We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, KS
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed one night here in the only hotel directly on the Plaza. La Fonda is probably the best hotel in Taos. Although old, the hotel was clean and the room comfortable. Our deluxe king room was OK, but small in size and the bed average. Location is close to most art studios and shops, and there is a choice of good eating establishments within walking distance. We ate at the old Taos Inn down the main street, on the patio in back and had a great meal and good service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    97
    37
    11
    14
See reviews for
42
145
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telluride
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I enjoyed my brief stay at Hotel La Fonda de Taos and I will be returning. It is a beautiful historic hotel with all the modern conveniences. The location is great for walks around the plaza area and adjoining neighborhoods. The stay was very nice and the coffee shop was a great place for morning coffee and a croissant.

Thanks.

Roberta P.

Room Tip: My room on the south side was quiet and had a lovely breeze through the window all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We only stayed one night at La Fonda de Taos but found it to be a very delightful and comfortable hotel. Everything was efficiently handled by the staff and the rooms were fine but obviously part of a well maintained but old, historic hotel. The rooms were perfectly acceptable even though ours were at the low end of the price scale and the lobby and the public rooms were very interesting and inviting; full of art work and colour. Being right on the plaza was a great position to explore the many shops at leisure and the Mosaic restaurant was a real treat. The food was exceptional and the staff very attentive and friendly. I would have loved to stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marylyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Overall hotel is a clean welcoming place. Nice lobby and very nice mezzanine lobby.
Our room had a working gas fireplace which was welcome as it was cold when we checked in. Also the Mosaic Restaurant located in the hotel was excellent, nice wine list

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hsbt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Some hotels just have the right kind of atmosphere. This is that kind of hotel. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. We actually enjoyed sitting in the lobby and talking. I normally hate hotel lobbies but this lobby felt like our living room. There is also a quieter public room upstairs overlooking the lobby. The room was nice too and the wifi worked well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband thoroughly enjoyed our stay during our grand loop (Santa Fe, Cortez, Durango and Taos). The hotel is quiet, friendly and charming. If you like art, don't miss the private collection of DH Lawrence paintings. Fascinating. Also highly recommend the adjacent restaurant for dinner. It was fabulous!!! If back to the area, we'll certainly stay here again. Unlike another reviewer, we thought the parking was easy and convenient. There are several reserved spots at the front door to be used for check-in and unloading. Longer term parking is conveniently located behind the hotel, a shorter walk than most hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah36942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I came to Taos for business seen la Fonda in Santa Fe, and always seemed upscale. Room a bit expensive but not terribly so. Difficult to find parking to unload luggage I love Lucy"7 sort of old and traditional. Lots of stairs, no coffee or microwave in room. No refrigerator in room old but well kept rooms with great television' no laundry service or air conditioning. Great location on the plaza . More for out of staters who want immersion in New Mexican culture . No pool friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miadora7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Property: Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing