We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming - Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This is a charming hotel right on the square. It was an easy trip to the Taos ski mountain each morning from the hotel (though we did not experience any bad weather). Other reveiwers indicated that they had some problem with noise, which frankly I was prepared for but really did not have any issue with. The couple of issues we did have were addressed immediately by the staff who were most accomadating. I would stay again and recommand to others. I think the physical describtion of the hotel in the various reviews on this site are generally accurate, though I would put a postive spin on all of those from the experience I had.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dlbDlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2008

Yes, the location on the plaza is great! Yes, the little sitting areas on odd half floors are cute! But, believe me, you really don't want to hear that much of what the people in the next room are doing! You know the sound proofing is bad when they supply ear plugs along with the little soaps in the bathroom. This was not the romantic get-away my husband and I had hoped for.

We had a front room facing the plaza. Though a little on the small side, the room was clean and comfortable, except for the sound issue. If you have difficulty with stairs, be advised there are a lot of half floors and even an odd step up into the bathroom in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MI-trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Nice stay at Hotel La Fonda de Taos. The location of this hotel is great, right on the plaza. Our room was nicely appointed, though rather small, but we were only staying one night, so wasn't a big deal. Didn't have much of a view though. Unless your room faces the plaza, it seems most of the rooms would lack a view. Hotel is quiant and full of old world charm. Public spaces are nicely decorated and cared for. Staff was friendly and accommodating, especially when we had to change our reservation from two nights to one, due to unforseen travel issues. Parking is conveniently located and the hotel restaurant was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forgetthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Beautiful ground floor, room 208 is right above the dining room-band stage.. Noise comes through the floor for several hours. The non-smoking area is groung level outside the window, the noise is rediculous. The matteress consists of apparently two box springs stacked together. The concrete floors have more give.

This particular room does not live up to the described atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rlrdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

While the hotel may be charming and centrally located, our vehicle along with about seven other vehicles parked in the hotel's private parking lot were vandalized. Each vehicle, including ours, had a tire slashed. The hotel owner promised to take responsibility but has yet to do so. To be fair, the owner has offered a free night's stay for the troubles we encountered. We don't think it is worth the risk. What comfort could we possibly have if we have to worry about our vehicle parked on their property? Is the hotel worth it? No. The rooms are too expensive and with the additional 'costs' incurred, it is best to find another centrally located hotel of which there are plenty.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Qualitycontrol2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Good hotel. We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the plaza. The rooms are small - but with good beds, bathroom with good products. No coffeemaker but free coffee from the coffee shop in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Stayed for 2 nights in Taos on recent road trip, we considered both the Hotel La Fonda and Taos Inn - we chose La Fonda as was slightly cheaper and situated on Taos Plaza.

The location was great, Tao is fairly small though, so everything was in easy walking distance.

As we didn't book in advance, we were unable to get a plaza view room, but the room we did get was lovely and quiet with a view to the rear. It was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for two of us and had a fireplace (kiva?) in the corner but the sun was shining so we didn't need to use this, but it did add to the character of the property.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NalaBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
663 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Address: 108 S Plaza, Taos, NM 87571-5957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £109 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing