We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozes with history and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Oozes with history and charm”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Sagebrush Inn exudes charm and history as the original part was built in 1929. Georgia O'Keefe spent 6 months at the Sagebrush Inn painting when she was in the Taos area. Our room had beautifully carved wooden furniture and a wooden panel that hid a pull down bed. The tasty breakfast is served in a light and festive room. We found the service to be quick and excellent. One is given several choices for breakfast which should please anyone's tastes. Checkout was quick and efficient. After reading some of the negative comments about the check-in, I would have thought management would have concentrated improving employees' skills on making a good first impression. My check-in was rather quirky and things seemed to be in disarray. But my special request was granted so that was positive. I definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeysweeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    326
    167
    103
    61
See reviews for
275
375
45
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Not the Hilton,but a decent spot. Floors were slanted,carpet worn. I wish that they would clean off decks and walkways. Restaurant,staff,bar,breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salemkc
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed in one of the Executive suites and found it very comfortable for our family of 4. Having 2 separate bathrooms was ideal! Our room was towards the back of the property and very quiet. Our children loved watching the prairie dogs. The complimentary breakfast was a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salemkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Sagebrush Inn is charming! The style and decor definitely is consistent with the Taos vibe. The tv is small and the bathroom is a bit dated but everything else was great. This is a pet-friendly property which only charges $7 per night which was the lowest I saw in Taos. The Sagebrush offers a complementary breakfast with each night's stay. We found a great "early bird" rate on their website. The location is a bit south of the main downtown area so a bit of driving was necessary which was fine because the town is small. Great place.

Room Tip: Staying near grassy courtyard is perfect for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank om_sweet_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I recently spent a week in a watercolor workshop that was once again held at the historic Sagebrush Inn. I enjoyed three great meals prepared in their two restaurants. Although the buildings are old, they have updated several features, and I slept on an extremely comfortable bed. The wait staff, office staff, and domestic workers were friendly, helpful, and always willing to accommodate their guests requests. The swimming pool was being repainted, but we were able to use the pool at the adjacent Comfort Suites. If you want a good night's sleep, relaxing surroundings, and great food, I highly recommend the Sagebrush. It is a friendly oasis in currently dry, northern New Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattracks6204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Sagebrush is a funky older hotel. It is not inexpensive in my book, but is cheaper than the surrounding hotels and B&B's. The interior courtyard is a large and grassy and a nice place to read after a long day of driving. The rooms were clean and spacious and some have a fireplace. The bed was comfortable, but the bedspread was old and scratchy on one side-The Sagebrush could begin the updating process with replacing bedspreads with duvets as many mid priced hotels have done. As of June 2011, the pool was being painted and not usable.

Room Tip: Select a courtyard room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibrant7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Inexpensive, older hotel - Lots of character, clean, good value for an overnight stay. Excellent full breakfast with great service. Interesting decor. Rooms and bathroom are small in the older section we stayed in - but adequate.

Room Tip: Not the 4 Seasons - but neither is the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing