We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor security”
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor security”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The place would have been ideal except for our room being robbed. The management refuses to return any call or emails about it even though they claim to have security video. We think someone with a key entered but the locks are only simple passkey anyway. We do not recommend this place. A pity since we had our wedding here and it happened the day after.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumsIdaho, General Manager at El Pueblo Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear valued guest: I apologize for the several days delay in getting back to you, as I was waiting to hear back from 3rd parties I hope you have received my emails and phone messages. In no way does that reflect how sorry we are about this unfortunate incident that happened during your stay at El Pueblo. I am familiar how to "work " the cameras, as you had watched part of the tape with me, However there was no evidence of anyone entering your room, other than yourselves. At your request, we did not call authorities. It is an extremely unfortunate situation and again, we wholeheartedly apologize and hope the compensation offered is a satisfactory resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    392
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
305
596
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very Friendly beautiful hotel, staff was fantastic, room was great, breakfast was great!! We would definable stay again. We stayed there there on our way to the Memorial Day Bike Run. Biker Friendly and Beautiful Area to hang out and enjoy the scenery.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger of the Double Bed Rooms with the back patio. Great View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosLovatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of us stayed at The El Pueblo Lodge for New Year in 2012. The staff could not be more friendly, and the lodge more comfortable. Breakfast, even though classed as Continental was substantial, with plenty of hot coffee and tea on the go all day. The fire was always lit and welcoming, especially after a cold day on the mountain.

This facility is extremely dog friendly, which made it even more appealing to me. The house pups roamed freely and socialized with guests of the two and four-legged kind.

We were lucky enough to have a room with a large wood burning fireplace, which made for a cosy New Year's eve gathering with a few friends from the group.

I'd highly recommend this lodge, and would love to stop by again.

Room Tip: If traveling in winter, ask for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie6930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently spent two nights in Taos, and this was my second visit to El Pueblo. The first was about a year and a half ago, but when I walked into the lobby, the receptionist recognized me! I was very impressed, but not surprised. The reason I had returned was because the first stay had been so pleasant. The next morning in the breakfast area, the friendly hostess ALSO remembered my previous visit. I felt right at home here, the staff is so welcoming and helpful. In addition to the wonderful atmosphere, the location is just a short walk from the Plaza, so there is no need to use your car if you'd rather stroll and take in the shops and galleries at you own pace. Plus the north side of town is close to some of our favorite restaurants. It doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This place was wonderful! Staff very friendly and helpful with any request. When we opened the door to our room were shocked at how nice it was. It was really decorated well and most important the beds were so comfortable which is most important to me. The rate was pleasing too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crane, Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here while passing through for my work. Enjoyed the hotel and the service was outstanding. Our room showed some signs of wear but overall was pleased. Would have been great to have a larger bathroom. Fireplace in the room with firewood re-stocked daily was nice. Hot tub is HOT, not luke-warm like a lot of hotels. Pool was not opened yet during our stay. Fitness room is sparse with only a clunky elliptical, a treadmill and a bow flex type of machine. Breakfast was good with nice patio seating. Room is large enough and overall was well pleased. Beds are comfortable with heavy, luxury bedding. Was a little cold for us to enjoy it but the property has a lot of outside seating areas to enjoy as well. If you want a luxury hotel type stay, this is not the place. If you want a quiet, friendly, quaint experience then give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the property might be a little quieter since they are away from the street but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okiecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Clean, comfortable, friendly helpful staff. We highly recommend this because of the location. We walked to all the shops after dinner so we were able to go back to certain ones the next morning without wasting valuable time.

Room Tip: Ours was remodeled. Be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,160 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
598 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Property: El Pueblo Lodge
Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel
El Pueblo Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing