We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was a great experience, reminded me of hotels in Europe. Friendly staff, wonderful location...did not get to try the restaurant, but will next time. I did have a late evening drink at the bar, and the bar staff were friendly and polite. The mattress was perfect!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cashelg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    94
    35
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
138
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
476 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I had travelled nearly 400 miles from Monticello, UT and were ready to stop for the night. We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were checked in quickly and efficiently. When the men on the counter heard that we were travelling by motorcycle, they were immediately concerned getting us parked on the plaza, which has limited parking. One went out and surveyed the plaza for open spots! We were in the unloading zone and we told to take our time-if anything opened up they would come and get us. Now that's service! We had a free cup of coffee as we relaxed and kept watch. A spot opened up and we were set for parking. We learned that our original room overlooking the plaza was not available due to a previous guest. We were upgraded to a fireplace room, which was totally engaging. The bed was great and plenty of hot water for a long relaxing shower. Fast wifi for checking the weather ahead of us. Everyone was concerned with our comfort and security. Everything about this hotel was fantastic and worth the money spent. The art on the walls was a joy to behold. This was the best experience on our trip. Would we do it again-you bet! Thank you, La Fonda!

Room Tip: Oh just pick one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Goldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife, granddaughter and I very much liked the Hotel La Fonda in Taos. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. Our rooms had plenty of space and were pleasantly furnished. Parking was free in a lot behind the hotel. The hotel is right on the plaza, which makes shopping, dining, and loafing convenient. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful hotel on the Plaza features comfortable rooms at a reasonable price considering the location. Park your car and take an easy stroll to the many attractions Taos has to offer. Guests get 15% off at the Matrix restaurant inside the hotel, which is well worth trying. Staff are friendly and accommodating, without being in your face. Ask at the desk to see the D.H. Lawrence paintings that scandalized England in the 1920s. Guest parking is in a lot behind the hotel for a charge, but the hotel waived the fee during our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Overhillwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Located right on the plaza, this historic, well run hotel provided us with a wonderful opportunity to experience "authentic" Taos. Friendly staff and ability to explore by walking made for a stress free visit. When possible, my husband and I look for unique hotels to experience the local flavor and found this one clean and more than adequately appointed at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our trip to Taos left us wanting to enjoy everything for much longer, yes, we were there for too short a time! We will fix that next year! The hotel was beautiful, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the free poured coffee at the coffee shop was awesome, and the room was outstanding. Small but very well appointed and comfortable. We will be staying here when we go back next year, guaranteed!

Room Tip: We had a corner room up front, we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_HWesterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The first floor of this hotel was built in 1820 and you can feel the history the moment you walk into the lobby. We feared that staying in the heart of Taos in the historical Plaza would carry a premium, and we held our breath when we asked about prices. We were relieved that they weren't out of our price range. The viewing of D H Lawrence's banned paintings was a highlight and the free parking and complimentary Starbucks coffee was welcome, not to mention the 15% discount in the restaurant (Mosaic Fine Dining - see separate review). We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ_Penzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing