We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great little hotel located right on the plaza. Keep in mind this is a very old hotel so it has a few quirks. The bathrooms are very small and unloading your luggage and getting to your room can be a challenge. With that said it is a great little hotel with colonial feeling charm. It is right in the middle of town on the square and really makes you feel like you have stepped back in time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxMelindaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed one night here in a standard queen room (#220). Small but recently refurbished and quite comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff, they really make the stay stand out. Central location within walking distance to several restaurants, pubs/bars and shopping. Was a bit concerned about noise, as mentioned by several other reviewers, having a window that opened onto the central plaza. Early in the evening the motorcycles and hot rods do go by and are loud but did not hear a thing after bedtime. Was surprised to find at checkout that parking is $6, not a big deal but it would be nice to know up front. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PikesPeakWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We loved this historic gem of a hotel and the excellent dining at the Mosaic Restaurant. Our room was cozy and spotlessly clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Parking in back was ample and convenient. Once we checked in, we really didn't need the car. Restaurants and historic sites are right outside the door. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room on the plaza if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaAustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location is great but the rooms and bathrooms are tiny. The air conditioning is inadequate so thr room was warm and stuffy. It was clean and the front desk personnel were very good. Our room was on the second floor in front. Not only did we hear all of the street noise but the noise of others in the hotel. Lots of nice touches but poor air pandit ironing in the heat of the summer was awful

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nana51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafondataos, Owner at Hotel La Fonda de Taos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us. The La Fonda is the oldest operating
hotel in Taos and our accommodations are relatively small and intimate, somewhat like an
European experience. Your visit was on a day when Taos broke temperature records, so yes
our cooling system was definitely taxed. Rooms with a Plaza view where all the activity goes
on sell for a premium. We would hope that you would return at perhaps a more moderate part of
the season temperature wise and would be pleased to compensate you for your discomfort with
a nice room upgrade in a quieter part of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel La Fonda de Taos for one night - we enjoyed a lovely room in the hotel on the third floor ..with a adobe fireplace, a upper floor patio and a lovely interior space to just relax and unwind. The hotel is very historic, the art work is grand (throughout the entire hotel) and the service was very professional and accommodating to any questions and/or requests. Centrally located in the Taos Plaza - you can walk almost anywhere - check out all the sites, shops and history of this area.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms could hear the building contracting/expanding during the night... not all night, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Dined here tonite during their "soft opening" of their fine dining restaurant. Chef George Bartel, his staff, & his partner, Isabel, have created a wonderful menu. My husband started with the Caesar salad. It was a large portion with very good flavor. I had the duck confit appetizer. It was about 1/2 cup of the most tender, flavorful, moist dark meat, in a light wine sauce, with a puff pastry roll on top. It came with a small side salad. I would have been very happy just having that. For entrees, my husband had the ribeye steak with the best mashed potatoes we've ever had. They had a little sour cream in them, & small pieces of potato. Very creamy & delicious. I had the bouillabaisse. There was shrimp, mussels, at least 3 kinds of fish, & slivered veggies in a light broth that was absolutely delicious. It came with a thick slice of bread with a red pepper spread on top. Very tasty. We were both so sad that we didn't have room for dessert. The waitress said the molten chocolate cake was wonderful. The wine list didn't have many wines that we recognized, so the chef came out & helped us with choices. He let us taste what we thought we would like before we ordered a glass. The Restaurant has only been open less than 2 weeks & was fairly quiet when we got there. My feeling is that it will be a big success & a great addition to Taos dining. We will most certainly be returning.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank _JB2SanDiego_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Located on the Taos Plaza, the La Fonda de Taos is a grand old hotel that captures the pure essence of all that the Land of Enchantment has to offer. Sound cliche'? Perhaps, but that's the best way I can describe La Fonda de Taos in one sentence.

Upon entering the hotel you are greeted by classic New Mexico architecture with hand carved local Ponderosa pine and cottonwood lining the adobe walls and ceiling. Hanging on the walls are several original paintings by famed local artist RC Gorman.

Check-in took only a few minutes and we were on our way to our room. From the lobby we took a short flight of stairs to the second floor. At the top of the stairs was a cozy sitting area with over-stuffed sofas, a fireplace, Internet access and available board games. This area overlooks the lobby, offering yet another opportunity to enjoy the ambiance of the art and architecture.

We had a 1 bedroom with king bed (room 218) looking out to the Plaza. The hotel had been recently remodeled and the original charm remains. The room was decorated in local style with the flair of New Mexico. The bathroom was on the small side but that's what I would expect from the oldest hotel in Taos. It has been, however, beautifully modernized with new fixtures and amazing local tile.

We will absolutely stay at La Fonda de Taos again.

Room Tip: La Fonda de Taos is best for adults. Reserve a room overlooking the Plaza. There is no AC but crowd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £110 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing