We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a quick overnight in Taos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Unless you can book a modern room, I would only recommend staying here one night if you are just coming up for a day from Santa Fe. Most of the rooms are quite inferior. The staff, however, is extremely helpful, and if you like a bar scene, it's quite lively. The restaurant is also good and it is in a central location, with parking, to explore the plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a modern room - the ones in the courtyards are very old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

987 - 993 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

You cannot beat the Taos Inn, the lobby, bar and location is the best. The front desk people are very helpful. The location is so close to everything: restaurants, shopping, bars, galleries etc. Just park your car and enjoy. The rooms are updated, showers are excellent. Try to get a room with fireplace very romantic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a very nice stay in two suites with my family at the Taos Inn. The Inn is beautiful and centrally located in Taos! The staff was very kind and generous with their time during our holiday stay!

The rooms are very nice appointed and spacious. They come with some great art on the walls too. The only caveat is that they can be old. One of the suites 104(2?) was very nice but definitely had some very dated green carpet (still nice). It was also right next to the lobby with the live music (which could get pretty loud). The other suite 302 was similar but with new carpet. However, the windows in it where very drafty. One the fence if I will stay again cause I like the rustic feel but would prefer the property to be updated a little bit.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froggie901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our first time in Taos and we found the Taos Inn to be the right place to be for our brief stay at Christmas. Staff was excellent and accommodating. The lobby decorations were great. The food at Doc Martins was superb. Our room of the courtyard which was quiet, well furnished, spacious, and came with a fireplace. The Inn is centrally located and very close to the Plaza.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are excellent. Also away from the Adobe Bar so they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I love this place as it is a block off the plaza and most everything is walking distance. The staff feel is helpful hipster as they do their best to answer questions and facilitate an enjoyable stay. My room had a fireplace which was stocked with wood and easy to use since they included a packet that ensures a blazing fire. The bulidings are rustic as I imagine you would expect coming to the historic town center. The lobby Christmas decor is wonderfully done and compliments the wood floors, wrought iron, rustic furniture and exposed timber. It isn't the Grand Hyatt, but if that's what you're seeking I can't imagine why you're in Taos.

The Wi-Fi wasn't working the first 36 hours of my stay, so I was forced to head towards the plaza and found refuge in a coffee shop to take an early morning conference call for which I needed internet access. We had ants in the bathroom, which didn't bother me, but my gal wasn't impressed.

I look forward to staying here again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms that enter into the lobby will be noisy as live music is performed regularly. Many rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EAChinchilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Taos Inn is where I will ALWAYS stay when I visit this beautiful gem of a city. Friendly staff, locals hang out at the bar in the lobby, and there is always great music.
Love the food in at Doc's.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have stayed at the Taos Inn in twice. The location, staff and overall experience is what you hope to find in Taos. The live entertainment in the main hotel is the finest around. The rooms are truly historic in nature, a great value and well appointed, with the boutique, intimidate feel we had in mind this ski trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bgladu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
661 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £70 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos
The Historic Taos Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing