We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looked in the photos posted online...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than it looked in the photos posted online...”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Before we departed Las Vegas, NV (our hometown), I hLaad done extensive research online, hoping to find the perfect hotel at the perfect price.

We decided to take a chance and not book our room in Taos until we got there. Good thing we waited!!!

I had viewed photos online of La Fonda, and the room photos didn't look that great, in my opinion. We were walking around the plaza after we arrived that day, and and came across La Fonda Hotel, smack dab in the middle of the plaza. We walked in and were able to negotiate a discount rate for the one night we'd be in Taos. We were also able to negotiate free parking, which normally costs $6.

The hotel exceeded our expectations ten-fold!!! I loved this hotel, the as did my boyfriend!! The fact that a quaint chocolate shop is located directly next door was the icing on the cake! We will always have fond memories of our stay at La Fonda, and will definitely be back soon!!

PS: I rarely review places and/or things, and the fact that I loved the place so much that I wanted to share it with others, and speaks volumes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nqbelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    94
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
41
141
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We visited Taos the week after Christmas, 2011 and stayed at the Hotel La Fonda de Taos, which is located on the town square and within walking convenience to several shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean, attractive and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Food in the hotel cafe was good. You couldn't ask for more. The one drawback is that breakfast is not served until 11:00 AM. However, you will prefer Michael's Kitchen for breakfast anyhow; Michael's has good food and great prices. For dinner, any nearby restaurants are acceptable. We ate at Doc Martin's and Grahams's, both good but not great.
Unless you ski or shop, your winter activities are probably limited to the Pueblo, the Bridge west of town and San Francisco de Asis Mission Church.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank haroldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

South West Mexican cuisine is a real find. Had dinner and all dishes were beautifully presented and with the right amount of heat. Absolutely authentic and reasonably priced. Atmosphere is rustic and very casual. Service is exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

A very quaint inn to spend a romantic holiday. Beautifully decorated and overlooking the plaza which was lighted with luminarias. We found staying here convenient as we like to arrive and park our car and walk for most of the holiday. The restaurant was ok, but there are others within walking distance and the greatest little pub ever which sits just a block back from the plaza. Next time we are going to try and stay at one of the adobe casitas nearby for more privacy, which we prefer. The greatest little shops too, Horsefeathers is a must see.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a quaint and charming hotel located on the Plaza. Our room overlooked the Plaza. It was very small but cozy and warm. We have seen other reviews reference the noise level of the Plaza. While we enjoyed a nice quiet stay, the hotel did provide a set or ear plugs in the room, which indicates there may be times of the year when it can be noisy. We stayed a few days before Thanksgiving so the noise level was not an issue for us. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I am not sure a room on the Plaza is the best option. I got the impression there were larger rooms off the plaza. The hotel parking lot is an extra $6, but it is in a dimly lit lot behind the hotel. We were able to get a space in front of the hotel for free (we left early the next morning before the parking meters were enforced). Overall, we were very impressed by the service of the staff and the quaintness of our room.

Room Tip: While Plaza facing rooms are quaint, rooms off the Plaza can be less noisy and it is my impression t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iweb4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I realize small restaurants must set aside restrooms for customers only. But hotels? No. The front desk "guard" was so hostile. I am in my 60's and dress well. I've stayed there. I've brought people to see the DH Lawrence paintings. So I didn't expect the rude treatment. You don't find that at Inn at Taos or la Fonda de Santa fe.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadykatherineSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafondataos, Owner at Hotel La Fonda de Taos, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
The Hotel La Fonda is located on the historic Taos Plaza, the busiest and most
heavily trafficked part of town. The hotel secures the restrooms and limits their use to restaurant
and hotel guests because of maintenance and security concerns. The front desk staff
politely directs people to the public restrooms provided by the Town of Taos across the
Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This is a lovely small hotel with great architecture. It has a family-run feel. Our kids enjoyed exploring all the staircases in the hotel. We had a suite with a bedroom and living room with pull out sofa for 2 adults and 2 kids. The room was quiet and comfortable. Food at the restaurant was good, and the coffee and hot chocolate at the coffee shop are complementary for guests!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ndsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing