We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just 3 miles off Route 66”
Review of Blue Hole

Blue Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular scuba diving spot in an artisan-fed quarry that measures approximately 60 feet in diameter and 80 feet in depth.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just 3 miles off Route 66”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a real find - an 80ft sinkhole well filled with the bluest, clearest, coolest water. Great for jumping off the rocky ledge on a hot day. Very busy but worth the trip. They charge $5 to park but if you only intend to stop for a look and a few pictures they don't charge. Beware though the water is very very cold - refreshing on a hot day though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    178
    49
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worth it!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Jumping into the Blue Hole at Santa Rosa was scary but so much fun! It was very crowded because of the heat and the SCUBA divers there, but it was awesome! Don't miss the opportunity to dive into the crystal blue waters of the Blue Hole!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watery hole in the middle of the desert”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Fun place to go to for a couple hours to cool off. Sometimes there are life guards on duty, and sometimes not. You can free dive and scuba here (with gear and permit). People jump off the 10-15 foot ledge into the hole. There is also a visitor center there with tourist info.

Helpful?
2 Thank christypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's a swimming hole… and right in town!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The "Blue Hole" is stunning: Caribbean blue fresh water gushing out in the middle of the dusty, dry desert. I found it a few blocks from my hotel in town, with a busload of kids swimming in it (brrrrr!). I had pictured an isolated feature out in the middle of nowhere, but this serves as a swimming hole for tourists and townsfolk. It is miraculous, and VERY easy to swing off the I40 and see it. Jump in if you're hardy. No charge!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank agouraserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited August 2014. The Blue Hole is one of those things I have heard about for many years and finally decided to stop and have a look on the way to Santa Fe. We did have to pay $5 for parking. I am not sure if this was because it was a weekend or if it is a daily fee. We only spent about 20 minutes walking around it. The water is crystal clear! It is not very big at all which surprised me. You can swim in it and people were doing so that day. Scuba divers were also preparing for a dive. Quite popular with the divers from what I have heard.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KatzTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Hole also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing