We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egads. No service, high prices, pretentious staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Ranked #12 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Egads. No service, high prices, pretentious staff.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mabel's for a photo workshop. First encounter with no service was lack of help moving large luggage up the stairway- pick one of 2 dangerous staircases. Don't believe they heard of American with Disabilities Act. Stayed in Mabel's bedroom which we were told was the largest on site. For the price, shocking that there were smaller rooms. Kept having to get rid of the bugs which called the room home. No sure if the entered through he screens or the room hasn't been thoroughly cleaned for a time.

Self service food was tasteless and mediocre at best, ending each meal with plate scrapping in kitchen while a kitchen filled with staff sat and
watched the guests clean up. Turkey breakfast sausages were dry and bacon was overcooked consistently every morning.

Was charged $32 for a special group dinner BUFFET. Rip off. Ran out of side dishes before everyone was served and they refused to supply more. The salmon was so so. Couldn't see where the money went other than the owners pocket.

Would not recommend anyone stay here. Worth a visit to see the Dennis Hopper photos (previous owner) but please watch your head as the home is booby trapped with low clearances throughout.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    27
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
49
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our one splurge on accommodation on our 2 week roadtrip across the states.
The breakfast was amazing and the atmosphere was quirky, comfortable, clean, and inspiring. A very unique stay. We stayed in the top room and we had an amazing view of the New Mexico landscape.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redvelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This just happened yesterday. I have not stayed at the House yet . This review only concerns a negative experience with their customer service. I made a reservation online and received email confirmation. All good. Then I received a second confirmation with incorrect information. I pointed that out in an email but did not receive a reply for half a day. When I called, the person on the phone sounded impatient and accusatory. I had to say: "I did not make the error; you did." Then there was an apology and the problem was fixed.
Three things here. The reservation error was glaring and should never have happened. They should have responded to my email alerting them to the error. And, who needs to talk to a rude (even just slightly) customer service person, whoever that may be. I do appreciate that anybody could have a bad day. I'm writing this in the hope that the House would improve on this. I look forward to a wonderful stay there based on all the great reviews here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lok-Kwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

If you are looking for a 5-star hotel, this isn't it, but if you like quirky yet gracious older places to stay with an intriguing history, this is the place to go. I was here for a workshop and spent a week eating excellent breakfasts with fresh baked goods, fruits, main dishes with fresh vegetables, also bacon and cereal. I had the Austen room, named for activist Mary Austen. It is large and dark--good for hot days--with a huge bathroom filled with light, and a claw-foot tub. All the older rooms are intriguing. Some are considerably larger than others. The three upstairs rooms are charming but are reached by a narrow and low-ceilinged staircase--not great for older guests. The new building has a large class or lecture room with 8 or 10 modern rooms. Only the common rooms have air-conditioning, but they do have fans.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have air conditioning, but the rooms in the older building are adobe and stay cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Yes, it's true that the place doesn't have phones or tv in the rooms...but that's part of the experience. It's a historic adobe building steeped in tradition. I liked that it abutted the reservation land...which means that you have an unobstructed view for miles of sage and the hills beyond...feels like walking back in time. Since breakfast is "family style" you get to meet other guests at breakfast I found many very interesting, friendly, and hailing from all over the US. The breakfast was so large that there was no need for lunch. Since it's a historic building there is some quirkyness to the rooms...but I grew to love the place. If you're looking for a sense of place, and to be away from the crowds on main street in Taos this place is great.

Room Tip: Spend at least one night in the Solarium room...the room has windows all around, and no curtains so...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My wife and I spent a night in the Austin Room and it was overall a nice experience visiting Taos, but I found the Mabel Dodge Lujan House to be a bit of a disappointment. This is a historic old home that is steeped in history, and the setting is generally attractive and peaceful. The rooms certainly "creak" with authenticity...as in, you can't tip-toe on the floors without making a heck of a noise! I didn't really have issues with the place seeming old...I expected that. But I've stayed in many other historic, older places...and this one felt not only old and historic, but mildly neglected. The bed cover was old and threadbare. The door to the room doesn't stay closed without being locked. (But the screen door slams shut on you, so watch out). I liked that the bathroom had a free-standing tub (although newer)...but the water was either very hot or cold. Never could get a good temp.

The ambiance of the grounds is lovely. There hasn't really been much in the way of landscaping done...it's all just growing kinda wild, but that was fine. It's certainly peaceful there. The buildings are attractive, and I found the main rooms of the house to be very nice. But the staff there, I assume, are not professionals, but some sort of volunteers? (I don't know...but I hope at least that they weren't paid.) The various ladies we interacted with were terse and not terribly friendly. At one point as we were checking out, we asked if we could look at one of their other rooms to consider on a possible return visit. This idea was met with scoffing. "Look at the web site." Well, that is hardly the same...it was the web site that intrigued us enough to want to see the room in person, as it was a more expensive room and we were curious if the views were really worth it. But no customer service.

Breakfast was very tasty, but only served from 8-9. This isn't actually a criticism...with so few guests, it's totally understandable. But just be prepared.

I guess I had hoped for a bit more service and a more welcoming attitude. I was fine, even with the slightly beat-up room...but I wish there had been more smiles.

Room Tip: The Austin room is RIGHT NEXT TO THE OFFICE, so you can hear the ladies working and talking in there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMurray847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This place is fabulous. It is steeped in history, lovely setting, afternoon snacks, tea and coffee all day, wonderful staff and close to town. The breakfast, served form 7-9 is delicious, inventive, fresh and a chance to meet the other guests who have chose this place to stay. It is a delight.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marypagejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabel Dodge Luhan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabel Dodge Luhan House

Property: Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Address: 240 Morada Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mabel Dodge Luhan House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, rambling adobe hotel that was once the heart of the Taos literary scene, and whose former owner enticed D.H.Lawrence to move to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Mabel Dodge Luhan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Hotel Taos
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing