We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Monte Sagrado(Taos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,396)
Filter reviews
1,396 results
Traveller rating
675
464
160
67
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
464
160
67
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadobe barlive musicdoc martinshelen's housenightly entertainmentmain buildingcourtyard roomgreat musicnew mexicowithin walking distancecentral locationmiddle of townhistoric taoskit carsonkiva fireplaceart galleriesadobe walls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,194 - 1,199 of 1,396 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

No breafast at the hotel, the hotel's restaurant or nearby. TV was very old and very small. Pillows were very "flat". Windows only had blinds which allowed morning light. No tub and shower had no full enclosure thereby allowing water to be all over the toilet area floor. Mirror in bath area was very small and hung to low. Luggage had to be carried as no other alternative. Toilet area was very small and poorly designed. The one good thing was Doc Martin's restaurant where we had dinner. Overrated and over priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HammerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear HammerTX - I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations in terms of interior amenities. Several of your complaints relate to amenity upgrades that we completed to address limitations present with a historic structure. One such observation is that of the bathroom design, which were specifically remodeled with an open shower design to maximize the footprint available in each room. Though we do have tubs in some of our rooms, they are in general too small for the space we have to work with. So as renovations proceed, we almost always have chosen the open style. We are in the process of looking into a simple tile or marble dam that would prevent the movement of water from the shower basin. We are also in the process of upgrading linens, and replacing all of our older televisions with wall mounted flat screens, which we have already done in most of the rooms. Lastly, I am sorry that you were not directed for breakfast to one of the five great breakfast places that are all within walking distance to the hotel(Bent Street Deli, El Gamal, Michael's, Graham's, Taos Diner). We usually check in with all of our guests about breakfast during the check-in process. Thanks again for your honest and thoughtful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed there three nights. First the positive: Good Music almost every night of my stay in the Adobe Bar. Very Crowded with the Eclectic people of Taos. A historic place to stay. Happy Hour drinks were very good. The Peru Blend Coffee in the mornings in th lobby was some of the best I have had from a hotel in a great while.

It was too early in the season and too hot to use the fireplace. But too late to use the Air Conditioning. Room was very hot the first night but night manager came down with oscillating fan that cooled off the room with the windows open. Heard noises in the wall heater that sounded like birds the first two nights, on the third morning it was kind of cold so turned on the heater and the mice came running out of it and under the bed. But at least they were cute mice and not rats. The room was remodeled with a very nice walk in shower. A problem was that service was VERY slow in the bar. Apparently because of a lack of help but what the heck, your'e on vacation aren't you? Food was SO SO. Little over priced. Next time I would probably eat the happy hour offerings rather than off the Doc Martin Menu. Outside needed sprucing up and was showing it's age. Maybe clean the windows, get the halloween stuff out of the windows so you can see into the lobby. Doors needed a little of the famous blue paint to fix it up. Just remember that if you are planning to stay in the Inn and not just go to the bar to seperate the reviews to get the whole picture. A lot of reviews of the Taos Inn are just talking about the bar and the music and not the Hotel part.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room so if you plan to go to sleep you wont hear the nightly band
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texanfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We just returned from a week in Taos. The Old Historic Taos Inn is our favorite place to stay. The Helen House is the best! We had an awesome time. Doc Martin's is excellent food. Fun, fun, and more fun.

Room Tip: The Helen House is our favorite and then the courtyard. Wouldn't recommend the Sandoval House or the main bldg.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed one night here and arrived just in time to see a great jazz trio playing and catch the kitchen before it closed. The slice was " laid back", but good enough. I ordered the El Ultima margarita and it was fabulous: just fresh squeezed lime, tequila and agave nectar. We ordered salmon with chipotle and chicken enchiladas with green chile and both dishes were absolutely delicious.

Our room was clean and nicely decorated with local Taos style furniture and artwork. It also sported a gas fireplace as well. In the morning, we enjoyed complimentary organic peruvian coffee in the library room. They were even nice enough to let us check out an hour late. The only nit to pick is there was no wifi in our room. We were in room 401 in the back side. All in all, we love this place and would highly recommend it to anyone. We will certainly stay here on our next visit.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank riosalsero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stopped in to the lounge at the Taos Inn for a drink & some guac. Nice, casual atmosphere, easy to pop in quickly and the food was great. They have a large selection of margaritas so if you want to try some interesting varieties, give this place a try!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews