We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute funky hotel in a cute funky town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Prescott, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cute funky hotel in a cute funky town”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Sagebrush Inn is charming! The style and decor definitely is consistent with the Taos vibe. The tv is small and the bathroom is a bit dated but everything else was great. This is a pet-friendly property which only charges $7 per night which was the lowest I saw in Taos. The Sagebrush offers a complementary breakfast with each night's stay. We found a great "early bird" rate on their website. The location is a bit south of the main downtown area so a bit of driving was necessary which was fine because the town is small. Great place.

Room Tip: Staying near grassy courtyard is perfect for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank om_sweet_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    338
    174
    111
    64
See reviews for
287
392
46
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I recently spent a week in a watercolor workshop that was once again held at the historic Sagebrush Inn. I enjoyed three great meals prepared in their two restaurants. Although the buildings are old, they have updated several features, and I slept on an extremely comfortable bed. The wait staff, office staff, and domestic workers were friendly, helpful, and always willing to accommodate their guests requests. The swimming pool was being repainted, but we were able to use the pool at the adjacent Comfort Suites. If you want a good night's sleep, relaxing surroundings, and great food, I highly recommend the Sagebrush. It is a friendly oasis in currently dry, northern New Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattracks6204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Sagebrush is a funky older hotel. It is not inexpensive in my book, but is cheaper than the surrounding hotels and B&B's. The interior courtyard is a large and grassy and a nice place to read after a long day of driving. The rooms were clean and spacious and some have a fireplace. The bed was comfortable, but the bedspread was old and scratchy on one side-The Sagebrush could begin the updating process with replacing bedspreads with duvets as many mid priced hotels have done. As of June 2011, the pool was being painted and not usable.

Room Tip: Select a courtyard room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibrant7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Inexpensive, older hotel - Lots of character, clean, good value for an overnight stay. Excellent full breakfast with great service. Interesting decor. Rooms and bathroom are small in the older section we stayed in - but adequate.

Room Tip: Not the 4 Seasons - but neither is the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel's architecture looks like the typical buildings of New Mexico. The rooms have everything you would expect of a great hotel: internet, minibar, air conditioning and heating. It has even a fireplace! And if you lit the fire, they put new firewood on the next morning. The cousine is great, with an attentive staff and a chef who knows what he does and looks like he loves wath he does. All the staff was neighborly and, although I went to a conference, I had really great time there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

we stayed two nights in may after quite a long drive i was dissapointed with the front desk rec eption not really a greeting or welcome but efficient .our room faced onto the grass courtyard it was darkish but large and nicely furnished,the bathroom was small and a bit dated. maid service was good.the hotel is paired with the one next door and you can eat in either we ate in the sagebrush on both nights.the first night was fine but the second night the meal was not as good. the pool had yet to be filled as it was early in the season.The hotel is about 2miles from the centre on Taos has plenty of parking and is obviously very poular this was born out by a vist from the govener of
New Mexico being there on one night. Overall we liked it but i just wish they would brush up on their meeting and greeting in both the front desk and bar

Room Tip: when its hot try for courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hantshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed here two nights. Very old hotel with some charm but it needs a lot of paint and general remodeling. The area is very quiet. The restaurant was just okay...nothing special about it although the breakfast was included and adequate. It is a couple of miles from the center of town but there are restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
365 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing