We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have stayed at the Sagebrush Inn several times while passing through Taos. We find it has an old world charm, is clean, comfortable and very affordable. In the winter the staff at the desk gave us a room with a fireplace. What a nice touch. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. We enjoy the paintings and sculptures in the lounge. The breakfast which comes with the price of your room is a real breakfast. you have 4 choices to choose from and coffee is set on the table for you to pour at your leisure...We recommend it to anyone visiting Taos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace in the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGarciaJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Sagebrush Inn while on our trip in Taos. It is a very charming inn with history. I does have an old feeling to it, but we really enjoyed the fireplace in the room. It was cold when we were there, and being from Florida, the heaters worked great too. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hb10237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were in the newest building (maybe circa 1970) behind the Conference Center. Our suite had two spacious bathrooms with drawers in the vanities and two closets. The living room and bedroom were spacious. The queen-size Murphy bed was easy to pull down and push up. It limited access to the dresser some but left plenty of space for the table and chairs. As we were there for a week-long conference, it was nice to have the space, ample storage, microwave and refrigerator. There were hot-water issues in a section of the original building, but our experience was flawless.

The $5 breakfast was comparable to a $15 breakfast off most hotel menus - several choices. The breakfast is free for some room rates. The two waitresses were among the best I have ever encountered.

The Conference Center is less that a 100-yd walk from any room on the property. There is also a Custom Inn in the complex. The Conference Center is up-to-date, has some SW styling, and was a perfect fit for our event. The center staff was always helpful, but the office is closed Saturday and Sunday. You can probably arrange for it to be staffed.

Room Tip: Georgia O'Keefe used to stay here. Her special room is a third-floor walk-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It is my favorite place to stay in Taos. I stay every year for 10 days for a seminar, and it is always wonderful.. I love the breakfast too. The beds are comfortable, a and I love having a fireplace in my room for cool nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed at this wonderful place during the 20th anniversary of the Taos Institute. What I enjoyed most was the staff and their friendliness! The room where I stayed was OK and kept clean very well. And they served a great breakfast with a variety of choices and simply vy good and tasty!

Room Tip: Share your wishes with the staff, they'll come up with something good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoepC_de_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great for a weekend visit in Taos. The rooms are very big and you can request a room with a fireplace at extra cost. If you do get a fireplace ensure you ask them to bring you firewood, as it's not sitting anywhere on the grounds for you to just take.

The room contains a bed, couch, loveseat, coffee table and dresser with TV. It has everything you need to be comfortable, plus the bathroom is very big. No shortage of room for beauty supplies. There is also a coffee maker and refrigerator and microwave.

The staff are nice, but not overly nice. For example the front desk woman was a bit standoff-ish when checking in, which scared me a little. However, everyone else we encountered was fine. The dinner can be skipped as the salad bar is stagnant and not appetizing and the meal is not worth the money you’ll pay. There are other restaurants in the city that offer much better food for a much better value! Look online for other options for dinner. The breakfast however is worth it and all you need to do is leave a nice tip. And you'll want to after the nice meal in the cute dining room.

Sagebrush isn't a luxury hotel, but it's a great New Mexican experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

They have GREAT deals in conjunction with a couple of ski slopes in the area (Taos Ski Valley and Sipapu), so if you go during ski season and they still have these, it's a great bargain! We ended up getting an upgrade to the fireplace room because they had extra room I think. The room was very spacious and rustic, and we had firewood, tools and matches. You could also get fire starter from the front desk every night.

Just a few odd/negative things about the room: It smelled like crayons (different, not necessarily horrible), the shower handle adjusted between cold and scalding and -- as someone mentioned in another review -- there was an incredible amount of static electricity going on with the sheets! This completely freaked me out one night when I saw sparks flying when I touched the sheet after scooting across the floor in fuzzy socks. Then it became a fun light show for our kids. It was ultimately a neat science experiment, and no one spontaneously combusted, so it was all good.

Anyway, the main hotel area is historic and quite lovely in a rustic way. Fireplace, nice bar, and a nice dining room. We didn't do dinner there, but we did borrow the computer and, of course, partake in the included breakfast. The sit-down, hot breakfast was much better than the continental breakfast you find in more modern hotels. Also, the hotel staff were extremely nice and helpful. They recommended restaurants, gave us extra fire starter -- and the bartender gave us directions and suggestions for the drive back, including a suggestion to go to Echo Canyon, which were happy to find. Parts of the hotel grounds could use a little TLC/cleanup, but overall, this was a unique place with lots of character and some good amenities.

Room Tip: If you can get a fireplace room, I would highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,236 reviews
3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing