We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Allen, VA.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Beautiful, historic hotel! This was our first trip to Taos and we wanted a bed and breakfast but there was a minimum stay on all of them and we were only planning on spending one night. This hotel was recommended to us, and we were so happy with it! The room was a bit small but not unusual for older, historic hotels. The furnishings were unique, beautiful, comfortable, and clean. We were on the second floor and outside our room was a little living room so to speak with a fireplace for guests to congregate and play board games or get on the house computer or just read by the fire. Very nice touch! There was another sitting area on the main floor but this was more intimate. We had lunch in the restaurant which was excellent. The location couldn't have been better-the only hotel in the Plaza, which was great for walking to shops and restaurants and such. The front desk staff were very friendly and attentive. You got free coffee at the Starbucks that was located on the main floor, which was a nice plus. I would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling to the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    91
    34
    10
    12
See reviews for
40
138
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

La Fonda in Taos is located right on the plaza, so couldn't be more convenient. Parking in a lot behind the hotel. Very friendly, helpful people made the stay very pleasant. The room was average, but with some character.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lovely hotel on the central plaza. Rooms very comfortable and decorated in a south western style. Terrible "erotic" paintings in hotel managers office by DH Lawrence a must-see! Didn't eat at hotel. Went to one of the many bars in town and ate green chilli elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

An old building in the centre of Taos, it has it's quirks but frankly its position in town lets you forgive it most things - almost. The interior is quite complicated but that gives it its character maybe, our room was quite small by U.S. standards (but I've stayed in 'wardrobe size' in some European cities) and we overlooked the Plaza. There was some noise late evening but not too much. The Air Con issue mentioned by other reviewers (it gets turned off at night from Reception if you're not careful) seems to be a problem. The system is ducted air, each night it was turned off in our room but it was still running in the corridors and public areas (?). This can only be a cost saving thing, if I want the air turning off I'll close the vents in the room for myself. We raised this a couple of times but it seemed not to get through to the night staff. The Restaurant in the Hotel was uninviting, in fact it looked closed most times so we didn't even bother looking in but plenty of others are very near. The Coffee shop next to the Hotel is ok for just that, coffee and a pastry, but if the Hotel organised itself and served breakfast in the Restaurant it might get some good business as we found other cafes tended not to open until at least 9.30. As far as cleanliness goes, the bed linen was fine but the walls and skirting around them was in need of some re-decoration. As I said, we forgave many small things because of the position of the Hotel but had we stayed any longer than 4 nights, the small things may have become more troublesome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogsbody_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Location is good but it was a very bad experience. We had a king size bed and pull out in the tiny room they called a living room. I was traveling with a friend and when she pulled out the hide a bed there were yellow stains and hair on it. Disgusting... They did come up and change it. We had pre-paid for 2 nights at $200/night but requested a refund on the second night and they said well they didn't check that part of the couch/bed. They did not immediately refund the money on our card and said it would be sent to accounting and then we would get it (eventually). You can hear through the walls - I could hear people in the other room coughing, Over Priced and dirty.
Try the Dream Catcher - a very charming BB extremely clean with great hosts. .

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judymol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant historic hotel with clean, comfortable rooms ( though the one we were in was fairly dark). Views to the building across the alley seems to be a common scene at historic I hotels in our experience. No in room coffee, which is a negative in my book. Had to go down stairs to the coffee place and wait in line for a complimentary cup.

Ate in the restaurant which was very good, although the staff seemed a bit organized.

As one would expect being in the plaza, the area is very touristy, fairly busy, and a little noisy. However, would certainly stay there again if in Taos.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruidoso, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

While charming and historic on the outside, the hotel and it's management are abominable! The rooms are tiny and cramped and the real treat comes at night when they turn off the air conditioning completely! We stayed in August and our room became insufferable in the middle of the night so needless to say we could not sleep. The thermostats on the wall are in-operable, a remnant of the past perhaps, but we did not know this. We took turns adjusting it all night but nothing changed. We tried opening the window for some air but the bright lights and kids with firecrackers made that impossible. In the morning we went to the front desk to report our complaint and the clerk flipped a switch and said very nonchalantly, " oh someone turned your air off". She said it happens and you should have called to tell us. But we were told last evening that the doors were locked at 10 pm and that the desk clerk left at 11 pm. We spoke with the manager, a nasty and insulting little man, who accused us of trying to get something off our room cost as other people do all the time. He treated us as though we were common criminals and it was not until he asked what I did for a living that he changed his tune a bit. When he learned that we owned and managed a townhome complex and that we knew the laws about providing air and heat, his entire demeanor changed. He offered us two small bottles of water and $40 off a $160 room rate. They gave us a receipt showing the change but never applied it to the credit card. Not good, honest management. Stay anywhere but here!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel! While this place is on the square, the sites and great restaurants are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafondataos, Owner at Hotel La Fonda de Taos, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
A credit of $45 plus taxes was applied to this guest's credit card the day of check out, a discount
of 25%. It is unfortunate that these guests did not understand the information carefully communicated at checkin. We explain that the hotel cooling is controlled at the front desk
and is turned down in the evenings because the outside temperature goes down into the 50s.
If at any time a guest would like the temperature adjusted they can request it from the front
desk which is staffed 24HOURS A DAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing