We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed at this great historic hotel on Friday. It was absolutely perfect. Great view from Balcony. Quiet with a nice view of Plaza, tastefully decorated with gas fireplace, good air conditioning, a nice fan and good tv channels and tv set. Staff was very accomodating and showed me other nice rooms and views plus was helpful on parking behind the Hotel and getting to various sites around the plaza and in and around taos. Great views of sunrise. I can't say enough about it.

I enjoyed the Gorman gallery in the lobby and the sweet tooth of rocky mountain chocolate.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony rooms if available, but it is nice just going from center open air to your rooms, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtB492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    94
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
41
141
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed two nights in April in a King Suite. We travelled with my 80+ year young mother and she said the hide-a-bed would be no problem. Well . . .

When we opened the bed, it was unmade. I was pretty amazed when they knew there were three of us that they wouldn't have the bed prepared. Mother had a very bad night with a very bad bed. The second night she just slept on the couch without opening the bed and said it was better! (Mom is very short and small; just can't imagine a "regular" adult on the bed.)

We did enjoy the ambiance of the hotel. We were especially impressed with the free water; it's evident they want guests to stay healthy! And the excellent coffee was appreciated. Wifi didn't work except in the lobby--that was disappointing.

Room Tip: The King suite had a window that overlooked the alley. Difficult to figure out how the air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kikijolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stopped in to see if the hotel was built similar to its sibling in Santa Fe, but it is not. The Gorman collection in the lobby is amazing and FREE to see. It may be the best gallery in Santa Fe and Taos.
The coffee shop off the lobby only takes cash, but makes a great mocha.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daSVGrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mich
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent 4 nights at the La Fonda Taos in May 2012. We loved it's quirky charm: similar to a small European Boutique hotel, The staff was on point at all times, friendly and very accommodating. They were mortified on our first morning when jack hammers went to work on the plaza at 6:30 am. We asked to move from our front of the hotel balcony room to somewhere in the back. we were given a lovely two room suite. The jack hammers and workmen finished in one day so not a problem, really. The free Starbucks coffee and bottled waters are a really nice amenity.

Room Tip: Balcony room was noisy and it is a shared balcony with the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is the third time we've stayed at the La Fonda (nice historic Southwest ambiance). We stay there when our number of nights in Taos are fewer than necessary for renting a house or condo. We like the price, location, rooms (facing the back, not the plaza, just in case of noise). We've had queen rooms and they are small, but fine for a night or two. There is a nice sitting area in a 'loft' type space above the check in desk. Staff are pleasant. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and the breakfast burrito was great. The only problem was that wifi didn't work in our room (thick adobe walls) so you'd have to bring a computer that you could plug in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABQMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I own a restaurant in salida, Colorado and know a great place when I see it. High recommend this hotel. Great owner too

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel and has a nice Western ambiance. Steve the owner/manager went out of his way to help us out, picking us up at the airport after hours and dropping us off the next morning. Excellent restaurant, friendly staff. I would absolutely stay here again on my next trip to Taos.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing