We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Route 66 Nostalgia”

Joseph's Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Route 66 Nostalgia”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was just like coming off old Route 66 in the early days. Good food reasonably priced, great atmosphere, and friendly staff. Our dinners were completely individually prepared with care and not out of a can. They had a neat curio shop as well. They went out of their way to provide a really enjoyable stop!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill D47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    142
    70
    32
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maumelle, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Route 66 all the way!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a wonderful spot to "set a spell" enjoying the music and feeling of the location. Then the food - very good, homestyle and home-tasting. Certainly come on in to Joseph's if you are on a Rt 66 journey or just wish that you were.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best Carne Adovada Burrito”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stopped here after scuba at the Blue Hole. The decor ain't great but good for Santa Rosa. I was very impressed with the carne adovada burrito, particularly the red sauce (red chile if you want to call it that but not really). Great spiciness and very tasty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wernickejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Burritos”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stop here every time we're in the area. It's a fun "roadside attraction." The food and drinks are great, the staff are friendly and helpful. Great souvenir shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 126Teddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Far Below Average”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The front desk clerk at our hotel suggested Joseph's for good Mexican food and I regret we took her advice. We waited for about 15 minutes to be seated after someone finally acknowledged our presence and looked through the junk shop located in the same building while we waited. They stocked the average run of the mill Route 66 souvenirs, but I noticed most of it was old and dusty. That should have been my first clue to get out while the getting was good. After being seated we served chips and salsa then ordered green chili chicken enchiladas. The chips and hot sauce were fairly good, but were promptly removed when we finished the basket of chips. No offer of more chips or salsa. I won’t say the enchiladas were bad, but they certainly were not good. However, the beans are rice were horrible. I’ve never eaten dehydrated refried beans, but I feel sure that is what is severed at Joseph‘s. They were so dry adding hot sauce didn’t even help. The rice must have been straight out of a can, soft and soupy and nothing like Mexican rice. Niether the bean or rice were worth eating. On a bright note the sopapillas were good. We also received a coupon for a free Margarita sampler from the bar at Joseph’s. We received samples of their house Margarita (passable), a blue Curacao mixture (also passable) and a banana Margarita (weird and tasted strongly of fake banana, pretty nasty). We noticed that although we had to wait for a seat the place was not even close to being full. The waitress was disinterested, we almost had to beg for drink refills, and we saw her lurking in the kitchen while we waited for our check. She never returned with the check so we finally walked to the disinterested cashier (who might have also been the owner or manager) paid for our meal, without leaving a tip and was glad to be gone. Skip this one, there has to be something better in Santa Rosa.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CowtownNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joseph's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing