We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Charming with good price!”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

It is plainly obvious what their priorities were in building this property. Rooms were just 'okay", although they were clean and passed bedbug inspection which we do IMMEDIATELY on arrival before opening bags! Exterior of property and lobby area and hallway were aesthetically pleasing , adobe style. Free cooked to order hot breakfast every AM made this an outstanding value!!! Since you are served, know to tip which I guess makes it a little less "free." Staff were friendly. Property is on the outskirts of town, south of all the shopping, dining and pueblo activity which may be a positive or negative depending on your viewpoint. + if enjoy quiet since it is more "remote", - if don't want to drive to everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011lovinitsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    338
    174
    111
    64
See reviews for
287
392
46
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This is a very old but pretty place. Our room was clean and comfortable. The free cooked to order breakfast was very good and the service also good. The desk clerk when we checked in was not very friendly but checked us in quickly. Desk clerk in the morning friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This letter is to express our appreciation for the service and accommodations we received at Sagebrush Inn, March 4-19, 2011.

We have traveled extensively throughout the 50 states and abroad: we have never spent as long a time in one hotel as we did on this occasion, caused by the critical condition of my husband Bruce's sister who lives in Taos and is currently under Hospice care in the Medical Center at the Taos Retirement Home.

We stayed at the Sagebrush Inn last spring when we visited Phyllis, of course we chose to stay with you again.

Everything at the Sagebrush is excellent!! The staff at the front desk were warm and compassionate, as well as courteous, responsive and helpful. Vicki, Kristie and Johanna accommodated us with upgrades and helpful rates to assist us in our prolonged stay, even finding a way to extend our reservation into a period when the Sagebrush was expecting to be full during spring break and a convention.
The restaurants were outstanding, both the breakfast room with five varied and hot menu choies included at no cost and the Steakhouse; all waiters/tresses greeted and treated us on a personal basis and were prompt, courteous, and helpful; especially noteworthy were Pedro and Luisa in the morning and Lillia and Stefanie in the evening. As for our room 140, it is large and friendly. Our fireplace was supplied with firewood daily; in the bathroom the water was always available instantly (unlike our home) and the bathroom included a large mini refrigerater (unlike most, not stuffed with "mini bar" items), a coffee maker, and a microwave, with ample room for us to prepare snacks and lunch meals. Housekeeping personnel were excellent in accommodateing special requests, including not changing sheets and towels and cleaning on our schedule, which varied daily.

We were pleased to have internet access through free WIFI, not only for email, but also for keeping up with and paying bills online. Our only challenge was using our AT&T iphone4- but that is clearly not your concern; we appreciated free local calls on the house phone.

All this and a very comfortalbe bed, a lovely view to the west combined with peaceful quiet , even when the Inn was crowded with guests, made us truly feel at home during our prolonged stay.

For the traveler tired of the sterile and routinely functional standard motels, the Sagebrush Inn provides a wonderful relaxing vacation.

THANK YOU ALL
Sincerely,
Bruce & Nancy Carlson

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlsonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed here for four nights in May 2010. We asked for a one bedroom in the original old adobe section. We didn't want to stay in the newer section. This attached casita was the original adobe that was built when first constructed. Free breakfast, parking, and WIFI. Breakfast every day was delicious and cooked to order. Location is great but not near the plaza. We didn't want to stay downtown. I pulled up an old lawn chair and had coffee every morning just outside our door while looking and hearing the birds. We ate one supper at the restaurant - very good New Mexican and huge portions! Overall, charming, a bargain, and the service could not have been better. Since we were staying in the original building our floors were not level, but the vigas, Murphy bed, kiva fireplace, kitchenette, closet, and small bathroom were just fine for us. Highly Recommend for those who do not want a new adobe with accompanying amenities. We loved the old world style of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABPinDALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My family really enjoyed staying in Sagebrush Inn. Every night we cooked corns, potatos, and yams using the Kiva fireplace. Firewood is provided for free. This place allows pets with some additional fees. Free breakfast was really big. I have never finished my meal. Free Internet is really slow. You will never be able to watch streaming video using the free Internet. Anyhow, it's good that you can use the Internet for free. Indoor spa is not so cozy, but good enough to relax the tensions in the Taos Ski Valley. I like the building style. It is built in very traditional style.
The administration is not well aligned though. I wanted to purchase a ski package offered by the hotel. It is a package for two adults with two nights. I wanted to purchase two ski packages since my plan is staying for four nights. However, I got only one ski package for first two nights. In the end, the hotel gave me corresponding discounts for the other two nights. But, I had to spend many hours in the ski resort ticket office and the front office of the hotel.
All in all, thanks to Sagebrush Inn I was able to enjoy a short ski trip in Taos with very tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

For the price, we found this hotel to be a pleasant surprise. Our room in the newer section was huge and quiet. The fireplace was lovely on those cold evenings and the wifi and cable tv worked perfectly. I found the "junky" backyard view just fine--empty spaces and mountains in the distance is very Taos. The bar was very old and charming. As everyone was putting up the holiday decorations, it seemed very family like and warm. It only dawned on us after a couple of days that the whole place is crammed with original Taos art and carvings. Be sure to grab the walking tour description of everything from the information table in the breakfast dining room and look carefully at it all. Free breakfast was well prepared (no Hampton Inn crap). If you want chain uniformity, this isn't the place, but if you want authenticity, charm, and a real taste of Taos, for a great price, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deering_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Even though the rooms were old and shabby, the grounds were nice and so was the restaurant. Unfortunately, if you stay on the ground floor, you will not sleep. The ceiling are paperboard thin. We could hear every footstep and word that was said above us. Unfortunately, our neighbors came in late, after we had gone to bed, had a long cell phone conversation with much walking back and forth, unpacking. They were up early so woke us up. We felt like we'd been up all night. I talked to the front desk. They were very nice but couldn't help us out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mljack99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing