We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Restaurant with Tasty Eats”
Review of Gutiz

Gutiz
Ranked #10 of 130 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: French, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Description: A favorite among locals and tourists alike, Gutiz serves creative Latin-French cuisine at affordable prices.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly Restaurant with Tasty Eats”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Visited Gutiz for lunch during a recent day trip to Taos. Took our new dog Bentley and sat at the outdoor patio area. It was a beautiful day and Bentley was welcomed and received a bowl of fresh water. The menu was extensive and each entree was marked if gluten free, could be made gluten free, and if it was vegetarian. I had the Roasted Beet Salad which was tasty. Other entrees ordered also very good. Prices reasonable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueTurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    75
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allen,Tx
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfeast or Lunch”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We agree with the majority of tripadvisors. Gutiz is good place to eat. moderatly priced for the area
During our stay in Taos ;we must have eaten there at least 4 times;all was good.The wait staff is
friendly. I would say that food was more Latin than French. The Paella was very good. If you do order
the paella I would call them 30 min ahead inorder to give them a heads up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcduff63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I will never go near this over priced, poor service, bad food again. Their is nothing French about this place. If you want to be dissatisfied and have terrible service this is the place for you! You know it's going to be bad if the waitress drops the food off and does not return. She seemed to want to help the other table of locals. Never thanked us or check out to see how we where doing, and was rude. Bad experience, terrible service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spiritwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Taos”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very tasty French Toast. Loved that you can get half orders of many of their menu items like the French Toast and Eggs Benedict. Wonderful coffee and freshly baked breads. Plenty of gluten free options.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Go French or Go Home”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After reading the sparkling reviews of the French Toast here (and after enduring several less-than-stellar breakfasts at other Taos eateries), the hubster and I had to give it a try. Rather than do double toasts, we flipped a coin for one French Toast and one something else. Hubster got the toast, I got the something else, which turned out to be scrambled egg, bacon, too-garlicky home fries and salad. Big mistake, darn it. The toast is the star. It is the perfect combination of chewy and soft, sweet and savory;it is lick-the-plate delicious. Take your significant other to breakfast and do yourselves a favor-get TWO orders of the French Toast. Bon Appetit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelswithmutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gutiz also viewed

 

Been to Gutiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing