We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great green chili cheeseburger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse

Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great green chili cheeseburger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Who cares if it's "not the best" (tho I think it is)..... it is really darn good and worth the drive. On a cold night with the wind whipping, it warmed the belly and the soul like a hot stove. I eat here whenever I'm in San Antonio, and have been known to make it there just as a special trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    85
    39
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comparing it to the Buckhorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Went here two nights .. you could taste the burger ... it as not overwhelmed by the green chili ... second night sirloins were excellent ... good service .. including the owners were out cleaning tables and waiting on folks

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnMaryMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
197 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Green Chile Cheeseburger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I travel all over New Mexico for business. I am on the permanent search for the best green chile cheeseburger. Well, I found it. here at the Owl. I had a client that recommended it over a site across the street. The other place has had more publicity. BUT, if you want the real deal, go to the Owl. Nothing beats the burger with fries and a beer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Green Chile Cheese Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great burgers, Try the Green Chile Cheese burger. Cons - Smoking is allowed and bar is attached. No Maults. Good Burgers very near Bosque Del Apache Wildlife refuge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimminnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun and good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Been there during my summer coast-to-coast journey.
We were leading to Santa Fe and very hungry so we decide to stop in this queer bar suggested by our Lonely Planet. So we had the famed green chili cheeseburger and it was really good, not superb but ok! It was funny to pin up a dollar on the wall, the maid was gentle and king. If you are on the way to Albuquerque or Juarez it's a good place to take a stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ViC214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing