We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Mexican soul.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mabel Dodge Luhan House
Ranked #13 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This is a place built on history. I came hear on a personal retreat to find some center within a hectic lifestyle, I found an essence of Taos. Backed up directly to Indian land and with a back story out of movies it is a blessing to stay here. If you are looking to be pampered or coddled, this is not the place for you. Understand you find these things through self reflection and quite. The staff is very Taos, as well as everything you run into in city limits don't let that discourage you, much like France no one is in a hurry to serve or in turn get paid. This is all ok, because the beauty is no one really has anywhere to be.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a great hotel for a relaxing time away from downtown Taos, the epicenter of tourism in northern New Mexico. It has great lounging areas inside and out. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Realize what you are reserving: a spot in an historic building that was positioned to take advantage of the climate and the setting. So ... it is a bit hard to find (especially, as we did, in the dark). Getting to the entrance requires hiking up a set of wooden stairs (it is NOT a building that features handicap access). If you want a tv in your room or seamless wifi reception throughout the hotel this place is not for you. And if you want a 100-year-old building to act as if it is new (no creaking floor boards, brand new mattresses, hotel-style furniture) -- forget it. It's a real gem for those who are interested in really being in New Mexico.

Room Tip: In winter, select a room with a fireplace for atmosphere. In summer, cross ventilation would be a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We loved this place... cosy, rustic, a fieplace in the room and a nice walk into town. Beautiful breakfast room with delicious food. We were disappointed that the Taos Pueblo was closed, so were happy that the Mabel Dodge Luhan House turned out to be an experience in itself-- a unique place with an interesting history.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ansel Adams room. It could have used another arm chair for sitting by the fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Historic, rustic.....not even a clock in the room....no help walking a gravel path and 2 flights of stairs with luggage...best part..great breakfast ..
cclean but over priced unless you are really looking for that ZEN moment...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Tucked away down at the end of a dirt alley. Quiet location. On vacation, we stopped here to visit because Georgia O'Keeffe had spent some time here prior to moving to Abquiu. We enjoyed being allowed to simply poke around. Period furnishings. Stained glass. Arched doorways. Creaky wood floors. Primarily used for groups and conferences. Pleasant atmosphere. We were offered cookies, tea, and coffee before leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d102macc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mabel's for a photo workshop. First encounter with no service was lack of help moving large luggage up the stairway- pick one of 2 dangerous staircases. Don't believe they heard of American with Disabilities Act. Stayed in Mabel's bedroom which we were told was the largest on site. For the price, shocking that there were smaller rooms. Kept having to get rid of the bugs which called the room home. No sure if the entered through he screens or the room hasn't been thoroughly cleaned for a time.

Self service food was tasteless and mediocre at best, ending each meal with plate scrapping in kitchen while a kitchen filled with staff sat and
watched the guests clean up. Turkey breakfast sausages were dry and bacon was overcooked consistently every morning.

Was charged $32 for a special group dinner BUFFET. Rip off. Ran out of side dishes before everyone was served and they refused to supply more. The salmon was so so. Couldn't see where the money went other than the owners pocket.

Would not recommend anyone stay here. Worth a visit to see the Dennis Hopper photos (previous owner) but please watch your head as the home is booby trapped with low clearances throughout.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our one splurge on accommodation on our 2 week roadtrip across the states.
The breakfast was amazing and the atmosphere was quirky, comfortable, clean, and inspiring. A very unique stay. We stayed in the top room and we had an amazing view of the New Mexico landscape.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redvelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
0.9 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabel Dodge Luhan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabel Dodge Luhan House

Address: 240 Morada Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £189 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mabel Dodge Luhan House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, rambling adobe hotel that was once the heart of the Taos literary scene, and whose former owner enticed D.H.Lawrence to move to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mabel Dodge Luhan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Hotel Taos
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing