We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very, very cute”
Reviewed 30 June 2007

What a great B&B! Wonderful Santa Fe design and decor, fantastic location and very cute rooms. This is an older property so be ready to watch your step as nearly every entrance or exit requires a step up or down. We stayed in the Kit Carson room and loved it with one caution. The bedroom has a big skylight over the bed that cannot be blocked off except for an undersized shudder placed beneath it. If you need a dark room for those late "sleep-ins", get a different room. The patio is well decorated with several tables and is a great place to take in breakfast and chat with other guests. Located just off the Plaza makes walking around a very convienent endeavor. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robanddaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    43
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
156
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

First of all, I am getting fed up with hotels and B&B that advertise Internet on their website-and then they give you one excuse or another why the Internet is not available. This is why this otherwise lovely place gets only 3 stars: in 3 days we were never able to get a signal. Fortunately, we found the lovely Tazza cafe on Kit Carson Rd., very close: they have good coffee, baked goods and sandwiches, a lovely patio and free wireless. I wish we had discovered it the first day.
The good: it's a charming old building (don't miss their 'El Rincon Trading Post'), with lovely if somewhat smallish rooms. The rooms are lovingly decorated and furnished in various styles. Everywhere, and I mean everywhere, there are paintings in bright colors. It may not be my first choice of painting, but I found it heartwarming. Breakfast is served in a lovely, if tiny, patio (we never had problems with finding a seat or food). Breakfast is not as 'gourmet' as in other B&B, but it's perfectly acceptable. The flavored cream cheese, good granola and the fresh fruit make it good enough for me.
Location is great: a few minutes from the Plaza and the main drag (and yet the place is very quiet), with all the stores and restaurants that Taos has to offer. The hotel offers free parking, another bonus. Most of the rooms have a whirlpool tub (old, but works just fine), a blessing after a heavy hike. Oh, and it's a 2 place tub! Add to this that the rates are incredibly reasonable for Taos.
The not-so-good: the air conditioning in our room made the noise of a propeller plane. Not exactly conducive to relaxation and sleep. Of course it's Taos, and you don't really need AC at night... except that in our room the bug screen was detached, so we didn't like the idea of keeping the window open at night. They should just fix the thing: it doesn't take much, I am sure. Overall, I had the impression that they don't keep up with maintenance as they should.
The could-be-ugly: some of the rooms are accessible through narrow staircases-a problem if you have a heavy suitcase or limited mobility. Not an issue for us, but if you are interested in this B&B (and I do recommend it) you should ask for a ground floor room.
Overall, La Dona Luz made our trip to Taos quite pleasant.

  • Liked — The location and the charming building
  • Disliked — The noisy AC and the fact that they have no wireless.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

The inn's web site gives an accurate view of each room and in our case, understated the amount of room we ended up having - which included a tv in the bedroom as well as the sitting room.

The room decoration made it feel like we were in New Mexico. A bonus was the GRANTA books and various travel magazines left in our room so I had a nice selection of reading material.

BUT, the stairway up to room was very narrow and the only thing worse than going up was....going down.

The inn keeper was also determined to show us everything avaialbe in the place which was nice,,,,,but she kept on answering the phone so what should have been a 5 minute tour turned into a 20 minute drag.

Breakfast was also a lovefest among the other guests, trading their present and past gourmet feasts- sorry, it just wasn't really interesting to me who abhors spending $50 for an elk steak, etc.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank wasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

We stayed 2 nights at La Dona Luz, in the Yellow Bird Deer room (actually more a suite, but they call it a room). It was very reasonable at 109.00 a night.

After paying more than twice that much in Santa Fe, Taos was a welcome change. We found the dining out to be just as good (if more limited) and less expensive as well. The hotel's breakfast was adequate, but it was more a deluxe continental than the typical B&B cooked breakfast we're used to.

The room, while large, had limited space for luggage. There's just SO MUCH in the room. We were also disappointed with the placement of the TV, in the corner up on the wall of the sleeping area, instead of in the sitting area which would have made more sense. We didn't feel the need to watch TV (open mike night at Doc Martin's was much more entertaining). The room also came equipped with a stereo system and DVD player which we didn't
use, either.

The location of the Inn is perfect for shopping, dining, or getting out of doors. Less than a block off the main drag, it was extremely quiet as well. We were very happy with it.

  • Liked — location in Taos
  • Disliked — TV placement in room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seattletravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2007

Not elegant but comfortable and clean. A bit noisy, we could hear every word spoken in the kitchen making it hard to sleep if they were in there. No phones or TV. No Internet. But, there are individual thermostats in the rooms. Or at least there was in our room. Continental breakfast served. Very nice people. Convenient to shops and galleries.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatherMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GypsyinGypsum
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Interesting place, great location to the plaza and surrounding restaurants. Breakfast nothing special, great fireplaces in the rooms, jacuzzi tub was a nice touch. Room was small, and mattress too firm for my taste.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi tub and fireplace
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joisagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2006

We stayed for only one night and wish it had been longer. The staff provided personable and helpful service. We felt like we were in our own home away from home. The historic location, the beautiful artwork and collectibles displayed throughout gave us a feel for the real Taos experience. Our room was the Madonna room. It had it's own private entry via spiral staircase. The breakfast room is next to a pretty little courtyard. All the comforts of home are provided. The rooms were clean and very cozy. The adobe fireplace was already set up for us to light a
welcoming fire. Breakfast is simple and healthy. The location is great. Walk one block and you are on the main square. Marvelous shops and dining options all nearby. We hope to return in spring!

  • Liked — The historic ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book in advance
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7012
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing