We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique property so different from any other hotel I have ever stayed in before”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Paco and his lovely family run this very unique B and B in Taos
Every room is different
Ours was a 2 room suite with a gorgeous terrace
It was so comfortable and was decorated with many lovely New Mexico artifacts

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randim26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Greeted by Paco who had been doing some renovation work, my first impression of the B&B was a combination of Taos history and 60’s counterculture all mixed into one rambling ensemble of guest rooms. This is not your typical overly polished inn but one that exudes a well-worn patina, certainly lived in and embellished with local art and artifacts.

I was allowed to select my room as the one I had chosen was under renovation. The Santiago Room felt like the large converted living room of a traditional Spanish hacienda, including a fireplace, throne and full size sofa (come to think of it, I never even sat on the throne). I found the room enchanting with its wood and vaulted plaster ceiling and windows that overlooked other adjacent roofs. Unfortunately for me, a very abbreviated stay meant little time to linger, Paco advised with recommendations for both places to walk and also restaurant options.

Breakfast which included some delicious coffee (ready earlier than the scheduled breakfast) was fairly basic as other reviewer suggested but considering the abundance of places to eat in town, I didn’t find this an issue, especially after a large dinner the night before. I grabbed some granola, fruit and coffee and headed to the lovely courtyard which was sunny and teaming with an exuberance of flowers. The colors were surreal and this was a perfect place to spend a relaxing morning.

Paco could not have been more helpful, upbeat, informative and passionate about the history of the B&B, his family’s local roots and the future changes he has planned. For the price I paid I would be more than happy to return again and see what additional improvements will be made. This B&B seems to encapsulate the zeitgeist and history of the town perfectly. Taos certainly isn’t everyday small town America and La Dona isn’t your everyday B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I chose La Dona Luz Inn because I was traveling with my dog, but without my husband, enroute to Albuquerque. I wanted to be in walking distance of restaurants and bars. It was a "stop-over", but after my evening and morning here, I wished I could have stayed. I met other guests at breakfast-it's the kind of place that people invite you to sit with them and visit. When I asked Paco, the owner, for a tour, I received not only a viewing of the lovingly decorated rooms and family treasures, but also a history of his family and the role they played in the history of Taos. Such pride of place and history are reflected in the distinctive rooms and the solicitude to guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful! We have stayed here 3 times. The last time was when my husband and I were married AT La Dona Luz Inn. Paco was so accommodating and welcoming to our wedding party (which rented the place out). We decided to marry there because of our previous wonderful experience there. The place feels like home, is surrounded by beauty and Paco makes you feel like you are apart of the family. We never want to leave once we get there. We wish we could make the trip several times a year. It feels like home. We love La Dona Luz Inn, Paco and the Rainbow Room! I don't think any place on earth does it like they do. :)

Room Tip: The Rainbow room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had made our third visit to La Donna Luz this past May so forgive me for procrastinating. I LOVE the vintage charm and character of this Inn. We stayed in the La Madonna suite this time and now it is my favorite. I can't imagine a more interesting and comfortable place. Paco is a charming, helpful, and hard working host. I recommend La Donna Luz and will always stay there when coming to Taos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've traveled the world, and stayed in 5 stars hotels, and some bug ridden disasters (in Egypt), and this is one of the most charming, filled with art, nicely accommodating, pancakes cooked to order places I've stayed. If you are a diva and controlling and rude, this is NOT the place for you...these are nice people.

Room Tip: Check out the website which gives examples of each of the rooms, and when you are there, take a peek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at La Doña Luz Inn.
This quaint B&B provides a very clean, uplifting environment full of flowers and color with a Southwestern flare. It's themed rooms are harmoniously decorated, comfortable and well appointed. We loved the 3 level Rainbow suite with its masterful woodwork and great attention to detail. This spacious suite featured a log-beamed high ceiling, full kitchen, dinning room and richly decorated living room with a beautiful fireplace and patio. its very romantic multi level bedroom is truly a must-see and a rare accommodation for a B&B.
We took advantage of the surrounding mountain scenery from its private rooftop retreat, complete with hot tub, and relaxed in its beautiful courtyard.
The Inn's owner was very gracious and informative and our children loved the friendly staff ( they did not want to leave).
The proximity of the Inn to the plaza, it's quaint comfortable accommodations and its superb management present a truly unique travel experience and I highly recommend this Southwestern jewel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vision4peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Taos
1,293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7012
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £64 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing