We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Rhulani for 3 nights and had a amazing stay. Our ranger was Grant who was fantastic and very knowledgable. We had great game drives and Grant found us everything including Black & White Rhino, 4 Cheetah brothers chilling in the sun and a thrilling close up experience with a leopard. Grant is an incredible ranger and made our holiday with his wit/humour. We stayed in room 2 which was clean and spacious. We even had a fire awaiting for us on return to the room every evening as the nights got chilly. Nothing was too much trouble. The great thing about Rhulani was the watering hole. How unforgettable to be sat eating lunch and watch herds of elephants drinking from the watering hole. All the staff were very friendly and attentive, including having hot towels on return from the game drives. We had a great and memorable stay and very much hope to go back with our children..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Rachael
Thank you very much for your visit to Rhulani and for your wonderful comment. Our manager Grant (your ranger) told us that lately one big herd of elephants visits our waterhole quite frequently, and we are jealous that we can not watch this spectacle.
A safari with so many beautiful animal sightings is of course fantastic, and we are pleased that Grant could enrich the game drives with interesting and funny comments. We are also pleased that you made best experience with our lodge and our service in the hours during the day and the chilly nights.
Rhulani is also an ideal place for families, so that we would be pleased to see you soon again with your whole family.
All the best to you, and with best regards
Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We went for a two-night stay, and had a fantastic time. Jeanette and the team at the lodge really went the extra mile to accommodate us, from general hospitality to meeting our special diet requirements. Like other reviewers, we also had an amazing time on the four game drives with our ranger, Jacques. With a combination of great experience, instincts a lot of hard work and a little luck, we manage to see every single animal we wanted to and more. Not just the 'big 5', but all 'magnificent 7' (big 5 plus cheetah and wild dogs).

We couldn't be happier, thank you to all who gave us a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaleka75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Kaleka
Now I am really impressed to read how much you and your family have seen in just two days and therefore four game drives at Rhulani. Of course you had with the great animal diversity of Madikwe Game Reserve and with Jacques as your ranger an optimal starting position. But it is in this season, where the green plants often obscure the animals, and they can not be found so easily at the dams, as there is still a lot of water everywhere. So, you were also a bit lucky!
On the other hand, we are glad ​​that also in the other aspects, which we can even better control, you made good experience, namely, the infrastructure of the lodge, the meals, and the service by our staff.
We hope, that we can welcome you at Rhulani again in the future, and I would like to send you best regards and a big "thank you" for your wonderful comment.
Marisa & Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Rhulani - it was an incredible experience. The lodge is relaxing and beautiful, the service is 5 star and the food is first class.

We would like to say a special thank you to Jacques who took us out on the safaris twice a day. He is very knowledgable about all the wildlife and so passionate about what he does. He made the holiday for us. We saw so many different animals each day from Elephants to Rhinos and wild dogs and a Leopard, but my favourite experience was seeing 2 female lions with 4 baby cubs eating on their Buffalo kill and very playful - spectacular!

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, Jeanette at front of house who always greeted us after a safari with a hot towel, Ernst at the bar. We were lucky to meet Ralph and his wife who were stating at Rhulani; they love what they do and have so much enthusiasm for their lodge.

We were sad to have to leave, but we will be going back to visit later this year. Thank you for an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Natalie
it is with great pleasure to hear back from you and be certain, that you had a spectacular 4 nights-stay with us, and that Rhulani formed part of your "amazing holiday". My wife Marisa and I very much enjoyed your presence as well, and indeed, the lion sighting on the kill with all the cubs playing around, was very special.
We would also like to especially thank you that you mentioned the passion and friendliness of our staff, starting from the interaction you had on the game drive vehicle, at our front of house or at the bar. Given that our staff literally lives at Rhulani for a great part of their life, it is important for us that they are happy with the place they work and with what they do.
Natalie, it will be a pleasure for us to see you soon back at Rhulani, and we definitely will stay in touch in the meantime.
With best regards
Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Brilliant service by staff led by Ernst, excellent hospitality extended by Jeanette and tremendous ranger tracking skills and living for his job demonstrated by Jacques. A very memorable 3 nights spent and sightings experienced in a place where we will surely return to. Attention to detail and fine finishing such as the going-away gifts received made us feel special.

Room Tip: Chalet Nr 5 with an excellent view on the drinking hole of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Willem
we like very much the title of your review, as indeed the name "Rhulani" (which means "relax"), does not fully cover all the different areas where we want to offer a first class experience to our guests. An exciting safari adventure and first class service in the lodge, in addition to the tranquility and privacy of the place, form also part of our every-day aspirations.
But what we even more like about your review, is to be certain that you had a great time with us, and that you enjoyed the little things which often is a result from the ideas from our staff. We hope that we see you soon again, and send you best regards
Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent 6 nights at Rhulani in March 2014 and regret not having booked for a longer period! The relaxation started the moment we arrived and received the warmest welcome from Jeannette, Ernst and Jacques.

The game drives Jacques took us on were some of the best we've experienced and Jacques is definitely one of the best and well-informed guides we've come across! His passion for his job is palpable and contagious! every drive was like a little adventure :-) After every game drive we were met with hot towels and some sherry (in the evenings)..a nice touch, we thought..

The accommodation (we stayed in number 5) was nice and spacious, with our own private deck and splash pool.. We really appreciated the "small things" like the nightly nougat and bed-time stories left for us as part of their turn-down service.

We enjoyed every meal and appreciate the thought that goes into their menus in order to keep it interesting for their guests. Some of our favourites were the Oxtail stew, the Rack of Lamb and the Kingklip.

They have a good selection of wines at surprisingly good prices...

As this was our honeymoon we were treated to a private, candle-lit dinner on our deck on our last night there and spoilt with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a lovely gift to take home and remind us of our time there.

We had such a relaxing stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a VERY comfortable bush-break, good food, good wine, good & friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Elmari
it is with great pleasure that we receive your lines after your visit to Rhulani. In our small, private lodge, every guest is very special, but your visit was in view of the occasion (honeymoon) and the duration (6 nights) even more special for us.
With a special satisfaction we read that you enjoyed the small "we care touches". Those are not always imposed by us as the owners, but often suggested from our staff, like the bedtime stories, for example. It gives us the feeling that our staff is also happy with what they are doing.
It is just wonderful that in addition to the relaxing time at the lodge our ranger Jacques could provide the right portion of adventure during the game drives, so you achieved the perfect balance for your special holiday.
We wish you both a happy married life and thank you for the visit to Rhulani and your wonderful comment.
Yours Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

While visiting our family stationed in Pretoria, we went on a three day safari to the Madikwe Game Reserve and stayed at the Rhulani Safari Lodge. An outstanding experience for the whole family - twice daily excursions into the bush led by the Lodge Manager Grant whose expertise and knowledge of the animal kingdom is phenomenal. We saw at close range all the animals on the reserve with the exception of the elusive leopard who chose not to show itself!!

We had a family lodge which was great with enough space to spread out; meals prepared by two inventive chefs; and, a good bar and wine selection. One was met by attentive staff with hot towels and drinks after very excursion as well as enjoyed sun downers/mid-morning refreshments toward the end of each foray. What else can one ask for?

A special treat was provided by the owners (Brazilians who visit five times a year) - champagne cups to celebrate the anniversary to the day of their purchase of this property. An experience to be remembered a long time.

Room Tip: Though pricey, it is very much worth it for this experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolfSteiner, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for traveling with your whole family for a few days to Rhulani and that you send us via TripAdvisor such a wonderful feedback. You touch different aspects, and reading through your lines, we get the impression that you and your family made a pleasant all-round experience, ranging from interesting game drives to relaxing hours at the lodge with fine dining. This makes us happy, as at Rhulani it is our ambition to offer a balance between excitement and relaxation, and between quality and comfort.

We remember your visit, and especially the interesting discussions on the vehicle, and during this long evening at the bar, with lots of stories, where we all forgot the time and went to sleep very late. We hope that you have safely returned home, and maybe next time you visit your son and grandchild in Johannesburg, you will visit us again? Would be nice to keep in contact.

With best regards
Yours Marisa & Rolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent 3 nights at Rhulani in February of 2014. it was a wonderful experience. Our driver was Jacque. He was well informed about all the wildlife and birdlife, worked really hard to find the animals and get us into a good position without bothering the wildlife. All the staff worked well together, and the guides shared wildlife encounter opportunities without crowding the wildlife. We saw all the important animals that we had hoped to see. I would go back here and highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Durangotraveler33397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhulani S, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest
thank you very much for staying with us at Rhulani, and that you delight us with such a wonderful feedback.
The encounter with the wildlife indeed has many components, and it is not just about rushing through the bush and finding as many animals as quickly as possible. We always hope to offer our guests an unforgettable experience with nature, to find the wildlife in situations that can be enjoyed in a relaxed way, and to make sure that also the animals are not exposed to stress by us. To achieve all these goals, it is essential for us that we have rangers like Jacques, who love the bush more than anything.
We hope that we will see you back at Rhulani in the future, and are sure that the encounter with animals will again be unique.
Yours Rolf & Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
1.0 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
364 reviews
10.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
489 reviews
13.3 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
204 reviews
10.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
437 reviews
3.3 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhulani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £605 - £1,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing