We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the Road B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent one night at the La Dona Luz Inn in Taos prior to climbing Wheeler Peak, the highest mountain in New Mexico located about 15 miles away. We chose La Dona Luz as they could accommodate our sleeping arrangements - one couple and two singles. Web site is fine and the reservation process was smooth. Paco, the proprietor, was accommodating beforehand with helping us with a potential luggage issue prior to our arrival. The location couldn't be better, right off the highway and an easy walk to Old Town.

Upon arrival we chatted with Paco and he ran us through the ropes. He's owned the B&B for 24 years. When we advised we'd be departing about 5:30am the next morning and asked if there could be breakfast accommodation he said no, they never get requests like that but if I had let him know beforehand maybe he could have helped. That was a bit off putting but then he said we'd have the run of the kitchen so all was well after all - there was bagels, orange juice, hard boiled eggs, bananas etc. to be had so we were all set.

The room we booked, the Red Willow Suite, had a queen bed and a trundle bed that split into two singles. That was all we needed but it was very cramped for four and felt overpriced ($162 for the night). Paco tried upselling us to a bigger suite with two queens or even two rooms, but that was not of interest.

The suite was attractive but not overly comfortable. The bedroom was very warm all night even with the windows open. A choice of pillows would have been welcome. The 4 cup Mr. Coffee unit in the bathroom was of the Motel 6 variety.

I'm sure we would have enjoyed the B&B more if we had the time to explore it more fully.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco C, Owner at La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

I’m sorry we didn’t meet your expectations, but I think the responsibility for your dissatisfaction lies with you. You deliberately chose a room that was inappropriate for your party to save $30 and then complained that you weren’t comfortable days later in this review. This is analogous to choosing a luxury sports car and then complaining in a widely read online review that the car was uncomfortable because there wasn’t enough room in the back for your over six-foot tall friends.

I was not trying to “up sell” you for a modest $30. I was concerned about your comfort! But you insisted on cramming four large adults in a room that was meant for at most, three adults or two adults and two children. That is false economy. The actual four person room rate was $144, the large suite I offered you, $174. These are very reasonable rates in this area for the quality of accommodations and the best location in town.

Regarding the 5am breakfast request; I did not say “we never get requests like that” I said that had you provided us with some notice we could have accommodated you. This was after 8 pm the night before! It was too late to reschedule an employee to come in that early in the morning, so I showed you around the kitchen so that you could help yourselves.

I bend over backwards to accommodate my guests requests, but I do also have a family. I am a full-time single parent and I was trying to get home to feed my little boys when you made this request. After working a long day of heavy construction work and graciously accommodating your late arrival, I simply didn’t have the time or energy to prepare a “to go” breakfast.

I found the “middle of the road” title of your review insulting and I invite those reading this review to visit our web site and view the “The Red Willow Suite”; decide for your self if that is an accurate statement. I have built, remodeled and decorated this little jewel of an inn myself. You will not find another B&B that offers all the wonderful fine art, authentic artifacts and amenities that we do.

Steve, how could you possibly give a fair review when you arrived so late, left so early and insisted on staying in a room that was too small for your party? You state that you “would have enjoyed the B&B more if we had the time to explore it more fully.” I couldn’t agree more….and my online reputation wouldn’t have suffered unfairly had you done so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

we stayed in the La Luz room which was ideal for the 2 of us. bathroom has just been renovated and was beautiful. we seen a couple of other rooms and they looked great as well. very nice breakfast very close to everything with the Plaza right across the road and the Brew Pub right next door idea. Paco the Host is a great fellow to chat to and has great sence of humour. (Paco thanks for the directions to the fire works) hope we can come back to Taos one day and if we do we will definately be staying at the La Dona Luz Inn

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco C, Owner at La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Jeff,
It was my pleasure meeting and visiting with you and Dot. I hope we meet again in the future!
Thank you for the kind words.
Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This beautiful inn is an oasis in the heart of Taos, just across from the main square. The rooms are all unique and each furnished in a Spanish or Southwest decore. There is a quiet courtyard to eat breakfast in, or relax in the afternoon. Guests are able to make use of the kitchen to fix a bite and coffee is always available. We stayed in the Santiago room, which was large, cool and quiet. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. The inn has private parking, very nice in busy Taos. The hosts are extremely helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: We liked the Santiago room, but each room is unique and has is own special qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the La Dona Luz Inn last week during our short stay in Taos.
The B & B radiates with historical ambiance. Our delightfully decorated Yellow Bird Deer room was a perfect set-up for us, with a separate TV room with Kiva fireplace and private bathroom. The suite is decorated with incredible murals painted by local artisans and is located off the interior courtyard resplendent with blooming flowers. Paco is a great host and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 254jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had previously stayed at La Dona Luz, but were in town for an impulse trip, without hotel reservations. We love the location - across the street from the plaza, and surrounded by great shopping and restaurants - so thought we'd give it a try. Luckily, we were able to get into the Rainbow Room on our first night. This is a large, two floor suite, with ladder access to the rooftop patio, which has a hot tub, potted geraniums, a patio area and the best views of Taos! We had planned to move on after the first day, but felt so welcome and comfortable at La Dona Luz, that we decided to stay on - and on! As "our" suite was booked for the next day, we were moved to the Santiago room. One of the sweet girls who works here told us to go on with our hike and that she'd move all of our stuff while we were out - which she did - twice. We stayed in the Santiago two nights before moving to the Yellow Bird Suite (off the patio.) All three rooms were bright and immaculately clean, with gorgeous furniture, paintings and decor, and kiva fireplaces. The owner's mother has contributed much of the painting and interior decoration, and the colorful touches and creative artwork make it feel like you are in an art gallery. Sound travels from common areas to some of the rooms, but this is to be expected by anyone who has stayed in bed and breakfasts, and is not troublesome. The breakfasts, served in a dining room off the patio, are tasty - cereal, breads, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, and waffles to order. Everyone who works here made us feel most welcome and were engaging and helpful about local happenings and places. The owner, Paco (who seems always to be working on refinements) stops what he is doing whenever guests come by and is ready with friendly conversation and genuine interest. This inn truly seems to be a labor of love for him and he takes great pride in the quality of his guests' experience. Having stayed here previously, three years ago, I can definitely say that the place is only getting better. For less than the price of most bland chain lodging, staying at La Dona Luz is a unique, homey, and welcoming experience.

Room Tip: The Rainbow Room is a great splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizmhollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Nice Bed and Breakfast with several unique rooms. Rooms are beautiful and well kept. We spent a weekend in October in the Rainbow Room. This is a fairly large room on two floors and has a Hot Tub on the roof above. Not to hard to negotiate via ladder but my wife was a bit concerned. Overall this is a nice historic hotel.
Couple of Concerns:
1) If the Inn is fully booked it does not have adequate parking. Don't park in the parking lot next door, you will be towed.
2)The breakfast also does not come close to accommodating a full house. Not near enough tables and chairs. There was a good selection of items to choose from.
3) The heat is turned on centrally. We were there in October and it was in the 40's at night. No heat because they still had not switched for A/C to heat.
We arrived on the "Wool Weekend" and had a great time and several nice restaurants. Not a bad Bed & Breakfast but could use a bit of work..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This small place offers everything you can possibly expect: Suites with TV in each room, traditionally decorated, with kiva fireplace, heavenly bed, delicious breakfast, located in the heart of Taos, and all this for an affordable price. And if this would not be enough: Paco would do everything to help his guests, e.g. to find lost friends of whom you only know their names and that they live in Taos.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, ask for the Yellow Bird Deer suite on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7012
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £67 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing