Toit

Many thanks for visiting Rhulani recently. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the quality of the game drives. The combination of experienced rangers (in your case Jacques) and the well-stocked wildlife on the west side of the Madikwe Game Reserve offer a good chance to see lots of animals in a short time. We are pleased that you have been successful in finding all of the "Big 5", including the leopard, where you always need a bit of luck.

Also for us, the long dry winter period is a challenge. Our guests usually enjoy the weather stability, constant sunny days and cool dry nights, but you are right, the nature and the animals are suffering at this time. But plants will recover in summer time, and animals always find water at the dams and waterholes. A few days ago, we had our first heavy rainfall, and we would be happy if you come and visit us again in summer when nature appears in green - it looks totally different.

We wish you all the best and thank you for your Feedback!
Yours Rolf & Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Myself, my wife and two boys (aged 8 and 10) stayed for 2 nights in mid October 2013. This was the highlight of our 2 week holiday in South Africa. The location of the lodge with the adjacent watering hole was amazing and we could sit in our private plunge pool watching vast numbers of animals walking by. The interior of the lodge was also beautiful and we could not fault it in any way. The service was excellent with all staff very friendly and helpful. The food was superb with the Eland steaks we had one night being the best steaks we have ever tasted. Worthy of special mention were the game drives with Sean. His spotting ability and knowledge of the animals were fantastic and he went the extra mile to ensure that our two boys thoroughly enjoyed their first safari experience. They now both want to be rangers when they grow up! Thanks again to all at Rhulani and we hope to meet you again some time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURNETIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest

For us as owners and the whole Rhulani-Team it is a real pleasure to read your review and to obtain the highest marks in all categories. But still it makes us even happier to know that during your holidays through South Africa, the safari-experience at Rhulani was a true highlight.

In Rhulani, we have set the goal to position ourselves as a luxury, but also as a family-friendly lodge. It is sometimes not so easy to find the right balance between the high standards of quality and privacy, and at the same informality for families with children. We are pleased to read that you were completely satisfied with our way to meet your wishes. Watching the animals out of the private plunge-pool of the room, was certainly an amazing experience!

We hope you had a good return to the UK, and we are already curious to see when your children come back to South Africa for becoming rangers!

Good luck, and best regards
Yours Marisa & Rolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
1.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
348 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
573 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
419 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhulani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Property: Rhulani Safari Lodge
Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing