We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel in Taos”
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was cute, clean and we loved the Mexican flare in the design. Staff was friendly as well. We had our 14 month old with us and had plenty of room for his pack-n-play as well. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
There are newer reviews for El Pueblo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The El Pueblo Lodge is a first rate stop off to see something of Taos. It is but a 10 min walk from Taos centre and well positioned in the area. The present management team have struck a great balance between informality and a well ordered operation, and it works. Based on a traditional motel refurbished as a hotel in the 20th century style, the Lodge has real character. The staff are welcoming, the complimentary breakfast is good and there is a well appointed pool as well as BBQ areas. The gardens have been well done, providing generous and welcome sitting out areas. If we had any criticism it would be that the motel heritage of the property shows a bit: the soundproofing in our room, which was on the upper floor of one of the former motel blocks, could have been better. (There are two of these blocks where this might apply, as well as some single storey rooms which looked as if they might not suffer from this). Possibly those who do not care for character should be cautious: this is no chain motel. But, we thought it was great and much enjoyed our stay - strongly recommended as the best stop off in Taos!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scliff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at the El Pueblo Lodge. The room was very comfortable and clean and the price was very reasonable. The staff was so friendly and I felt like they really cared that we enjoyed our visit. Loved their breakfast - one of the best continental breakfasts that we've encountered in our trips around the USA. They also display art made by local artisans. My husband liked the Kokopelli metal wall art and ended up with an early Father's Day gift. The location is great - easy to drive or walk to dining and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Not a good stay. Dated rooms which would have been ok if they were clean. Just overall unsatisfied and front desk didn't seem to care when I voiced my opinion. Maybe nice for some but won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQSFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumsIdaho, General Manager at El Pueblo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I apologize that you did not find your stay comfortable and enjoyable. It is always our goal to assure that all of our guests have a memorable stay. If we fell short in certain areas such as housekeeping, if the matter had been brought to our attention during your stay, i assure you, we would have addressed the issue immediately. We have done extensive renovations, our housekeeping staff is top notch and our front desk staff are caring and attentive to all of our guests. I'm sorry you felt your stay was overall unsatisfactory. We appreciate your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our favorite hotel in our recent 3-week southwestern trip. Our room was large and decorated with southwestern rugs, wall hangings, and painted furniture. The room was very clean and well kept. There are courtyards on the exterior, and they serve a great breakfast. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the older section of Taos. Employees are helpful. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripperatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Completely happy w/our visit! Loved the retro charm w/updated rooms. Comfortable and within walking distance to town center. Our morning breakfast was especially great!!!! Staff especially friendly & helpful. No question ~ would rebook for next vacation!

Room Tip: Room near highway quiet w/ac running. Suggested restaurant ORLANDO'S so~so. Make sure to tour FE...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555Karol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in Room 103 with two queen beds. Loved the large space and was delighted to see two luggage racks. Most hotels only provide one. At first, we didn't appreciate the front desk clerk who was on the phone when we walked in to register. She did acknowledge us, but kept talking to a friend or someone. This was not a business call so it was a bit rude. She finally put the person on hold and quickly gave us the keys so she could get back to her conversation. Oh well. We enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub and visiting with other guests. The location is great for a short walk to the plaza and a number of restaurants. The addition of hard-boiled eggs to the standard continental breakfast was appreciated. A very cheerful staff person came around to refill our coffee cups.

Room Tip: Room 103 is in the south building and has a small table and chairs in front.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,182 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel
El Pueblo Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing