We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We love staying at The Taos Inn when we pass through Taos each summer. The rooms are interesting and the bar and restaurant very lively. Live music can be so much fun after hours on the road. This past summer, our room was exceedingly musty. We tried to air it out, but it was not easy. I did not ask to be moved, but in the future, I would ask and I'm sure they would move us if they could. I recommend The Taos Inn for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure to take a look at the room before paying. Old hotel - can be musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaryAliceMatlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    380
    127
    48
    23
See reviews for
182
598
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I almost missed a great stay. The neon sign out front makes it look 50's when it has a great Western Late 1800's feel. Great location in the heart of Taos, excellent bar and separate restaurant. Great entertainment while I was there. Has rooms outback in the courtyard as well as in the main building. I can only speak for the main building, second floor with balcony.........rustic, comfortable and I enjoyed the stay watching the entertainment from my table above the lobby.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony overlooks the hotel desk. It was fun for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed one night in Taos on our recent trip to New Mexico. The location of this inn was perfect for walking around town and we enjoyed the character of the place. Our room (312), at the far corner of the courtyard, was large and peaceful. With a king size bed and 2 singles, it was perfect for our family of 4. We enjoyed the entertainment at the Adobe Bar, though the service was extremely slow. Sunday brunch at Doc Martin's was tasty if a bit expensive. Overall a great place to stay to enjoy the ambience of Taos.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website for a floor plan and room descriptions. Every one is different. We were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLK0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We loved staying at the Taos Inn. We even had our 2 teenagers with us and they enjoyed the Inn atmosphere. The only thing was we went out to our car to get something after 11 and the night clerk had to let us back in. When we come back we do want to stay in one of the other buildings so that we have an outdoor area to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful weather in Taos.

Room Tip: It is better if you get a room not in the main hotel where the bar and restaurant are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebDeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We really liked this hotel experience and would recommend it. We stayed in Room 202 in the courtyard area. It was in a lovely, peaceful courtyard and the room was spacious with a kiva fireplace, a nice bed, and a table with two chairs. We appreciated the historic ambience of the place and the courtyard access to our room (rather than a long indoor hall with door after door of rooms). The walls in the area we stayed appeared to be adobe (i.e., very thick) and we never heard any other guests at all. The only thing we didn't like about the inn was that we could never get a wifi signal and that was a little irritating. We called the front desk and they said they'd reset it, but that didn't help. So, if we stayed more than a night, the wifi issue would have been more frustrating. Otherwise, it was a very nice stay. The inn is only about 1 1/2 blocks from the plaza and on the main street through town, so it's very accessible to many shops. Can't beat the location. We briefly heard the bands that were playing in the lobby the night we were there when we walked through to get to the street, but neither was our kind of music. Also, they play in the lobby/lounge area (which is a combined area) and is pretty small. It would be better if they played in a larger room away from the lobby, in my opinion. Despite its proximity to our room, once we got in our room, we never heard the music (which was a good thing).

Room Tip: Room 202 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NMFoodie-wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This historic hotel is located close to the Plaza and across the street from Bent Street. Perfect location!!!! Staff was the best! And, the food and drinks were some of the best of a month long trip! The only negative :-) the floor in our room was a little slanted and uneven- if only the walls could talk :-). Highly recommend! Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My only regret about my first visit to the Historic Taos Inn is that it was so short. The Inn has so much character. The courtyard, corridors, lobby area and rooms all reflect the historic aura of the area. The staff, evening and morning, was extremely warm and helpful . We were escorted by the evening desk clerk to our room the evening of our arrival, something unheard of at the big chains. The morning staff gave us wonderful suggestions for how to spend our lone day in Taos. Its location within a couple of blocks of the plaza and its historic charm help make the price of this hotel more justifiable. When in the area again I will definitely book a room at The Historic Taos Inn!

Room Tip: I'd highly recommend the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Property: The Historic Taos Inn
Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos
The Historic Taos Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing