We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July 30, 2014 adorable motel!”
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“July 30, 2014 adorable motel!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very cute place in downtown Taos a few blocks from plaza. Fully remodeled bathrooms. Mexican decor and theme which is charming.
Hearty breakfast on lush patio. Helpful and friendly staff
Would definitely return
Afternoon warm cookies to boot

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank My W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    391
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
302
587
53
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The photos of the room made it look better than it was in reality. It was clean but had an odd feel due mostly, I think, to poor lighting and space design. But other than that, the beds were very clean and comfortable. The pool was very nice and the hot tub excellent and clean. Best of all was the breakfast. It had what all the standard continental breakfasts had plus gluten free options, healthy options, a generous bowl full of fresh almonds, granola, fresh cut fruit and more. The staff was very nice and ready to help with any problems. I didn't see the beautiful lawn behind the breakfast area until the morning but it would have been big enough to play frisbee. For the price, I think this is a very good stay.

Room Tip: I was near road in room 101, would choose elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderArtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitou Springs CO
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have been staying here for 30 years. The location is very good and the grounds are wonderful. We always stay in building on the west side. This time we were shocked to find that the room next to us had three dogs and four adults and one young child (not sure if all 5 were in that room or two rooms). The dogs were small yippy dogs. The room below us had a large dog, but it was quiet. Never seen dogs that in that building before. My husband complained to Jade (manager), as we didn't want to listen to the dogs. Jade was very helpful. She explained that dogs are usually confined to one building and limited to one area. However if people check in without disclosing dogs on their reservation they will still accomadate them in other rooms if the dog rooms are full. Also it sounds like people check in without disclosing they have dogs, which sound like what happened next to us. She let us move to another room that did not have dogs next door. She was very helpful and went out of her way to accomadate us. The room was clean and the beds are great. The service in the kitchen is provided by Loopy, she does a great job and makes sure you have everything you need. Great customer service at the front desk (Jade) and fro breakfast (Loopy).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in this accommodation during the Taos Pow Wow (July 2014). The location is good for the Pueblo and the historic plaza. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool and grounds are clean and nicely kept. Sadly, the rooms are not. We had dead moths and mold in the shower upon check in and after our first night. They did not clean the shower thoroughly until requested. I have a mild allergy problem which typically goes away after I leave a dirty room. In this case, my eyes were swollen for my entire stay. Lastly, the breakfast is continental with mostly frozen baked goods, cold cereal, yogurt and fruit (there isn't much + in it).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumsIdaho, General Manager at El Pueblo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I am happy you found the staff friendly and helpful, as well as the grounds clean and well kept. I apologize for the lapse in our normally high standard of care in housekeeping and maintenance. The issues were addressed as soon as i became aware of the problem. The shower was cleaned and the discolored caulking has been removed and replaced. I'm also sorry you were disappointed with our large and extensive continental breakfast which includes, coffee, teas, juices, bagels, muffins variety breads, plain and flavored yogurt, waffles, donuts, pastries, cold cereal, hot cereal, granola, nuts, hard boiled eggs, bananas, grapefruit, fruit salad and gluten free goodies from a local bakery. I hope the issue was resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you for your feed back, as this always helps us to continue to improve and strive for the best lodging experience for our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Taos. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the Plaza. The pool area is clean and inviting and you can throw horseshoes behind the breakfast area. Talking about breakfast: this is certainly one of the highlights, run by service-minded Lupita.
Our rooms were a bit dark but that is due to the period architecture of this authentic motel. Would return to PL with pleasure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Watching_the_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, OK, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were delighted with the 1950's motor court character of this place. Comfortable beds, friendly staff and walking distance to the Plaza made for a relaxing stay while exploring Taos. We enjoyed the outside patio area every morning while sipping our coffee and having a light breakfast provided.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second city in our three city southwest tour. Soooo happy we chose El Pueblo for our Taos stay. It was perfect!!! The beds were the bomb!!! Best I slept on entire trip!! The breakfast was yummy too. The service wonderful. The location was super convenient! Very charming property and grounds. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Property: El Pueblo Lodge
Address: 412 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5906
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel
El Pueblo Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing