We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy Taos at its finest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Touristy Taos at its finest.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant historic hotel with clean, comfortable rooms ( though the one we were in was fairly dark). Views to the building across the alley seems to be a common scene at historic I hotels in our experience. No in room coffee, which is a negative in my book. Had to go down stairs to the coffee place and wait in line for a complimentary cup.

Ate in the restaurant which was very good, although the staff seemed a bit organized.

As one would expect being in the plaza, the area is very touristy, fairly busy, and a little noisy. However, would certainly stay there again if in Taos.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    94
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
41
141
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

While charming and historic on the outside, the hotel and it's management are abominable! The rooms are tiny and cramped and the real treat comes at night when they turn off the air conditioning completely! We stayed in August and our room became insufferable in the middle of the night so needless to say we could not sleep. The thermostats on the wall are in-operable, a remnant of the past perhaps, but we did not know this. We took turns adjusting it all night but nothing changed. We tried opening the window for some air but the bright lights and kids with firecrackers made that impossible. In the morning we went to the front desk to report our complaint and the clerk flipped a switch and said very nonchalantly, " oh someone turned your air off". She said it happens and you should have called to tell us. But we were told last evening that the doors were locked at 10 pm and that the desk clerk left at 11 pm. We spoke with the manager, a nasty and insulting little man, who accused us of trying to get something off our room cost as other people do all the time. He treated us as though we were common criminals and it was not until he asked what I did for a living that he changed his tune a bit. When he learned that we owned and managed a townhome complex and that we knew the laws about providing air and heat, his entire demeanor changed. He offered us two small bottles of water and $40 off a $160 room rate. They gave us a receipt showing the change but never applied it to the credit card. Not good, honest management. Stay anywhere but here!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel! While this place is on the square, the sites and great restaurants are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafondataos, Owner at Hotel La Fonda de Taos, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
A credit of $45 plus taxes was applied to this guest's credit card the day of check out, a discount
of 25%. It is unfortunate that these guests did not understand the information carefully communicated at checkin. We explain that the hotel cooling is controlled at the front desk
and is turned down in the evenings because the outside temperature goes down into the 50s.
If at any time a guest would like the temperature adjusted they can request it from the front
desk which is staffed 24HOURS A DAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stay somewhere else. The rooms and hallways stink, our room was very small, it was very difficult getting our luggage from the car to our room and the price was excessive. Far better choices elsewhere. We booked on hotels.com and could not change our reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuroConjunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california, usa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Right on the Plaza de Taos. Parked the car and walked the town. Complimentary Starbucks at the attached coffee house. Nice touches in the room. Great lobby and mezzanine public areas. Traffic here is crazy. Stay here and avoid it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dthomp2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Hotel La Fonda is an historic, charming spot to stay while visiting Taos. Right on the Plaza, and in the center of town, one can easily walk and see a lot. With two pre-teen boys the King Suite was comfortable because we were out and about most of the day; otherwise it might have felt small for four. When we returned from our travels the hotel was inviting and cool, with beautiful paintings, woodwork, and copper/metalwork decor. Guests receive complementary Starbuck's coffee/tea/hot choc. next door. Our suite had a wet bar and fridge, WiFi, and a comfortable king bed. The sleeper sofa bed mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable, but was much improved when placed directly on the floor. (We did not complain - were having too much fun in Taos to worry about it.) Parking was an additional $6 a day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyager4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This historic hotel is right on the Plaza. So if you like to be right in the mix, this is the place to be. We were greeted warmly upon arriving. The lobby is filled with artwork, and there's a store right off the lobby filled with very lovely artistry, great gifts. The attached coffee shop offers free coffee and all-you-can-use water for guests of the hotel. Our room was small, but comfortable, overlooking the plaza. And while that was great initially, we found the noise level a bit too high for our liking. Each morning when we went downstairs, we were greeted by staff. (Lovely touch!) They insisted on changing our room, and we're glad they did. This room was a bit bigger and it was toward the back of the building; so we then enjoyed quiet for the remainder of our stay. The staff tried so hard to please on every level. The chef in the restaurant is very accommodating and willing to share his excellent treats. There's a sitting area not the second floor with a fireplace and computer for the use of the guests. It's a lovely place, right in the middle of the plaza action, conveniently located right off the main road so you can easily start your trip through the Enchanted Circle or drive a few miles to the Rio Gorge, one mile from the Taos Pueblo, or wherever your travels might lead you. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Second room was 202, right upstairs from the sitting room. Rooms on the plaza are noisy. You have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blscsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Had a great two nights. Close to everything. Lots of character and sense of history.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,166 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing