We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not the best”
Review of 5 Star Burgers

5 Star Burgers
Ranked #15 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner
Description: "Best Burger in New Mexico" - USA Today. 5 Star serves hormone and antibiotic free Angus beef from Creekstone Farms, fresh ground daily and char grilled to desired temperature. We also offer specialty salads and sandwiches complimented by a great selection of beer and wine. Vegetarian and gluten-free options are available. Happy Hour food and drink specials 4-6 pm daily. Locally sourced produce and environmentally friendly packaging. Children's Menu.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent but not the best”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We went because of the ranking and to compare to Taos Brewry. Fivestar is good but doesn't compare to the Brewery burgers. They are good burgers though. Service is friendly but slow.

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Five S, Manager at 5 Star Burgers, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi Kate M.,
Thank you for your review. We obviously need to work harder if we want to be the best, and not just decent. Sorry the service was slow. We do appreciate your feedback so that we know what we need to work on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    114
    46
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good burgers and local beer!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been to this place several times now. We go at least once when we stay in Taos. Last times we actually went twice and it was double the tastiness. The local beer (from New Mexico) can't remember the names but pretty good beer, my fav was the darkest one they offer just perfect for winter. Happy hour is really good prince for same delicious food! I look forward to eat here again!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Five S, Manager at 5 Star Burgers, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Carlos B.,
We really appreciate the great review! We're flattered that you keep coming back and look forward to seeing you again in Taos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 Star Burgers lives up to its name!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We chose 5 Star Burgers based on the fantastic reviews on Trip advisor and we were not disappointed! They are a bit more in the $$ department but well worth the visit. The burgers are huge and super yummy! My husband had the chicken sandwich and thought it was great! We ordered 4 burgers, a chicken sandwich, sides of fried green beans, onion rings and a lg fry and got out with a $65 bill for 6 people with leftovers. We would definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank Shelcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Five S, Manager at 5 Star Burgers, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Shelcole,
Thanks so much for the review! We're glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit to 5 Star Burgers. We really appreciate you coming in and giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best burgers”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

These were the best burgers we have eaten in Taos. Excellent service. The sweet potato fries were yummy. Highly recommend but lunch hours are crowded but service is fast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Five S, Manager at 5 Star Burgers, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi Vicki B,
Thanks so much for the great review! We're really happy that you enjoyed the food and felt taken care of by the staff. Thanks for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisac, Peru
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great prices”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The food is great. Even if you don't eat the hamburgers they have awesome salads. Happy hour is good too with cold beer and lower food prices. And...where can you get an ice cream cone for just a dollar anywhere else. Perfect amount of ice cream for children and adults ; 0

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pisac Inn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Five S, Manager at 5 Star Burgers, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Pisac Inn H.,

Thanks for the review! Hard not to like $1 ice cream cones, right? We're glad you came to visit and we hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 5 Star Burgers also viewed

 

Been to 5 Star Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing