We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart and soul of Taos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heart and soul of Taos”
Reviewed 15 May 2008

The Taos Inn IS Taos. From the funky-yet-oh-so-comfortable rooms to the Adobe Bar (truly "the living room of Taos" as they say) to the superb but relaxed Doc Martin's restaurant (featuring not just excellent food but also a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list), this place is THE place to go. You're within easy strolling distance of the Plaza and other in-town attractions. There's plenty of parking for guests behind the Inn, off the busy Paseo del Pueblo, so it's convenient from that standpoint as well. I fell in love with this place the first time I stayed there and the love affair just goes on and on.

  • Liked — Charming Southwestern atmosphere, plus terrific Doc Martin's restaurant
  • Disliked — No wi-fi access in rooms (althoug there's free wi-fi in the lobby).
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank xpollm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    400
    130
    52
    23
See reviews for
188
628
87
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

Atmosphere in perfect. The hotel staff is fab!!!
These people know their business and their town. The man that runs the place, Bill, knows all things Taos. He really made us feel at home and so welcomed in this jewel of New Mexico. The rooms are old world and worth every cent. The food and live entertainment enhanced our experience. The dining room menu is unique and well worth the wait. The bar staff is unattentive even when they are serving the best margarita I have ever had. The lady that waited on us was a new manager so her staff can teach her something.
Overall if you like the true southwest you have to see this place.

  • Liked — true southwest feel
  • Disliked — bar manager
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Returned to the Taos Inn after several years and for a funky, upscale Route 66 type experience it's hard to top this place. A couple of issues, they no longer allow wood fires in the Kiva fireplaces and breakfast was a disappointment - we used to absolutely LOVE the blue corn blueberry pancakes but they were overcooked and dry. Ugh. Supper, however, was outstanding - I can't imagine a better chile rellenos! We hung out in the lounge for a bit, live music but not particularly engaging.

Otherwise, as previously hinted, the room is funky, fun as is the hotel. The staff are uniformely welcoming and friendly and the hotel is right in the middle of most of what is going on in Taos. We'll be back...

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster,CA.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

My friend and I stayed here in January and found it to be very nice. The room was clean and very well furnished. I felt safe, for goodness sakes your in Taos not some big city. Located very close to the town square and lots of great shopping. We got a early bird special at Doc Martin's which had excellent food and later we enjoyed the live music in the bar. The price was very reasonable compared to the boring chain hotels that are not located anywhere near the center of town. Maybe you have to appreciate the "Historic part" of it's name to really enjoy it. I would love to visit Taos again & stay there again. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Historic
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

I thought that this hotel was overpriced and just plain "dumb". Now dumb might be an unusual word to describe a hotel, but If I gave my teenaged kid a hotel to design, this is what would come out.

First of all, let me say that the hotel was clean, and located right near all the action. Unfortunately, there is no action in November in Taos. The town closes up by six. We were across from the mainplaza but only found 1 restaurant open at 7:30, not including the one int he hotel that was fixe price.

On to the room. We were put in the newly renovated courtyard. Our first room had a TV that did not work, a front door that looked like a five year old could break into, and my wife standing with the flush lever in her hand. So we moved to another room.

Let's start with the bathroom. Pedestal sink so there is no shelf or storage space, a heater that blows hot air on you when you sit on the toilet and which wafts down cold air when the heater is not on and a stall shower that was half fixed glass so that when you shower, the floor and your robe hanging next tot he shower, get wet.

On to the main room. There was no closet. There was an armoire that yu could hang clothes in, hopefully they were not too long since the bottom half of the armoire contained 1 drawer for clothes that could not be opened and a cabinet. the TV was a flat screen model that worked. It was mounted against the wall and could not be seen by the main arm chair that was almost too heavy too move. There were no drapes, but rather shutters that for the most part stay closed. The heater radiated heat in one corner of the room. Of course the thermostat was on the opposite side of the room so that one person fried while the other shivered.

It was too historic for us. Stay at a chain.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HowardK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

The Inn is a neat little property with an intriguing history set in the middle of the town of Taos, right on the main road. The outside of the building(s) is quaint, with religious statues, patio furniture, and fountains dotting the grounds.

The front desk doubles as the front desk for the Adobe Bar, which wasn't exactly the hot scene it was made out to be on the Inn's webpage. To be fair, though, almost everyone there knew each other, so it's possible that it's a great scene if you're a local.

As for the lobby and bar (they are one and the same), it's cute. Looks like they shoved in all the furniture they could fit and made just enough room up front for a guy with a guitar. The margaritas taste like the stuff from the bottle that you can buy on the lower shelf at the liquor store, but they were strong, so the tequila made up for the taste a bit. The food wasn't anything special, typical bar fare.

Doc Martin's is also in a neat setting, but, again, the food isn't as great as it's made out to be. Perhaps it was an off day, perhaps I ordered the wrong thing, but I really wasn't impressed. I was willing, however, to cut the restaurant some slack since I didn't have to go far to get there.

I was most disappointed in my room. At first glance, it was artsy, unique, and cozy. There's a kiva fireplace and they left matches, wood, and ez-lite! The mirrors are handpainted and the furniture and photos on the walls are antique.

The bed, however, may as well have been a cot for all the comfort I was afforded and I slept terribly as the room made hisses, squeaks, and pings all night as the radiator kicked on. The couch was just as uncomfortable and the single door lock just didn't feel quite safe enough for a first floor dwelling.

I think I'll stay somewhere else next time, but I'll likely give the bar and Doc Martin's a second chance.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

This is an absolutely lovely place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, romantic and clean. The food is excellent, and the atmosphere is welcoming. I can't imagine a nicer experience in Taos.

  • Liked — The adobe room with working fireplace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sanstrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
594 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos
The Historic Taos Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing