We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic with Great Nightlife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

After hearing for years about what a great place the Historic Taos Inn was I finally had the chance to experience it for myself. What a wonderful hotel. It's romantic, historic and charming. Our room had recently been remodeled and it was lovely with a fireplace and nice sitting area. The staff was very accommodating and at night the bar in the hotel was the busiest place in town. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tallyholiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Taos Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

we came in and had to wait over check-in time for room to be ready. We both have knee issues and were given a room upstairs, no elevator, and to top if off...very lively music (acid country rock) until late....also for the price...room was TINY..didn't even have a table...i can only recommend this hotel for party-goers

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radicalchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

so this is my first time in Taos, after seeing the town, I believe that the Historic Taos Inn is genuine. It really hits a fun spot as well because they have live entertainment every single night!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMUfrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

the Taos Inn is bang in the centre of Taos, a very lively, arty, quirky town surrounded by beautiful mountains and countryside. we arrived in Taos late afternoon, drove past the Inn assuming it would be very expensive from its appearance and location. we stopped for a margarita in the patio at the front and enquired about rooms and rates and were shown a 'basic' room by a very friendly helpful staff member. when he told us the rate, which was very reasonable, we liked the room so much we took it for 2 nights. at that point he told us he liked us and showed us a courtyard room, at the back of the complex, and offered it to us have it for the price of the basic. this was obviously a smart business move on his part because the inn is not just a place to stay, it has a bar, a restaurant, live bands and open mic, and is lively and clearly an attraction for the interesting locals as well as travellers. it is also close to downtown shops, galleries coffee houses and restaurants. the room itself was amazing : massive bed with lovely clean crisp linen, modern quirky decor, a lovely big power shower with unlimited red-hot water, and loads of space to spread out. it also had an open fireplace, which was great considering how chilly it can get at night here in april. although the Inn is situated bang in the heart of Taos, many of the rooms are set back from the main road and ours was very quiet and beautifully situated in a lovely courtyard.
overall, this place was fantastic value, and is so much more than just a place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnyjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Arrived without a reservation, and asked for 2 beds or a king. They gave us a double queen, but when I saw it was right behind the bar, I asked for a different room and they upgraded us to a king suite at no charge. Super quiet.
Restaurant was average and pricey, service good, but our 15 minute wait turned into 45.
In all, a nice place. You're probably paying extra for the historic neon sign.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bald0neNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Historic Taos Inn was like no place I've ever stayed before, in mostly a good way. This place is old, and therefore refreshingly different from today's cookie-cutter hotels and motels. We stayed in a room on the Courtyard. It had a kiva fireplace in one corner, which was cool even though we did not light it, and the smallest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel, which was not so cool. (it would have been better if we had not had two teenagers sharing the room) We spent a couple of pleasant hours in the Adobe Bar, where it was open mike night. Note: be careful coming out of the Adobe Bar front entrance if you have been drinking heavily--the sidewalk is very narrow, and traffic passes by alarmingly close. In the morning, we had breakfast in Doc Martin's, which was not as pleasant. We waited for some time before being seated, and the food was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingFool47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel over Valentine's Day weekend. The location couldn't have been better, loved the atmosphere of the lobby/bar (I recommend the Cowboy Buddha Margarita), and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was fantastic. The only negative was that I booked the room for two nights through hotels.com and unfortunately we had to change rooms as the hotel was unable to keep us in the same room for both nights. This was inconvenient. Both rooms were nice, Helen's House Room was newer. The second night our pillows were horrible so my only suggestion to them is to replace the pillows. Otherwise we had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Durang0an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £74 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and yoga classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Leisure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos
The Historic Taos Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing