We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the historic charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful vegas and a real fireplace surrounded by big trees that look out on a sagebrush mesa. What more could one ask for...but there is more, we had a great room for our dogs, we could go out directly from our patio door to let them out. The room was large and clean. Breakfast is included and offers a full meal in their lovely breakfast room. All that and the rates were reasonable. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jakure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your review for the Sagebrush Inn. We are under new ownership as of late 2013. We are looking forward to keeping the Sagebrush personality and add some updates in 2014. I hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Taos area again and see what we've been up to.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just stayed at the Sagebrush. I booked a Fireplace room and randomly got upgraded to the Executive Suite. It was enormous, beautifully styled, extremely clean and comfortable. Our friends stayed in a Fireplace room which was just as wonderful, only a bit smaller. Both rooms had murphy beds in the living room area so there's plenty of sleeping arrangements to be had. The view we had from our suite was stunning. The jacuzzi was temporarily out of order in our building, but the room had large windows with a great view and even a skylight above. We stopped in the bar for some great local music & dancing, everyone was having a great time. The complimentary breakfast is delicious and filling. All in all, this is the best hotel experience I've had. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Paulieweb,
Thank you for taking time to share your Sagebrush experience with Trip Advisor. December of 2013 we have had an ownership change at the Sagebrush Inn. We are looking forward to some updates to the property while keeping the uniqueness of the Sagebrush Inn history. I hope you will have opportunity to visit the area again and stay with us at the Sagebrush Inn & Suites.

Sincerely
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

What a neat place! Yes, it is older but it has a warm rustic charm with great New Mexican character! The large room, fireplace and balcony were all very nice. I'm so glad we didn't stay at a chain hotel. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was great and the on site restaurant was pretty good. The off-season prices were a bargain!!! Overall, we were very happy and would stay again!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank sarahfreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Sarafreeland,
I'm so glad you decided to stepped out of the box and stayed at the Sagebrush Inn. I've just been at the property a short time with a new ownership change at the property and certainly can understand the feeling guests appreciate when coming to a hotel built in 1929. We are looking forward this year to some updates to the property while keeping it's uniqueness. I hope you will be able to visit Taos again and keep the Sagebrush Inn & Suites in mind when returning.

Sincerely
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The official description of this hotel makes it sounds so interesting when in fact the novelty wears off after the first night at most. It has that old country, rustic feel until you realize that it's just worn out furniture and old decor. I was there for a week for an academic conference, and really tried to get acclimated to the place. But it didn't work. The front desk service is wooden and perfunctory. Another conference attendee checked in, took one look at her room, then checked out and moved 100 ft. over to the adjacent Comfort Inn. And it's in the middle of nowhere so unless you have a car don't expect to eat out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielCho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear DanielCho10,
Thank you for your review of the Sagebrush Inn. There has been an ownership change in late December of 2013. The updates needed you describe are on there way in 2014. If you are in Taos for Conference again please consider us for your lodging needs. The Comfort Suites next door is now all part of the Sagebrush Inn & Suites and no longer affiliated with the Comfort Brand. We will keep our web site updated as changes are taking place. Sagebrushinn.com

Safe Travels in 2014
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've stayed here numerous times when traveling for bridge tournaments. The rooms are average but the breakfast is great! There is a certain quirky charm to the Inn. Convenient for my needs but not close to the plaza.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank denniq56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Denniq56,
Thank you for reviewing the Sagebrush Inn after your stay in September. The hotel is under new ownership as of late December of 2013. We will be updating the property and rooms while keeping the Historic charm of the Taos area. I hope you will stay with us again to see the great changes in 2014.

Sincerely,
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Reasonable price, very friendly staff. They gave me a free upgrade to a suite. Breakfast is included and is cooked for you (it's not just cereals on a counter). The hotel was built in 1929 and has that old adobe, New Mexico feel but bathrooms etc. are up to date. The bed was comfy, and I felt like I was at a much more expensive hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Liz B,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I wanted to make you aware the Sagebrush Inn & Suites is under new ownership as of late 2013. We are looking forward to updating the property while keeping the uniqueness that people have fallen in love with. I hope you will be able to visit Taos again and stop and see the changes later this year.

Sincerely,
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is an inexpensive hotel with lots of character just outside of Taos New Mexico. Rooms surround courtyards, nice sitting area/bar and pleasant breakfast (complimentary with room reservation) or a full breakfast menu available. Georgia O'Keefe among other painters stayed and painted from the vantage points of their rooms.

Helpful staff.

Hard to see if you drive in after dark - Sagebrush could use some outdoor lights. They are next to Comfort Suites on the main road which has lighted signage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank travel08California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Travel08California,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sagebrush Inn. There has been a change in ownership in late 2013. We are looking forward to making the Sagebrush Inn & Suites, an updated property while keeping the uniqueness that our guest love. If you will be back in the area please consider the Sagebrush Inn & Suites and watch for our updates on Facebook and our website Sagebrushinn.com.

Safe Travels in 2014
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Taos
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 14 in Taos
684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £71 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing