We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Fonda was perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La Fonda was perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We took a spontaneous trip to Taos and looked for hotels online the morning we departed. We wanted a place that was centrally located to shops and restaurants, as well as safe. Really was not sure what to expect with La Fonda -- sometimes when hotels are priced less than competitors, I worry. Well, we had nothing to worry about. La Fonda is clean, friendly, centrally located, safe, quiet and has character. It reminded me, in part, of La Fonda in Santa Fe, although it is not connected. I believe the hotel was recently renovated. We had two rooms -- both were very clean. They were small, but that was fine with us -- reminded us of Europe. There is free parking in the back of the hotel which was very convenient. We walked to several shops and restaurants, as well as took morning walks through the historical neighborhoods. Also, several museums are very close by. I also must stress that the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend, and yes -- we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Taos.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeggyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    91
    34
    10
    12
See reviews for
40
138
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed for just one night in one of rooms overlooking the plaza. This is a historic hotel, very well kept and we found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Yes, the rooms are a bit on the small side but that is to be expected when staying at a historic property.

I am not a superstitious person and upon reading the reviews of others here it may have just been a neighbor making noise, but really, my boyfriend and I got a really weird feeling in our room at night. Of course, neither of us said anything to each other until the next day (didn't want to creep each other out). But we both had a feeling there was something at the door, then we heard furniture moving around next door at 3AM in the morning....weird! It was only time either of us has ever been a little spooked. Maybe it was the altitude...who knows...but that was our experience.

I would still recomemnd the hotel to others, even with our little experience, we really did enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingAngeleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

The La Fonda is a warm and cozy historic hotel. The lobby is decorated with exquisite artwork and a lovely fireplace. The rooms are wonderfully decorated with fine linens and quality toiletries. Typical of historic boutique hotels, the rooms are a bit smaller but, with the fireplaces in the rooms and the classy decor, it makes for a wonderfully relaxing stay! The location on the plaza is convenient for skiing as well as sightseeing and shopping. The staff are very friendly and provide excellent service. The restaurant in the hotel, Sabor, has exquisite food with an extremely affordable menu. Starbucks coffee is served in the coffee shop within the restaurant and is available to the hotel guests free of charge. I recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Taos!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

The hotel was very accommodating and cozy! Perfect place to stay because it is right in the plaza! Would definetly stay in this hotel again and recommend it to all!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coop883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

It was a beautiful historic hotel with interesting history. It was located on the plaza of Taos which is centrally located. You can walk everywhere! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The free coffee was a great touch! The rooms were very clean and cozy. I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serape140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

The rooms were very elegantly decorated and clean... Loved the bathroom amenities! Very quaint, cozy historic hotel in a great location! Service was more than helpful and accommodating. Loved the atmosphere. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Taos!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachele5127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We paid in excess of $200/night for a king suite, which was cramped and dark and noisy. It was devoid of a coffee maker, which was an advertised amenity on line when we booked and we were told we would have to access coffee downstairs in a coffee shop near the foyer (in business hours!). We could not make long distance calls from our room...were told we had to go to reception and buy a phone card for $8 in order to do so. I have never slept in a less comfortable bed, we were told it was new but we sank into the middle of it. In all, a dreadful experience I would not want to repeat and I struggle to find anything positive about this hotel. I could NEVER recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seqldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing