We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked La Dona Luz based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed! The location is ideal - across the street from the Plaze. Each room is unique and stuff full of interesting New Mexican goodies. We stayed in the Yellow Bird Deer room that had a super comfortable bed, a cute sitting room with a Kiva fireplace and a private patio. Paco, our host, was friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was cooked to order and served in a lovely room. This will be our new go-to place in Taos!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BldrRvrGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This old historic B&B set the tone for our visit to Taos. The building is quite old and is full of charm, while still providing comfortable, clean accommodations. The owner, Paco, takes good care of his guests without hovering. The staff are warm and friendly. We stayed in the Red Room, which is a two room suite, with private bath, and were very happy with our visit. The location is ideal, within the historic downtown of Taos, across from the Kit Carson house. Parking is a bit crowded but is provided for free. Breakfast is simple but good, with fresh fruit, waffles, delicious granola and cereals, toast and bagels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I fell in love with this inn. It is very historic, with art, antiques and visually stunning native american rugs and artifacts everywhere you look.
Paco does an incredible job taking care of guests.
Wonderful local flavor breakfasts. Walkable to many restaurants and shops.
Very quiet but very close to the Plaza. Not touristy and has a very authentic feel to it.
Highly recommend this. Working kiva style fireplaces were wonderful as it snowed while we were there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rainbow room which is very large and two level with the bedroom up a ladder-like st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockingRobin78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went up for a couple nights during the summer, took the kid and had a ball. The perfect Taos town stay for a great price. The location is perfect: just steps away from the plaza, galleries, shops, restaurants, and within walking distance of Kit Carson park. Rooms are cozy, clean, and cute, and whole place is packed with folk art charm. Plus, the folks who run it are so very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and included freshly made waffles. You hardly ever get a waffle at a b&b! Best kept secret in Taos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you're looking for a taste of the southwest, you can't do better than this. The rooms are beautifully decorated with real art, authentic southwestern architectural details and comfortable spanish/southwestern furniture. The owner, Paco has deep roots in Taos and was a source of some great stories told sitting around the kiva at breakfast, which contrary to a couple of reviews I read here, was really good. Sarah came in each morning, started a fire in the kiva, got some excellent coffee going and made some really nice breakfasts for us. All in all, a really great experience in Taos for us because of the choice we made to stay at La Dona Luz.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "La Madonna." I highly recommend it. The Kiva is great, you have your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Love everything about this b & b. The cozy fire in the breakfast room, ample choices for the morning meal. Comfy bed and everything clean and warm. Great art, great vibe. Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaHS80446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just spent 6 days at La Dona Luz and cannot believe how lovely it was.

For starters, it is smack in the middle of historic downtown Taos (right across the street from Kit Carson's house and Mabel Dodge Luhan's home is about 4 blocks away as is the historic cemetery.) You can leave your car parked and see the entire area on foot and at your leisure.

The hotel also provides free maps and specific guidebooks regarding Taos. Paco and his family have lived in the area for decades (his grandfather was friends with Mabel Luhan) and his knowledge of the area makes for fascinating conversation.

Parking is limited at the B & B; then again, parking is pretty limited all over town and strictly metered. This is off season so I can only imagine how hard it is to find parking during the summer/peak season. That was a great asset--being situated where I could go on foot.

I figured that being so centrally located would cost me a fortune--what a great surprise to find that not to be the case. The pricing was amazingly reasonable--$94 a night/$104 on weekends--particularly for a place of this caliber. When you figure in a free breakfast every morning, the price is almost unbelievable, especially considering the location and the overall quality of the home.

The B & B is beautiful--filled with incredible artworks and antiques. The rooms are wonderfully clean and each have a theme. I stayed in the Santiago which had a Spanish theme and spectacular views of the mountains and sky to the north and the east. My room had a fireplace kiva; watching cedar wood burning and crackling into the night while looking at the stars was an amazing experience. It also had a couch and several chairs and since I stayed a week, it was nice to have more than a bed. I had real room to spread out and read a book, study the map for my next day's excursion and take a good nap on the couch before watching the Denver Broncos win the AFC. My room also had a flat screen tv/dvd player/refrigerator/microwave and a bathtub with whirlpool jet and beautiful glazed tile.

Breakfast was delicious. Sarah made homemade apple cinnamon muffins and there was fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee, cereals, hot tea, bagels, toast and homemade waffles so I'm not sure what more people expect from a breakfast. I left the table full every morning.

It's cozy, Paco and Sarah are lovely and down to earth, and every amenity you need is provided. Highly recommend La Dona and I fully intend to stay there again. I can't believe how lucky I was to stumble across this place.

Room Tip: See La Dona's Facebook page or website or photos of each room before you book. Second floor is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkwcanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,279 reviews
1 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#3 of 23 in Taos
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7012
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £67 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing