We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tad pricey - but great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a nice hotel. I found it a bit overpriced, but I think it might be one of the better hotels in Socorro and I didn’t have much choice. The lobby was very nice, and the girl checking me in was wonderful. My room was big and had a frig and microwave. The bed was very comfortable, with clean sheets (a must for me). FANTASTIC BATHROOM - I loved it – very large, with a large space where the sink is. One thing about Holiday Inn, and I have mentioned this before, they have the BEST shower curtains; they are cloth and not those plastic kind that start to smell after a while.

Great breakfast in the mornings – you can’t beat an HI breakfast. The breakfast area was big and clean.

Free wi-fi and free parking. I had to park around the back and it was a little dark back there, but the hotel was full and there was no parking in front. There are a lot of restaurants, gas stations, etc., very close by - even a Walmart.

Why the 4 stars instead of 5, you ask? That's because I found it a tad overpriced. But, other than that, I have nothing to complain about. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed her one night while we were en route from Albuquerque to Roswell. We got in early and Amaiya was on duty and assisted us with an early check-in. She was also very helpful with directions to the Very Large Array and the Apache Del Bosque Wildlife Refuge. We appreicated her information and also info on local dining options. The room was fine, with a refrigerator and microwave. It seemed a bit more expensive than other Holiday Inns of this calibre, but I think it may be due to the few options in the area. I would also note that the winds get very strong in New Mexico, so our window whistled quite a bit, but I just stuffed it with some extra bath towels, so we got a good nights rest. Overall, I would say the facility is average, but due to the excellent service from their employee, I gave them a higher rating.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a room with a view....it isn't that impressive of a view. However, the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with apparently kind employees. I stayed here one night while in town on business. I arrived in town at about 7:30pm. I appreciated how there was snacks available for me at that time in the evening. The room was clean except for a few minor stains on the carpet. In spite of that, the price you pay is over priced for the quality you receive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Friendly staff, clean room, good beds, decent breakfast, fairly reliable free wi-fi (disconnected once). I particularly like the very heavy sound-proof doors that eliminate annoying hallway noises from other guests. Conveniently close to I-25 and a few buildings down from the Socorro Springs Brewing Company.

Snacks available in the evening (5 - 7? - forget the hours) in the breakfast room - cookies, goldfish crackers, chips, etc. - my husband particularly appreciates hotels that provide cookies.

The less than perfect? Soap trays in shower/bath in room 226 have broken off and not been replaced.

Also, one needs three hands to serve oneself biscuits and gravy - one to hold one's plate (there's no counter space to put a plate down on), one to hold the sneeze-guard up, and one to pick up the biscuit and dish up the gravy. There's no way to secure the sneeze-guard in an open position.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wibbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We travel often and have avoided Holiday Inns because we found they had solid frame(platform) bedframes that would not accomodate our underbed wheelchair lift. When calling ahead on our trip through Socorro we called the top 4 Tripadvisor rated hotels in town and none could accomodate us except The Holiday Inn Express. Desk personell personally checked room and confirmed a regular frame bed. On arrival Ann Marie told us Holiday Inn had all accessible room beds converted back from solid frames to regular bedframes. Thank you Hoilday Inn! You are now on our list! P.S. we decided to stay 2 days instead on 1.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToxeyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

When you book a chain hotel you know in general what to expect, the variable is often the srevice. I was upgraded to a suite, and as I was alone this provided me with the luxury of a couch and a well-lit table and chairs. There was also a microwave and refrigerator, which I suspect is tandard to every room. These rooms do not have reading lights and the bed lamp must be jury rigged to read comfortably in bed.

I only stayed one night, but the pool looked inviting and the exercise facilities up to date. The breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn rubber eggs, cereal, toast etc. Unfortunately FOX news was on in the breakfast room, but was promptly turned off when I asked. In my opinion only local news or neutral stations should be on in a public space.

Because I was in a hurry to get to an early morning field trip, I left my jacket w/ 40$ in the pocket. I called, and they held it for me 'til later in the day. The 40$ was still in the pocket. Kudos to the staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemswinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Delivers what you expect from a HIE. Room comfortable and spotlessely clean, Staff polite, friendly and efficient. Standard Holiday Inn breakfast often available way before stated breakfast time. Nice for birders who want to get to the refuge before sunrise.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Socorro hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Socorro
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Socorro
Days Inn Socorro
#8 of 10 in Socorro
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Socorro Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Socorro
Super 8 Socorro
#6 of 10 in Socorro
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1040 N California St, Socorro, NM 87801-4268
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Socorro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Price Range: £99 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Socorro Hotel near New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology.Business travelers will be pleased that our Socorro, NM hotel's convenient location provides easy access to a number of corporate groups such as BBS, United Mineral, Viva Motors, Allied Research, Dicaperl Minerals and the Macey Center. We offer a well-equipped meeting room, as well.Ideally located near historic downtown Socorro, NM, the Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from the area's Municipal Airport and the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, as well as a variety of exciting local sites.Guests of our comfortable Socorro accommodations can relax and enjoy local attractions such as historic downtown Socorro, the San Miguel Mission, the Hammel Museum, Bosque del Apache Wildlife Refuge, El Camino Real Heritage Center and the Mineral Museum. Visitors can spend an afternoon rock-climbing or hiking at Box Canyon and Water Canyon or golfing at the championship-level New Mexico Tech Golf Course.During your visit to Socorro, NM, take advantage of our free high-speed, wireless Internet access, well-equipped fitness center, spectacular indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour business center, on-site self-laundry facilities and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Be sure to check out our friendly Socorro hotel's excellent deals and rates while planning for your trip to beautiful New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Socorro
Holiday Inn Express Socorro
Holiday Inn Socorro
Socorro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing