We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We just returned from a week in Taos. The Old Historic Taos Inn is our favorite place to stay. The Helen House is the best! We had an awesome time. Doc Martin's is excellent food. Fun, fun, and more fun.

Room Tip: The Helen House is our favorite and then the courtyard. Wouldn't recommend the Sandoval House or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed one night here and arrived just in time to see a great jazz trio playing and catch the kitchen before it closed. The slice was " laid back", but good enough. I ordered the El Ultima margarita and it was fabulous: just fresh squeezed lime, tequila and agave nectar. We ordered salmon with chipotle and chicken enchiladas with green chile and both dishes were absolutely delicious.

Our room was clean and nicely decorated with local Taos style furniture and artwork. It also sported a gas fireplace as well. In the morning, we enjoyed complimentary organic peruvian coffee in the library room. They were even nice enough to let us check out an hour late. The only nit to pick is there was no wifi in our room. We were in room 401 in the back side. All in all, we love this place and would highly recommend it to anyone. We will certainly stay here on our next visit.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank riosalsero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stopped in to the lounge at the Taos Inn for a drink & some guac. Nice, casual atmosphere, easy to pop in quickly and the food was great. They have a large selection of margaritas so if you want to try some interesting varieties, give this place a try!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

We did not stay at this hotel, but ate next door at Doc Martins (which was very good). The bar at the Taos Onn was packed. There was a very good band playing on this sat night. I would recommend seeking this place out on a weekend night. This is a 45+ crowd, some dancing, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebruckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed here for two nights while on an organized bicycle trip through New Mexico. The rooms are all different - but I think all have fireplaces (we didn't need one while we were there) and really comfortable beds. The staff was wonderful, and the happy hour is very popular. It's right off the Plaza and not too far from the Taos Pueblo. Loved the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_Traveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Historic Taos Inn is an essential stop for a vacation to Taos. We had a fantastic lunch of authentic New Mexican cuisine in the immaculate grounds of the hotel. It is apparent that the staff is intentional about preserving the feeling people seek when traveling to Taos, NM.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Butler_Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Above average/great: location, fastidious cleanliness, colonial ambience, quiet, restful bed, evening floor shows--the flamenco gruop was impressive!

So-So: they have no vending machines, no water fountains for drinking, one must get ice at the bar, and its definitely not a place children would like. There is no convenience store close by altho McD was about 4 easy blocks on foot.

Below expectations: no coffee machine in rooms, front desk personnel not always helpful, Doc Martin restaurant overpriced & hohum, no free breakfast (given room price, there should have been), and the web site says free wifi in rooms "but not in the 200's" where my room was. And it's not true wifi, you need a phone cord. You can connect in the noisy lobby--there are a couple of electrical points but the only good time for this was early when they were running the vacuums. In late afternoon it is crowded with guests

The AC was noisy & they didnt show me the controls.

The heater in the bathrm woulldnt turn off & the temp in there became too hot. They fixed it but it happened again

Don't miss the Millicent Rogers Museum!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the staff & storage areas, they are noisy starting at 6 am. Also i d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#4 of 15 in Taos
652 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £75 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos
The Historic Taos Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing