We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise recommendation”
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A surprise recommendation”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our wilderness guide Stuart Wilde recommend we stay here, and it was an amazing find. I wished we had more time - It was where we stayed to clean up following 3 days backpacking in the wilderness, so the shower was extra wonderful, the beds extra soft, but the walls a bit thin - Which probably wouldn't have been an issue had there not been a sleepless crying baby next door. The courtyard area was gorgeous, and this hotel while not in the heart of Taos is definitely within walking distance. Had we not already committed to breakfast at Michael's Kitchen, we would have been satisfied with the breakfast and view options here. The early morning availability of coffee was an added bonus! A great delight!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adventuresome4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    398
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
311
601
55
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Veta, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I live in Southern Co. Taos is a short 2 hr. drive and we needed to just get away for
a few days and not do anything. El Pueblo seemed to be the answer and boy were we right
It's the kind of place with the beautiful grounds that you can just sit and watch the world go by
and be content, huge cottonwoods, picnic tables, barbecue area, I could live here! The free
breakfast was fairly typical in variety, it all tasted fresh, what kicked it up 10 notches was the lady
that handled the breakfast, that woman knows how to treat people and certainly deserves mention, I believe her name is Lupita, She's a reason on her own to return. Our room was an older building that housed the casita's, the room with an excellent king bed was small with no seating possibilities for TV viewing other than the bed, but it's Taos in the summer!!! All the staff
were very friendly and not afraid to speak with you. I guess for me I could sit here and critique every little thing, but the bottom line is I'd go back just cause I felt good there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Old style motel, but amazing inside! Quiet, clean and lovely decorations. Very close to downtown Taos. I would recommend this to everyone and would stay here again if I were in Taos. The breakfast was nice also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is a very nice, clean, comfortable, centrally located place to stay. It is obviously an older building but the rooms are modern and well kept; you don't walk in the door thinking "old place, new furniture". The decor is very fitting in Taos, the bed comfortable, and lots of space. The bathroom is lovely with places to set toiletries and a nice shower. This will be our first choice when coming to Taos.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with one queen bed so had a nice chair with ottoman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Been to Taos many times and always stay at El Pueblo. Wonderful rooms, comfy beds and such a warm and welcoming staff, it's like "coming home" each and every time. This particular trip I was traveling with my granddaughter who became ill late one evening. The gentleman at front desk was so helpful giving me directions to emergency room at hospital and the next day we were told it was no problem to have a late check-out so that my granddaughter had a little more time to recuperate. Can't thank everyone enough for being to sweet and helpful. Wonderful peaceful place to stay in Taos, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooddbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stopped for one one night on our way to Cannon AFB. We had a lovely pet friendly room which opened to a courtyard in the back and had a fireplace.
Staff was so friendly. The room was beautiful, large and clean. Breakfast was fabulous the next morning. It was cold and rainy but we ate on the covered patio anyway. Dishes were real and the service was excellent.
I was sad to leave but will hopefully return someday for a weekend getaway without the kids!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Taos visitor center sent me when I asked bout lodging and said I didn't want to spend $150 a night. great recommendation ( and thank u visitors center). big quiet campus, lots of lawn, scattered tables/ chairs, pool, quick check in, beautiful rooms ( had twin queen), pretty, close to everything, quiet, good breakfast, I don't need to say more.....

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ron e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,166 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
614 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Property: El Pueblo Lodge
Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel
El Pueblo Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing