We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This hotel is in a great location. Right in the middle of it all and very close to the plaza. Parking was plentiful and free. We stayed in the Sandoval house which had a cute little courtyard. Our room was small with a double bed, but we knew that at booking. The room was clean. Just a couple of negatives about the room, the swamp cooler kept the room cool, but was very loud. Both nights we were there, I had to get up in the middle of the night to turn it off because it was just too loud and kept waking me up. The bed was saggy. My husband and I kept rolling into the middle of it. But those were just a few negatives in an otherwise great stay. We loved the outdoor patio seating in front of the hotel and the lobby was nice. If we ever go back to Taos, we'd stay here again.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank chrisnkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

We chose the hotel because of its central location, next to Taos Plaza, and because of its historic character.
Both were true!
The hotel is a complex of low adobe houses with a series of green patios, that make it a green and relaxing oasis in the midst of lively Taos.
Although the exterior of the building doesn't look that atttractive, rooms are very charming. The Front Desk Staff accompanied us to our room and gave us a warm welcome. We had a room in the great courtyard, where you can sit, relax and read a book. The room was spacious with rustic furniture and a kiva fire, but a low white wooden ceiling and a tiny bathroom.
Whether you like it or not depends on your personal taste and needs, but the lobby, bar and terrace of the hotel seem to be THE meeting point of Taos, probably due to the live music performances in the evening (but you don't hear anything when staying in the courtyard).
No computers available for customers without their own laptop, no swimming pool and no complimentary breakfast, but the usual American breakfast menu. We were almost treated as aliens, since our European preference goes rather for simple toast, marmelade and fresh fruit (and not for al the eggs and omelettes....).
The Doc Martin's restaurant has a rather dark interior, so we chose to have dinner on the inner patio. The wine list of the restaurant is extraordinary in quality and variety, but doesn't match the rather poor quality of the food. The grilled strips of steak were not "rare" at all (as we asked), but more than well done, but the accompanying green asparagus were not just "al dente", but just crude...
And a special mention for the "Lost and Found"-department and the Front Desk. As we discovered the next day, in Gunnison, that my wife forgot a blue cotton jacket in the hotel room, they promptly offered to send it to the last hotel of our 3 weeks trip through the Southwest. That's true guest service!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harmonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The Taos Inn:

Everything about our stay here was good. The staff walked us to our room, which was nice and clean. The hotel had wifi so I was able to check my email while at the same time getting a patron magarita. It was walking distance to all of the shops that we liked, and also had a good central location - a lot of people came at night to hear the free live music, which was very impressive

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valhalla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I came to the Inn with my parents and my boyfriend and can not even say how great it was! We stayed in the courtyard where this 30ft tall tree was in full bloom, and the gardens were amazing.
Breakfast in Doc Martin's Restaurant had wonderful ethnic as well the usual favorites. Try the Kit Carson. Yam biscuits with poached eggs covered in red chili. Yum!
Really the best part was the live music every night! There was an amazing jazz band led by Brian Wingard one night, and the next, Flamenco with authentic dancers and everything. The bar staff was friendly and helpful. They make the best margaritas we've ever had!
I highly recommend this place to all fun-loving travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SanDiegoPeggySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We've been staying here annually for nearly 20 years, so I'm clearly biased. The Historic Taos Inn is our kind of hotel: small, charming, somewhat funky, warm decor, friendly service, reasonable prices, good drinks and food in the lobby bar, great restaurant (Doc Martin's), a front courtyard in which you can sit and watch the endless stream of trucks driving by with dogs riding shotgun, and entertainment most evenings in the lobby. The rooms run the gamut, from the funky little rooms over the Adobe bar (where we normally stay) to some very nice larger rooms in the courtyard to some very elegant newer rooms in some newer buildings. So, if you're looking for a bargain, get one of the little funky rooms. If you're looking for something really sexy, go for the more expensive rooms. Just don't get a funky little room and complain that it's funky and little. ;-) The owners continue to invest in the facilities, and have recently even added a vegetable garden and greenhouse to supply fresh vegetables to the kitchen. Doc Martin's has excellent food and a great wine list with many offerings under $30 and a half-bottle of Gruet Brut for $12 that went great with their breakfast burritos. I've read some of the less enthusiastic reviews, and if you're a Four Seasons type, this probably isn't the place for you, but if you like the Hotel St. Francis in Santa Fe or La Mansion del Rio in San Antonio or classic older hotels in general, then you'll probably like the Historic Inn. We also enjoy eating at Michael's Kitchen up the street. The location is great, too, just two blocks from the Plaza and across the street from Bent Street. We like the slow season in the fall when prices are lower and there are fewer visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glassyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Hard to fault this hotel, great location, extremely comfortable rooms with homely carpets, quilts and well made furniture. The bathroom and shower in particular were top notch, beautiful setting around the courtyard.

The restaurant and bar were also hard to fault, fantastic selection of 'real ales', together with a great value menu.

The staff were amongst the friendliest we met in the States, and were always there with a smile.

One gripe? Our room backed on to the car park, and the occasional car door slamming interupted our sleep now and again...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Some of the rooms may be nice in this old inn, but ours was small, dark, and poorly laid out -- not a place you'd want to spend time in. The hot/cold water was impossible to adjust, and there was nothing provided, such as coffee in the room -- we had to wait till 7 am and fight for the watery stuff in the lobby. No ice machine, had to make our way thru the crowded bar to ask the busy bartender. The lobby is charming, but if you're used to Southwest adobe, nothing here is particularly special.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScribblerAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £70 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos
The Historic Taos Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing