We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed in author Daoma "Dee" Strasburg's room. Very nice. After a great and well prepared dinner at Doc Martin's restauarant the evening continued to listen to live music in the bar area, Relaxing to sit and be served here. Breakfast very tasty and great. Lovely experience for two nights here in Taos.

Room Tip: Enjoy the live music in the bar and a great dinner at Doc Martin's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    379
    125
    48
    23
See reviews for
180
597
79
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stay at the Taos Inn many times over the years. We come to Taos once or twice a year to Ski and love to stay there. We like the bar, music and being able to have breakfast in the morning at Doc Martins so close to our room. The rooms can be small, but that's part of the charm. This is the "Historic Taos Inn" built many, many years ago. Great place for a couple. We plan to go back many times, hope they stay around forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lovely experience in Taos at the Historic Taos Inn. Husband and I went for a late Christmas present the week of Feb 3 to Feb 8. Had a room in the quiet courtyard, king bed, kiva fireplace, etc. Comfortable and warm, just what we needed to wind down at the end of the day. Had a birthday while there and the Adobe Bar treated me to a free cocktail! Very sweet of them and made my day. It was our base as we explored the Ski Valley and the casinos, shopping and sites in the area. Second time to stay here, will stay here again. The bathroom is small, but not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Always get a room in the courtyard (unless you prefer gas fireplaces, then go with one of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kamac2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

friendly, fun inn -good music and margheritas
accommodation was a cute little adobe room, perhaps a little expensive, but a lovely atmospheric place to stay with adobe fireplace in the corner of the room

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Siegrun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
323 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and is wonderfully historic. The staff is very good. The room has a good size and a wonderful kiva fireplace in the corner. The room's furniture was oddly rococo and didn't really fit a southwest adobe theme. The bed was a little noisy and not that comfortable. There were two paintings that were really not in keeping with the room. Blank walls would have worked better. I'd stay again, but I think some changes could make this a better experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Love the location, the restaurant, the bar, the parking, the bed, and the room! We stayed in room 404- the rooms are great.....ithe rooms would be awesome if the furniture was upgraded....the current furniture feels worn... I love antiques but the charis and tables and bedspreads in our room were just plain old worn out.

Room Tip: the website allows you to virtually visit everyone of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We decided to stay at the Inn as a last minute decision and were fortunate to get a lovely room on the court yard. This room had two double beds, an open fire place and lots of room. The beds were very comfortable and the room warm even with the very cold night we had. Only downside was that the bathroom was very small. Parking was close by which was great as we had a fair bit of luggage.
We enjoyed a very comfortable night's sleep.
The position of the hotel is great within walking distance of good shopping and dining. The bar and restaurant in the hotel are also excellent.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorlaxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos
The Historic Taos Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing