We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful hotel great place to stay. Excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very beautiful hotel great place to stay. Excellent service and location”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Travelers,

We arrived in town meaning to pass through (came to see the Wool Festival) but were charmed by Taos. We were lucky to get a room at the La Fonda on short notice. We liked it so much that we stayed two days. The beauty of unplanned travel !
This is a small hotel right on the town sqare, a busy place in the day, quiet at night. There is an excellent coffee shop attached to the hotel. The restaraunt was closed when we were there but there are many places to eat a short walk away.
Service is a strong point with this hotel. The front desk was very helpful, and Frank was ofter there taking care of everything. He runs a tight ship. Our room was very nice, smallish like European rooms but fine. We had to change rooms for the second night. This was a larger room shown in the pictures. We enjoyed seeing the DH Lawrance paintings, although they may not be for everyone.
Everything was clean and worked well. Bathroons were spotless. Floors clean, no dust or dirt that we saw. Beds were confortable. I recommend the hotel as your first choice if you visit Taos.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    94
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
41
141
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Just returned from a three night stay during the Taos Wool Festival. The location is great, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The age of the hotel definitely contributes to its charm. I will definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 213Abcdefg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in Sept 2012. It was an absolutely perfect location for easily getting around Taos and walking to most everything we wanted to do. It's in the middle of "town square" which is really just a small park area, and our room (which was #303 - highly recommended) overlooked the square where there were glass blowers and different artist displays going on each day/night. We were within a few blocks of so many great restaurants and neat shops. We rented a car since we drove up from Albuquerque (where we flew in) and only used our car when we went out to hike in the desert or mountains. Everything else was close. The hotel was very clean and the room was cozy with a fireplace and awesome bedding! The bed was so comfortable and the room was plenty big for a couple. The only negative I have is that the staff sometimes didn't seem very knowledgeable about the area. We wanted to hike and they didn't seem to have very good info about where to go. We ended up getting great advice from the two outdoor stores nearby (Taos Outfitters next door to the hotel and one a couple blocks up called Mud & Flood) so it didn't affect our trip. Great time - loved Taos and will go back, definitely to this hotel!

Room Tip: There are tons of stairs so if you have trouble with them be sure to tell them. We had the very top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel is right on the plaza and the people were very helpful. The beds were so comfortable. Taos is an easy town to get around in. I couldn't think of a better place to stay. There is a small lobby on the second floor where we played cards. Also a comfortable sofa set and a gas fireplace.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a nice view of the plaza. If you need to avoid steps, there are just a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, VA.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Beautiful, historic hotel! This was our first trip to Taos and we wanted a bed and breakfast but there was a minimum stay on all of them and we were only planning on spending one night. This hotel was recommended to us, and we were so happy with it! The room was a bit small but not unusual for older, historic hotels. The furnishings were unique, beautiful, comfortable, and clean. We were on the second floor and outside our room was a little living room so to speak with a fireplace for guests to congregate and play board games or get on the house computer or just read by the fire. Very nice touch! There was another sitting area on the main floor but this was more intimate. We had lunch in the restaurant which was excellent. The location couldn't have been better-the only hotel in the Plaza, which was great for walking to shops and restaurants and such. The front desk staff were very friendly and attentive. You got free coffee at the Starbucks that was located on the main floor, which was a nice plus. I would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling to the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

La Fonda in Taos is located right on the plaza, so couldn't be more convenient. Parking in a lot behind the hotel. Very friendly, helpful people made the stay very pleasant. The room was average, but with some character.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lovely hotel on the central plaza. Rooms very comfortable and decorated in a south western style. Terrible "erotic" paintings in hotel managers office by DH Lawrence a must-see! Didn't eat at hotel. Went to one of the many bars in town and ate green chilli elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
611 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing