We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Historic Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel la Fonda de Taos last January and returned to stay there this January. The front desk kindly gave us free parking (normally $6/day) and off-season rates, though we came in on the last day of the holiday rates. We enjoy the inn's lovely historical features - it's the oldest inn in Taos - and its location on the plaza can't be beat. Those of you who want contemporary lodging with all the bells and whistles (i.e. exercise room, pool, etc.) should not come here....those of you who appreciate a renovated historical building will find that its a great place to stay. FYI: the rooms have ensuite bathrooms; there's no breakfast included, though there are cafes within walking distance; you're eligible for a free daily coffee/tea/hot cocoa at the tiny coffee shop in the lobby. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We like overlooking the plaza, but you pay a bit extra for those rooms. (Noise from the plaza has n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seattlesunnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed at La Fonda for three nights in January. The mattresses are covered in a very thick plastic material that sounds like a tarp being scrunched whenever you make the slightest move. Additionally there is a thin pad under the bottom sheet, between you and the plastic which bunches up and moves around throughout the night making it a very uncomfortable and noisy sleeping arrangement. We stayed in a room with a connecting door and could hear every word our neighbor was saying, even while in our bathroom with the door closed. The rooms, although updated are still lacking...curtains coming off the rod, a broken alarm clock, bed skirts 3 - 4 inches too long. I tend to make my bed and leave the room in good order; throwing away my trash and doing a general tidying up. I didn't have a chance on our 2nd day and I returned to the room to find coffee cups on the desk, an ice bucket full of water and what appeared to be a dirty floor.
On a positive note - The staff was very friendly as was the coffee barista, and the R.C. Gorman artwork in the lobby was a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BreashearsDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The staff was warm and welcoming. Great place for intimate dinner or a family! The food was spectacular, highly suggest pork carnita Indian tacos!!!! You will not be disappointed. The setting is very authentic and they are even open for breakfast on the weekends. Only disappointment was we tried to go back for breakfast on Monday and the restaraunt does not open until lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationeer1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This boutique hotel was lovely. A lot of history and character, and right on the square so the location is great. I drove from OKC and arrived around 6:30 p.m. The staff was so accommodating and friendly, from check-in to check-out. They suggested a wonderful place for dinner, which was a short walk across the square. I wish I had had more time there. If you want something different from the chain hotels, you need to consider this hotel. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The room I had faced the square. But, with the ceiling fan above the bed, I didn't hear any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This boutique style hotel in Taos was lovely. I had an Adobe style fireplace in my room. The room was relatively small but had great amenities including ear plugs for those snoring couples. The staff was so friendly from the person who greeted me 10:00 at night to the person who checked me out in the morning. This hotel is situated in the center part of Taos. Great location. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingfool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We were supposed to travel to New York City but, between Sandy and the nor'easter, we chose to stay closer to home. Consequently, Taos presented itself as a viable lastl minute getaway.
The location, on the plaza in Taos, can't be beat. The finishes in the room were a bit tired, though, and the price was a bit high for that reason. The restaurant in the hotel closed several years ago so there was no food service within the hotel itself. Nevertheless, it's a charming location in a sweet town. The perfect spot for an overnight getaway.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay extra for a king-size suite unless you need the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raphjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

A lovely old hotel on the Plaza. Cozy and clean 2 room suite with Kiva fire place was a great place to relax . The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Location could not be beat. Walking distance to several good restaurants. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: 2 rooms in front of hotel have a balconey over looking the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,213 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £109 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing