We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Taos Inn
Nearby Hotels
El Pueblo Lodge(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Monte Sagrado(Taos)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sagebrush Inn & Suites(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fonda de Taos(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
678
465
160
67
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
465
160
67
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadobe barlive musicdoc martinshelen's housenightly entertainmentmain buildingcourtyard roomgreat musicnew mexicowithin walking distancecentral locationmiddle of townhistoric taoskit carsonkiva fireplaceart galleriesadobe walls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Comfortable rooms within walking distance from the plaza; we've stayed at this inn for 20 years. Although they are not pet-friendly, this hotel has remained a favorite. Doc Martin's restaurant is usually quite good. Their menu on our last visit was lackluster and their desserts were extremely disappointing, but they still have a great bar. The good news is our favorite, Lambert's, has moved to the plaza, just a short walk from the hotel. Good points are the hot water in the rooms is almost instantaneous and doesn't run out during long showers, the rooms although with leaky old windows, have good heat and fireplaces, and they have free parking within the hotel lot. Bad points are the hotel charges $7 per day for extra wood for your fireplace in excess of what the housekeeper provides in the morning and the rooms do not have coffee makers. In the winter, this means you must walk outdoors in single digit weather for your morning cup.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400's (Helen's House) have separate shower/toilet from sink/mirror. Those rooms are slightly smaller than the older rooms (300's), and have gas fireplaces instead of wood.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarpleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here twice this year and both times were good. The location is great. The staff are friendly and interesting to talk with. At night they have music in the lobby area and I have heard good performances both times I stayed there this year. Doc Martin's right off the lobby is a very nice place to eat, quiet and great food. This made it a perfect location for my business dinner meetings.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are nice, parking in the back provides easy access to those rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed over Thanksgiving weekend. loved our room - private, quiet, warm - lots of wood for a kiva fire. In a couple of steps across a courtyard you are in the happening lobby. Close to the plaza, restaurants, shopping. Easy parking. Free wifi. Complimentary coffee served in lobby. Would stay again and again.

Room Tip: check out the websites floor plan. Rooms in the main building open up to a landing that overlooks the lobby/bar. Good for people watching.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaVidaLoca505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a great stay! This is is the center of it all in the evenings; great entertainment and good food all at the place you are staying! The entertainment ranges from music to belly dancing but it was all close up and personal and well done. It is a great place to spend an evening, either at the bar, in the restaurant and then in the lobby. Staff is helpful and courteous, energy is very high. When you book a room do make sure to look at the pictures of the room and pick it with that in mind. Some rooms are right above the entertainment but they have private seating on the balcony, many guests were ordering dinner and taking it upstairs to watch the shows in front of their rooms! We stayed in Helen's House, which has slightly larger rooms with gas Kiva fireplaces. Nice seating areas and quiet - you won't find guests from the bar wandering near your rooms. The room was great, mattress comfortable, and I liked the decoration. The best thing was the shower!! Huge shower-big enough for 2, zero entry and nice water pressure. Perhaps another bathmat would be a good addition but we enjoyed the 'wet' bathroom; a very European concept that I haven't seen much in the states but I like very much. Great local coffee in the lobby in the morning, a nice walk through the courtyard with coffee is a great way to wake up.
This inn was exactly as expected and more! I would highly recommend it for those who find another Hilton-type cookie cutter hotel with a pokey hotel bar does not appeal.

Room Tip: Helen's House has quiet rooms. When the courtyard is open during the summer months for the restaurant, the rooms right next to it are very close and not very private.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NancyC-VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have stayed at the Taos Inn several times and it is our favorite place of all. The rooms have a lot of character and fit the ambience of Taos very well. You can walk to the plaza and numerous shops and restaurants up and down the Main Street. The entertainment in the lobby bar is always fun and the bar menu is excellent for a dinner while you listen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews